We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terra minoika: a marvelous destination” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stella's Traditional Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stella's Traditional Apartments
Heraklion, Greece
1 review
“Terra minoika: a marvelous destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

A fantastic place in a fantastic landscape. The owners developed superb apartments combining their own interests, the Cretan spirit and Kato Zakros natural features. In every corner you will discover a miracle. A place to start your discoveries of Zakros area and enjoy your vacations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fassoulas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
56
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We planned to stay in Kato Zakros for a few days but ended up staying for 11, partly because it was so hard to leave Stella's Apartments. Our apartment was beautiful inside and out with a big terrace and amazing views. The photos on the website give some idea, but can't show the peace and quiet of the gardens, apart from the cicadas making a racket all day!
There was lots of storage space and all the kitchen equipment you could need, but what made it really special was attention to detail in everything; the first time I've stayed in a place where they provide washing up liquid and a new sponge..
It's a 10 - 15 minute walk to the beach and tavernas, but a lovely walk past the Gorge and the Minoan Palace then through a taverna's vegetable gardens with free samples. Make sure you take a torch for the return journey.
A bit more expensive than our usual Greek Island accommodation, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wavysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We had a lovely couple of nights at Stella's. Very relaxing and comfortable, with stunning views. We were in the far east of the island to visit Vai and the local antiquities, and we weren't disappointed. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 24022014x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

this place is the best! the architecture, the view and most importantly, the owners, stella and george. they surely love their place so the minute you arrive you feel the warm atmosphere and the good energies.
highly recommended, will surely come back asap!

for back sufferers, that is the only place i have been so far where i could get a good night sleep.
the mattresses are good, not too soft not too hard.

no need of a swimming pool in a place like that! the mediterranean sea is the best!

Room Tip: we stayed in the lower apartment. there is no direct view but there are 2 bedrooms. so for a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

After a few trips to western Crete, we wanted to experience eastern Crete. We knew the ideal place for us would be more traditional but comfortable, in a quiet area, at the seaside, and near a number of hiking trails. Stella's Terra Minoika villas fit that bill exactly. The villas are constructed in a traditional design, and as others have pointed out, are furnished and finished with a great deal of care for the needs and wants of the guest. They are stunning inside and out. Full housekeeping service is provided twice per week with additional minor maintenance every day or so. All villas have sea views (of the Blue Flag pebble beach) from their own terrace and a panoramic view of the valley, including the Minoan palace and the Gorge of the Dead. The two superior villas have a few more features (including an additional porch) and more privacy but all villas provide a peaceful ambience. Stella and Ilias have created something really special here and we highly recommend this as a destination for those enjoying nature, archeology, peaceful beaches and the quiet spirit of Crete's smaller towns and villages.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schroeder_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed here in July. The Villas are perfect - beautifully equipped to a very high standard, furnishings are excellent. Views are beautiful. Peace and Quiet abound. This place is relaxation heaven. Stella is a wonderful host - she thinks of everything and her standards are exemplary. This is the best holiday accomodation I have stayed, anywhere in Europe and at the top end of accomodation in travels across the world. We are already booked in to return. We ate at Nostos restaurant on Stella's recommendation and also hired a car on her recommendation from Tula and Dimitris Kafetzakis from Heraklion. We were not disappointed with either. Well done Stella and look foward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mausie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed in one of the three 'traditional apartments' which should more properly be called studios. Inside, they comprise just a small bedroom with a basic kitchen area and a tiny bathroom. However they are fully equipped with kettle, toaster, coffee maker and air conditioning. Each apartment has a large terrace with chairs and tables and an outside food preparation area. They are all quite private from each other. It is the outside space that makes this place so very special. The whole area is shaded by tall trees, and strung between the trees are hammocks where you can sway gently in the breeze (there is almost always a breeze), reading your book and listening to the loud chorus of cicadas. Butterflies float around, visiting the beautiful flowers. Down below, across the olive groves, you can see the deep blue sea. There are wooden sun loungers too, and comfortable seats and tables and chairs. Because you are 8km from Ano Zakros where the nearest shop is, Stella provides a communal food cupboard and fridge where you can help yourself to basics like fruit juice, bread, butter, breakfast cereals, tea and coffee. You pay what you like into the 'honesty box' provided. Kato Zakros itself is a little paradise for those of us who simply want the beauty of nature, fantastic fresh Greek food and peace & quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2bristolians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Zakros
6.2 mi away
Hiona Holiday Hotel
Hiona Holiday Hotel
#1 of 9 in Palaikastron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Petras Beach
Hotel Petras Beach
#7 of 19 in Sitia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.7 mi away
Terra Minoika Villas
Terra Minoika Villas
#2 of 6 in Kato Zakros
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
272.0 mi away
Kato Zakros Palace Apartments
0.0 mi away
Katerina Apartments
Katerina Apartments
#4 of 6 in Kato Zakros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
2.6 mi away
Yiannis Retreat
Yiannis Retreat
#1 of 1 in Kato Zakros
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella's Traditional Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella's Traditional Apartments

Property: Stella's Traditional Apartments
Address: Kato Zakros, Crete 72 300, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Kato Zakros
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Kato Zakros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stella's Traditional Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Stella's Traditional Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella's Traditional Apartments Kato Zakros, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing