We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Calypso Villas Zakynthos
Reviewed 29 May 2013

It was our first time to Zakynthos so we did not know really what to expect. If we had expected something nice we would have greatly underestimated. Calypso Villas was in every way perfect accommodation. The setting is beautiful with olive, lemon and orange trees on one side and palm trees and the sea on the other. The family who own the property were both friendly and helpful and catered for our every need. The staff looking after the villas were great. They looked after us very well. We will always remember this holiday and are planning to return next year. Thankyou

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

Arrive in paradise and explore the northern part of the island which is amazing (at the same time drive to the town is no more than 15 minutes). The villas (Clio was our stay) are comfortable, fully equipped and beautiful decorated, with excellent view from a relaxing balcony. The owners are very helpful and everything is ideal to let you forget your worries.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank vaios_kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The view was perfect, the villa excellent, the hosts gracious, all went out of their way to assist. We had an amazing and memorable holiday. Thank you Nic, Catriana and Nondas.
The sort of place I hope to return to many times.
Lesley and Dennins from Sydney and Sara, Ramon and children from the UK.

Room Tip: Having small children was fine and not having a pool was not missed as we were only a few meters fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nonnalell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This place is really a hidden paradise. It is perfect for families since it is right on the beach. The villas have style and really everything you need. We visited 2 years ago and this year we came back. It is great. I think this is not going to be our last time at Calypso Villas!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Dimitris2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Once we arrived, you could tell this was a place managed by people concerned with quality. I actually have no complaints about the villas (really luxury apartments/flats) except maybe the shower could use a little shelf for soaps... but when that is my biggest complaint, you know the place is excellent. Attention to detail is Extraordinary, especially for Greece. Everything from decorations to the quality of the bed sheets is top notch. The villa was spotless also, Very clean. If I would go back to Zakynthos, I wouldn't think twice about staying here again.

Amoudi beach is a decent option, considering the close proximity. The water is clean & usually crystal clear as long as its not too windy. The beach though is just a tiny strip of sand, near the road. On that note, the villas, although situated in a great location with nice view, are not "in the middle of nowhere". They are close proximity to larger towns and roads, but that also offers convenience, especially if you plan on stocking and using the kitchen etc.

The only slight negative, is that a lot of beautiful sights the island has to offer are a decent drive away (other beaches, sights like the shipwreck and blue caves). All require mini trips, 20-40min. If you are up for that, then calypso is a great place to stay as it is also located in the middle of the island.

Side note, this is actually my first review on trip advisor, and Im usually cautious of other peoples opinions, as we all have different experiences and expectations. But If there is one message to repeat about these villas is the quality. The island and location is more up for debate. But as accomodation, this is among the best i've experienced in greece.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Pete930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and were thrilled with the accommodation.
We had one of the less expensive villas, but it was still amazing. We had a seaview from our verandah, and our bedroom opened up onto a seating area. The beach was right in front of us, as was a beautiful mediterranean garden. Our hosts were gracious and hospitable, and the cleaning lady was delightful and brilliant at her job!
Zakynthos is a stunning place, but avoid the drunken Brits at Laganas!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kateaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This is a family run establishment that sits on Amoudi Beach. The grounds are breathtaking -- covered in banana, fig, apple, olive, lemon and orange trees, and there are probably 150 grape vines and several fig bushes. The villa (Ariadne) had spectacular views off both balconies and was very tastefully and whimsically decorated; well furnished; well maintained. Every detail to make visitors feel comfortable and at home has been considered. It's within walking distance of a few local restaurants and mini markets. (Check out Amoudi Restaurant, also family run.) We cooked in one night and used the community gas grill (assisted by the owners' grandson). The sea is sparkling clean and warm. You can walk out 100 yards and the water is still only chest-high. I loved this place so much that I asked the grandson to contact me if they ever decide to sell!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank DLRooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ammoudi
0.2 mi away
Clear Horizon
Clear Horizon
#4 of 5 in Ammoudi
87 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tui Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
12.6 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 18 in Vasilikos
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paradisso Beach Villas
Paradisso Beach Villas
#3 of 5 in Ammoudi
98 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Lesante Luxury Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Villas Zakynthos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Villas Zakynthos

Address: Amoudi - Ano Gerakari, Ammoudi 290 90, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Ammoudi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Ammoudi
Price Range: £129 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calypso Villas Zakynthos 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calypso Villas offer luxury accommodation in Zante (Zakynthos) and the ideal landscape for enjoying memorable vacations. Indulge in the wonderful serenity of the settings, with outstanding views and unique proximity to the turquoise waters of the Ionian. A magnificent oasis for relaxation and rejuvenation unravelling in front of you! Calypso Villas in Zante are splendidly located on the sandy beach of Ammoudi, which is the Greek word for silky sand. The modernity of the villas overlooking the Ionian Sea is blended ideally with the traditional architecture and the fabulous landscapes, right on the refreshing beachfront of Ammoudi. This is an idyllic shelter in Zante for everyone and especially for families with children, due to the fact that the sea is initially shallow without rocks and other obstacles, gradually deepening. Enjoy crystal clear waters that invite you to dive and spend your day right on the waterfront with the waves gently fondling your feet. Our Zante villas provide exceptional accommodation that will satisfy even the most discerning guests. Our experienced staff will be at your disposal at all times, catering to every bespoke service you may need. The architecture and the decor allow you to relax and have a wonderful time at the most spectacular villas in Zante. Explore the beauty and the special character of Zante with your family and friends, having as a shelter our magnificent beach villas in Zante. Surrender to a rejuvenating experience in the most privileged location of Zakynthos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calypso Villas Zakynthos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Villas Zakynthos Ammoudi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing