We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porta del Mar Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porta del Mar Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ammoudi
Certificate of Excellence
tel aviv
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had an amazing familey holiday there

The familey who runs the place are super nice. The place is beautiful, peacfull and very convenient

Great clean private beach with sunbeds

The food is great, mister goerge( the chef) makes very nice special fool and the prices are fare

Would really recommend the place and the outstanding island of zakynthos

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RanchoTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantinos R, Owner at Porta del Mar Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello Rancho and thank you for posting such a nice review!
We really try our best to make our guests' holiday an unforgettable one.
We are so lucky to have such crystal clean beach right in front our resort with golden sand and very safe for the children!
Kostas with George the chef are doing a great job with their specialties and freshly cooked food. Eating out on our beach front decks makes the food even more tasty!!!
Hope to welcome you again in this beautiful island of Zante, "the flower of the east" for the Venetians.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
99
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

In 2012 I had my wedding here. We hired the whole place which was perfect, it has everything. Friendly ,funny staff, lots of little areas, park, beach, BBQ, bar. It is perfect.
33 friends and family had the time of our lives and we talk about it all the time.
The location and grounds made out day more than we could have imagined.
Will definitely bo booking for an anniversary, we all are!!!!!
Jo and Gary Mitchell
With Evie, Mindie and new addition baby Ziggy x
By the way sleep quality in ratings is low as we didn't sleep much, party on


  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jogary2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantinos R, Owner at Porta del Mar Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi there and thanks for your comments!
It is so nice to hear that you ...extended already your lovely family.
We really had a great time with your group here and it seemed everyone enjoyed it a lot!
We hope you book your anniversary with us and enjoy the new improvements we have done by making the new beach front sun rise and sun set decks!!!
New to you will be also the improved kitchen service and hope you will love the experience of amazing Mediterranean tastes from our residence sheaf George.
Love to you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We went for our second time here this spring, we were so looking forward to come back here ever since then! We found it even more nice then the last time with all the upgrades the family had made since our last stay in 2011. Really enjoyed chef Georgios food, Kostas mojitos and the hospitality of Tasos and Pavlina - good times, good laughes!!


Perfect owners,perfect service,perfect food and perfect bartenter go for it!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgios_M78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantinos R, Owner at Porta del Mar Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
It is such a pleasure to welcome repeat guests here at Porta del Mar!
Thank you Georgios for your nice comments. We promise that we will try to maintain and improve our services, so that more and more guests return here year after year to experience something new!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I along with our 3 children have been to Zante several times and this area before. We spotted these lovely villas on our last trip here and thought they looked really nice. So we decided to give them a go ..... Wow ! We were so impressed ...... Firstly the Villas are fabulous in terms of accommodation,quality and well equipped. The position - so close to the beach ( on top of !)and a little way away from the main tourist area was in my opinion perfect - enabling you to relax but be in the centre of things in ten minutes if you wanted too .... We did'nt really as we felt this place had everything us and our three children (4/10 and12) needed. The field with football nets, table tennis and swings was an excellent source of many hours of fun ,plus a wonderful selection of board games to play in the evening. The use of the canoe's on the beach was a real bonus which we all had great fun on too. Apart from the stunning position and beautiful area the best impressions were created by the very ,very helpful and friendly staff (kostas Nicos Tasos and Pavlina)who made us feel relaxed and very welcome from the moment we arrived , also they were so good with the children. Then you have the wonderful and I mean wonderful food cooked by Mr George from the Pizza night to the lamb kleftico and the lovely fish dishes on the BBQ -truly wonderful - so good that we ate here every night as we knew that this food could not be bettered. Plus a lot of the vegetables / herbs are from Tasos's own garden -fresh ! The restaurant and bar's position and views are fabulous. All in all a perfect holiday and I would strongly recommend Porta del mar.Don't tell everyone though as we want to go back soon and don't want to find it's fully booked ! Ha ha !
Hope to see you all again soon and thanks again .... Toby , Nicola, Tia (aka serious) Kyra ( aka beautiful ) and Angus ( aka crazy boy ! )

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TobyB880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantinos R, Owner at Porta del Mar Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Toby and family and thank you so much for his comprehensive information about our place!
We miss you all but above all the .... crazy boy, who hopefully he will lead English National Football team to win the 2030 World Cup!!!
Finally, thank you for booking with us again for next July and promise my veg garden will be even more productive!
Till then, enjoy the rest of the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

But i dont want to go to heaven until i am ready to die (i have put the good behaviour in). Its very quiet, the rooms are clean. The food is ok but over priced

For me, a singleton in a big party, it was too far away from anything interesting, €15 to the nearest town, soon adds up

If you are looking to do nothing then this is for you

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GregGouves13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantinos R, Owner at Porta del Mar Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback a lot.
We would like to inform you and our future potential guests that in Porta del mar
1) we are a 6 min drive from the following activities:
Boat trips, water-sports, a water village park, horse riding, tennis court (clay), night clubs and pubs, fish-spa, scuba diving etc etc .
2) we are a 2 min walking from mini-markets and 4 taverns.
3) we are 10 foot-steps from the following activities: snorkeling, canoeing, swimming, cycling, yoga classes, private boat trips, fitness ecquipment etc. etc., most of them free of charge.
4) Our food prices cost 1 or 2 euros more than in the taverns because the food is better, the portions are larger and we guarantee that you will not end up in the hospital as you might do after your meal in the all inclusive hotels.
Many thanks and we hope to satisfy you more the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I neededa holiday by the sea without the crowds. In Porta del mar we got what I can only describe as idyllic. The beautiful natural stone villas are equiped with queen or king size beds, the verandas are entwined with jasmine and bougainvillea is the perfect placeto have a leisurely breakfast watching the brightly coloured butterflies flutter around the beds of flowers and herbs, and watch the swallows swooping over out heads to get to their nest in the eves. The sunsets are spectacular and the tables set around the cafe are the perfect place to have a drink and watch the sun go down. You can then ordera lovely Greek dinner from chef George, his food was so good we didnt even try anywhere else.
If you are looking for a relaxing holiday as a couple or with a young family this is the ideal location. Our huge thanks to Tasos and his brilliant team, Kostas, George, Nikos, and Antonia the

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ten2electrics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had a lovely time at Porta del Mar Beach Hotel, the rooms are cosy and very comfortable and its very child friendly with the private playground and easy access to the beach. We ate every night from the hotel cause the food was SO good especially the pizza evening!!! The owners are very friendly and warm and you immediately feel relaxed and ready for some of that Greek hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liv_M_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ammoudi
8.2 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 19 in Vasilikos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
8.2 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
8.2 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta del Mar Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta del Mar Beach Hotel

Property: Porta del Mar Beach Hotel
Address: | Psarou Beach, Ammoudi 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Ammoudi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ammoudi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porta del mar is a small family-run resort of 8 stone villas for summer holidays with direct access to a sandy beach. Amazing sea views obtained from the gardens and inside the villas! The villas are self-catering and accommodate from 2-6 persons (one or two bedroom villas). They all form a horse shoe design, facing towards the sea and are traditionally and nicely decorated. They have spacious living rooms, large bedrooms with queen-size beds or twin single beds, all with solid, wooden ceilings and air-condition. Fully equipped kitchens include cooker, big fridge/freezer, wooden table that seats 4-6 and a full range of utensils. Their verandas are spacious and offer panoramic sea views. The villas are situated directly on our sandy, quiet beach and are surrounded by well kept and relaxing gardens. The beach is safe for children and the waters are clear, crystal and rather shallow. Everything you need is within short walking distance from the villa (groceries, bakery, taverns). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Porta del Mar Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Del Mar Beach Hotel Ammoudi, Zakynthos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing