We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor air-con, a rude porter and not enough entertainment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Adelianos Kampos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Food was excellent. Service by all the staff in the restaurants, Cafeteria and reception was excellent: a great smile and a 'kalimera' at all times. A great shame that a porter sent by reception to help with a problem raised his voice to us.
Air-con was centrally controlled and set too high relative to the outside temperature. This meant leaving the balcony door open at night and we could hear the traffic along the main road.
We had entertainment on 3 out of the 7 nights only: this is very poor - considering the hotel is a five-star, is 7km from Rethymno and there are no decent bars/entertainment by the hotel.
The gardens are beautiful and well-designed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 25Petros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kon_Vogiatzis, Marketing Coordinator at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Aquila Rithymna Beach to spend your vacation. We appreciate your feedback and taking the time to describe your impressions.

Our entire team is constantly working on the highest quality of service. We have well noted your remark and we shall examine this case.

During your stay with us, at the start of the season, the weather is quite unpredictable and for this reason, some rooms are warmer than others. The air-conditioning system of our hotel is centrally controlled, manually operated and has two states of functioning, heating or cooling.

Concerning the entertainment, our hotel provides our guests with a carefully designed animation & entertainment program, including dance lessons and a great variety of sports, professional shows, such as belly dance and greek dance shows and live music entertainment in different outlets.

We are extremely committed to delivering the perfect vacation experience for each and every guest. We welcome your suggestions for improvement so we can continue to offer a well-balanced value for your money.

Thank you very much for providing us with your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again.


Best regards,

George Barelier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

918 - 924 of 2,320 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had 2 rooms and were half board.
We asked to change rooms as the sea view room we booked was a side view and near the noisy road but the room we changed to was brilliant (altho' north facing so we didn't sit on the balcony as too chilly) Our rooms were very clean and beds were extremely comfortable but the bathroom was dated and we used the plug in mosquito killer provided as we did have mosquitos at night in the room.
We were most impressed with the food - breakfast was great, a huge choice but the evening meal was amazing - a large buffet choice of lovely high quality food - we were very impressed. We bought the cheapest bottled water at 3 euros each night altho' we were sold a 6 euro bottle the first night so were careful after that. The price of the drinks was very high so we went to the supermarkets on the road outside (there are 4 or 5) as well as some restaurants.
We found the staff all very polite. The bus (hourly) into Rethymnon was easy and we walked around the fortress and shops on a dull day. There was an abundance of sunbeds on the beach and around the pools but the hotel was not full and it was quite cool. As Easter approached it got busier and the dining room became very crowded and we had to wait for a table. They then opened a second serving area for food which solved the problem. The advertised activities were not all running but maybe that was because it was low season - we did join in darts, table tennis and stretching. The beach is lovely and the watersports opened whilst we were there but we didn't have a chance to use it as there was a thunderstorm on our last day. The main pool was cold but once you got used to it, it was bearable for a while! There was some low key music and one Cretan dance evening which was quite fun to watch. There are about 5 lovely lounges to relax or play cards in - we enjoyed that but missed having a drink at the same time as it was too pricey. We would certainly visit again, altho' we got a last minute deal and would probably need to do that again!

Room Tip: There are so many different buildings there that it is hard to say. I believe that some have been r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here in early April 2014. Good hotel with immediate beach access (although the beach beyond the hotel was not well maintained or cleaned). We had a bungalow room (ask for a complete sea view... some have not) Also some on the ground floor bungalow rooms have their own private plunge pools (may be at an extra cost?) We did have a problem with no heat in the room at first, but staff were excellent in providing a portable heater until it was repaired. In fact all staff were very attentive and helpful both around the hotel and in the restaurant. We were half board and according to the brochure there should have been a choice of restaurants. The only choice in fact was an a la carte restaurant where you only had an allowance of €11 per person, hardly enough for a 3 course meal. Also because it was early season some of the hotel facilities were not yet open (not stated in the brochure), for example water sports and diving. The food in the main restaurant was excellent in quality and choice, although the usual problem of keeping food hot in a buffet arrangement was often a problem. Wine (even local) was expensive... difficult to get a bottle under €20. The pool areas were well laid out and always plenty of sun beds with a selection of pools. Notices warning guests not to reserve beds with towels was a welcome sight!! The indoor pool area was good, but the gym area was poor for a hotel of this class... poor and out dated equipment. There are nearby shops and cafés and an hourly bus service into town, otherwise a taxi costs €20. A very good holiday overall.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view bungalow room (with own plunge pool if you fancy it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shearer032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Spent 7 nights at this hotel April 2014 and can only say that we were more than happy staying there . Arriving at 11 pm we were surprised to find a buffet meal awaiting . The sea view room was perfect and all the staff were helpful and courteous . Above all the food was delicious .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed 7 nights AI sea view. No complaints as was exactly what we wanted. Shops and restaurants just outside hotel if not AI. Very relaxing time, excellent ambience, very good food and attentive staff who left you alone if that was your choice - obviously very well trained in how to deal with customers! The room was lovely but bathrooms would benefit from update to match the rest of the hotel. Celebrated my birthday whilst there and a delicious cake was found in the fridge complete with a candle - lovely touch. Would we return? YES, YES, YES.

Room Tip: Stayed in sea view room central to reception. Did not hear any complaints about rooms in other areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blajk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have just returned from this hotel having spent 11 nights on a half board package over Easter. As a relaxing holiday for 2 adults and children aged 12 and 15 it hit the spot. From the welcoming drink and efficient check in to the friendly restaurant staff it would be hard to fault their service. We had 2 twin sea view rooms in the main part of the hotel which was fine but on reflection a ground floor bungalow opposite the sea might have been worth paying a bit more for. However on an evening we enjoyed relaxing on the balcony overlooking the sea and far mountains The maid service was excellent with the rooms cleaned and towels changed daily. Everyone loved the buffet style meals with champagne and strawberries on offer for breakfast as well as varied evening choices and lots of Greek specialities. The pools were quite chilly but we did swim in them on the hotter days (26C) whereas the sea was very cold and became something of a family challenge to venture in to! However that is typical for this time of year as were the storms and rain we experienced last week! We found the lobby areas pleasant to relax and read in on those days and to keep the kids occupied there is table tennis, a good gym and several pool tables. It was lovely to stroll out on the immaculate blue flag beach and there were lots of loungers and umbrellas for shade. From May to October they have turtles arriving in the sea which would have been worth seeing. We really enjoyed our trips with Thomson to Chania (one of the most beautiful cities we've ever visited) and the West plus the Imbros gorge day out. It was very handy catching the bus to Rethymnon right outside the hotel and only costing 1.5euros each. On cloudy days it was an ideal place to meander, shop and explore. The tennis facility was excellent and we took our own rackets and played most days after 5pm when it was cooler with no problem getting our preferred courts. The hotel provided lots of information about local Easter celebrations and every guest received a large complimentary hamper of Easter goodies which was a lovely touch. Our only criticism was the price of drinks in the hotel and the limited evening entertainment which prevented us enjoying the lobby areas after dinner. We felt the price of wine was very high, the cheapest being a mediocre glass of white for 4.6 euros and a small bottle of local beer was 4.5 euros. On reflection an all inclusive package may have been better value but this didn't prevent us form having a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The newer ground floor suites facing the fresh water pool and beach looked best for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue18062014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We recently stayed in the Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel and were very pleased with our stay! I was worried after hearing other reviews yet I think the hotel is very under rated. We stayed in a sea-view room with breakfast. The breakfast had an excellent variety of food from bacon and eggs to dried fruit, yogurt and cereal etc. The service at breakfast was excellent, we were frequently asked if we wanted any drinks and our plates were constantly being collected when we had finished! The hotel was perfectly clean with the cleaner coming every day. It wasn't a luxury room but we had no complaints! The bath plug wouldn't fit properly so we asked for a new one and it was fixed right away! Every evening the sun set beautifully on the sea and we had the most perfect view!
The pool and restaurants were just like in the professional pictures! I was so impressed! It was everything we could have asked for in a holiday. The facilities were excellent, one morning we played tennis which was hassle free - paying 5 euros for rackets, we went jet skiing which I highly recommend and was an experience to remember!
The hotel is just a 10 minute drive (10 euros in a taxi) from the main town which is beautiful. We went shopping in the old part of the city with its labyrinth of winding streets and cute shops. Everyone was very friendly and spoke perfect English too!
We rented a convertible beetle for 3 days so we could travel around the island. I highly recommend this. We drove through some spectacular canyons as the island is covered in mountains, so there were amazing views when we were driving.
We visited the south side of the island - I highly recommend Elafonisi Beach, a stunning beach with pink sand and turquoise clear waters - great for snorkelling.
I'm a teenager on holiday with my parents, being an only child, I found this hotel hoping for a fun holiday. I didn't know what to expect but we all loved it. There was so much for us to do so I highly recommend this for every family if you're looking for a wonderful family getaway.

Room Tip: The cottages in the ground look amazing with private pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mollie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adelianos Kampos
0.3 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
3.3 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#8 of 175 in Rethymnon
1,202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rethymno Palace
Rethymno Palace
#2 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#11 of 175 in Rethymnon
956 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#16 of 175 in Rethymnon
725 reviews
47.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel

Address: Adelianos Kampos, Crete 74100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Adelianos Kampos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Adelianos Kampos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Adelianos Kampos
#2 Family Hotel in Adelianos Kampos
Price Range: £78 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 519
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Aquila Rithymna Beach fronts the azure 500 m long beach on the north coastal line of Crete. A favorite destination for repeater visitors and vacationers from all over the world, proves the delightful experience of hospitality, sunshine, modern amenities and faultless service. Most of the generous rooms, bungalows and villas housed at the hotel's colorful gardens or at the local style buildings. The resort is specifically aimed at families with children of all ages for magical holidays with plenty of in-house facilities and entertaining activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Rithymna Beach Rethymnon
Hotel Aquila Rithymna Beach
Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing