We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise by the sea”

Ammoudi Fish Tavern
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Ammoudi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“paradise by the sea”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

perfect setting right next to the sea all blue and white very Greek service good food well served a perfect setting to sit and listen to the sea while eating lunch

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TufaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    45
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monster, Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice taverna!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Very good Greek food, appetizers/meat/fish. Friendly staff and very hospitable.
I tried various appetizers like potato skins with cheese: tasted very good.
All dishes are made fresh. Value for money
View is very good, the taverna faces the sea directly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karpennewaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“tourist trap ... beware !”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

beware, sea food sold by kilogram - watch what they do and what is the real weight - you are likely to be charged more than due
order what YOU want not what goldenmouth waiter suggests
eat elsewhere , you will pay one third

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mrtin_Oxf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgios G, Manager at Ammoudi Fish Tavern, responded to this review, 9 August 2016
hello Sir,i am the manager of ammoudi restaurant in Zakynthos and i think that you have made an honest mistake and you have made a bad review for my restaurant only because we have the same name with another restaurant at another greek island,Santorini.I saw all of your reviews and i have found out that you have made other reviews at santorini island but nothing at Zakynthos(zante)island,So probably you have never been to Zakynthos.Please if i am correct delete your 2014 review for my restaurant and find at trip advisor the correct profile of amoudi sunset restaurant at santorini and make the correct review there.thank you for your time
manager of ammoudi restaurant zakynthos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great seafood taverna by the sea”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Great place by the sea. Standing out against competition by the choice of exotic seafood dishes and excellent service.
Seafood dishes are very nice and quite exotic comparing to the rest of the seafood places in Santorini.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank al3xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A Very Special Evening”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I were in Santorini for just one day, as we were there by ship. One of the galleries suggested that we head there for dinner. We had so much fun. we started out with drinks on the upstairs terrace. Then we sat back and enjoyed a a whole bunch of appetizers. We had the famous tomato balls, much like a latka with tomatoes. The Taramasalata was very good. You must try the fava bean puree, a local dish. My husband thoroughly enjoyed the grilled calamari. Finally they brought us out the most amazing fish we had in our 2 week travel through Greece and Turkey. This was so fresh and tasty my mouth is still watering when I think about it. They brought us out the most incredible Locomathes with vanilla ice cream at the end - on the house! The staff was so welcoming and gracious. the sunset was out of this world. My only regret is that we had to leave the island because I would have gone back night after night!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank choco_nut_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ammoudi Fish Tavern also viewed

Ammoudi, Zakynthos
 
Alykanas, Zakynthos
 

Been to Ammoudi Fish Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing