We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Terra Minoika Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The villas are to be recommended if you are staying in Kato Zakros. Peaceful, clean and great hosts. Wonderful outside areas to sit and relax in either hammocks or loungers. The tavernas are within walking distance down the hill (although steep back up, so may be more of a challenge for those with mobility problems). Beautiful views across Kato Zakros bay. Great hiking in the area. The gardens provide a relaxing and beautiful environment in which to relax and unwind. Free parking. Servicing of villas provided and laundry facility available if needed. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All have views across Kato Zakros bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The fact that we have stayed here three times and have booked a fourth visit already should tell you everything you need to know. we are widely travelled across the world but as far as a sunny European holiday goes, this place unparalleled in terms of location, management, value for money, furnishings and uniqueness as well as peace and quiet. Stella and Ilias go out of their way to make this place as wonderful as it is. they can give you great hiking advice too and are lovely people. ilias's sculptures in the gardens are amazing and in addition to your balcony, there are l,aces whee you can loung in hammock or sit and take in the stunning views of the bay, Minoan palace and Gorge of the dead? Quite simply, our favourite place in Greece and one of our favourite places in the world.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We spent 5 nights in the Terra Minoika villas and loved every moment. The villas are comfortable, luxurious and offer some of the most breathtaking views in Crete. Our terrace overlooked the beach of Kato Zakros and the villa itelf is set in the stunning hillside, with beautiful grounds surrounded by flowers, herbs and chairs/hammocks to recline in at your leisure! Stella and Elias are the most charming and welcoming hosts, making sure everything you could need for your stay is catered for. On arrival, you are greeted with a welcome basket with fresh honey and homemade jam among other local delights. You are a 10 minute walk to the local beach front with a few delicious tavernas to choose from and there are lots of fantastic quiet beaches in the area to visit. The villas are the perfect stay for a peacful, tranquil and relaxing holiday and brilliant value for money - we thoroughly recommend it....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunSuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annone di Brianza, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We made all Crete travel, from west to east mainly south coast. and stopped in about ten places, but this wonderful accomodation for 80€ including breakfast for a family of four was 'the' great surprise.

It is of course the best in the area. Unfortunately we had to stay only one night for rooms unavalability and then we went to the rooms above Akrogiali taverna. From heaven to hell, see my review on Akrogiali taverna.

The apartment are extremely nice decorated and furnished. The view on the bay it is awesome. The building are constructed in stones with a lot of small features demonstrating the passion Stella and her husband put in this place.

Stella and husband, based on the photo I saw, should be mountain climbers in origin, but it is clear they love their Kato Zakros. They also sponsored the preparation of the several hiking trails of the area.

So not to many words. Do not miss absolutely this accommodation if you want to come in Kato Zakros.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our second visit here - Ilias has added some great new sculptures to the garden, and there is the bonus of daily cleaning from the wonderful Maria. The gardens have matured and look beautiful, everywhere is paved now. Yet again, we had a wonderful stay at the Terra Minoika, hosted by the brilliant Stella. It's so lovely to be met with a basket of bread, wine, olives, olive oil, marmalade, butter, honey and Greek coffee for your first breakfast. This is the best accommodation you will stay in on Crete. The last time we came the villa below had not been completed, however, when occupied we could not hear any noise, which is what you pay for in this premium accommodation. The views are tremendous and it is only a ten minute walk down to the tavernas. The gorge of the dead and the caves at Pelekita along the coast are manageable and lovely walks from the door. Totally idyllic - we have already booked our return trip! Thanks Stella, Ilias and Stratis.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was my second visit to the Terra Minoika villas in Kato Zakros - the last one in 2012. Stella and Ilias have worked hard over the Winter to improve the outside areas - with more shrubs and flowers, seating areas and a hammock. It all adds up to a very relaxing and beautiful environment, with uniterrupted views of the bay and not too far to walk to the local Tavernas beside the sea. Stella continues to be an excellent host, with hellpful knowledge and advice about the local hikes and beaches. Kato Zakros is about 3 - 4 hours drive from Heraklion, but worth it if you want to get away from it all. This a quiet and peaceful location, and definitely not for anyone who is looking for busy night life, music, entertainment and trips, swimming pools and organised beaches! Only come if you want to relax and enjoy the natural environment and to preserve this wonderful corner of Crete for those who will continue to respect it,. Well done Stella and Ilias on continuing to offer excelllent accommodation and great hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in Terra Minoika for a week in June and had a wonderful time.
The villas are a healthy walk away from the tavernas on the beach and the view from the terraces and garden is totally wonderful.

Stella and her husband Ilias were on hand continuously to make sure that our stay was problem free even though the villa was perfectly equiped with all mod cons stretching from the best shower we have ever had anywhere in 14 years of travel to Greece, a kitchen equipped with oven and to top it all a tv with satellite receiver. Not that you would need to use the latter, because the spectacle of watching the shepherd manage his sheep across the valley was far more interesting. Binoculars are recommended to see exactly what is going on.

From the villas the options for swimming are many. There are the beaches at Kato Zakros itself or further afield, a short drive away, is Xerokambos with multiple sandy beaches and coves.

For an away from it all holiday Terra Minoika ticks al the boxes for me. Totally recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchmaninUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Zakros
32.8 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
374 reviews
2.7 mi away
Stella's Traditional Apartments
0.3 mi away
Yiannis Retreat
Yiannis Retreat
#1 of 1 in Kato Zakros
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coral Rooms
Coral Rooms
#5 of 6 in Kato Zakros
25 reviews
274.6 mi away
Kato Zakros Palace Apartments
0.0 mi away
Katerina Apartments
Katerina Apartments
#4 of 6 in Kato Zakros
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terra Minoika Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Minoika Villas

Property: Terra Minoika Villas
Address: Kato Zakros, Kato Zakros, Crete 723 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Kato Zakros
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Kato Zakros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Terra Minoika Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Terra Minoika Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terra Minoika Villas Kato Zakros, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing