We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room & pool, a bit rough round the edges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Goldcity Tourism Complex
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kargicak
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great room & pool, a bit rough round the edges”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were a couple in our 30s who stayed on a B&B basis for a week in mid June. We arrived into Antalya airport at about 2am. Opted for a shuttle that promised no more than 4 drops as we'd read that the transfer was long. Well... we didn't end up getting to the hotel til gone 6am and the return took us 4 hours too.

We were checked in swiftly enough and we stayed on the 5th floor in the South wing. We had a generous sized room, huge bed, sofa, a lovely bathroom (including massive jacuzzi bath) and a balcony which looked over the huge pool and had expansive sea views. Needless to say that our expectations on that front were most definitely exceeded, and in some ways hopes raised!

We like to sleep with the door open and aren't fans of air-conditioning. If you're a light sleeper then try not to get a room any lower than the 5th floor with a pool view as this is the hub of the hotel and where people congregate right up until the small hours of the morning. Luckily that's not something that affected us and we were more than grateful for the views.

The breakfast buffet, on first look, is huge. If you enjoy cheese and salad for breakfast you'll be more than catered for. Cereals though tasted old as did the dried fruit. I love watermelon so was able to get my fill of that. My boyfriend was pleased with the fried eggs cooked to order and if you're feeling indulgent the Pisi (doughnuts) are cooked fresh in front of you and are amazing. We were up early most days so didn't experience the free-for-all experience at lunch & dinner. If you're English and used to queuing then be prepared that not all cultures are...

We had lunch in the buffet on one day and wouldn't repeat it and we couldn't find somewhere to have a simple salad or bar snack, sandwich or something simple like that for lunch and didn't want to pay the 35 Lira for lunch each day. There is a convenience store on site which is helpful as the nearest shops are a 10minute drive away, however not really suited for lunch produce. Most days we had an icecream and that was lunch.

We did dinner for 45 Lira each on our last day before heading to the airport and it was much the same as lunch so not 100% sure of the reason for the 10 Lira increase.. Both my boyfriend and I agreed that we were glad we'd done bed and breakfast as 7 days of the breakfast/lunch/dinner buffet would have got tedious.

This hotel is massive, and looked to be extremely popular with Eastern European and Nordic families with children under 5. Which meant there was no moment by the pool where there wasn't a little person crying. As mentioned we were a couple and were looking for a chilled out relaxed break and purposely traveled outside of school holiday time to try and avoid this. If you're a family - it looked like a brilliant place to go. It is worth noting that there is a fair amount of jostling for sun loungers too. They were practically reserved (standard towel on sun lounger technique) by 8.30 in the morning, It would have been great if there had been an adult only pool (there is a quieter/shadier pool on the other side of the hotel - and this would have been perfect).

Whilst impressive on the approach, when you look a bit closer at the hotel, you see that the cracks are now starting to appear. Our experience with the lifts was extremely frustrating. There are so many people staying in the hotel and only a handful of lifts to service the entire building. There was a power outage one morning and I ended up getting stuck in one. The spa had tiles missing and was starting to smell a bit dank.

We had 2 reasons to call for a technician. Once when our key card wouldn't open our room, this took about an hour and a half to fix and needed us to go back and forth to reception 3 times to prompt (with the annoying lifts thrown in for good measure). The other because our lights in our room wouldn't work. This time the technician arrived in about 10 minutes.

We had a night flight and were allowed to checkout but still use all of the facilities until our transfer came to pick us up which was great. We needed to shower and change using the spa facilities.

The beach is about 10 minutes shuttle away and this is provided free. I'm not a beachy person, but my boyfriend is. I was actually pleasantly surprised. We didn't need to pay for sun-loungers and they were decent. The beach isn't the prettiest and is part sand/part pebbles, so can be a bit tender on ya feet. There is a pier which has a ladder which you can use to lower yourself into the sea and by-pass the pebbles which was great and if you're brave, you can jump off it - which we were and did!

We stayed B&B because we like to get out and about of an evening. Alanya is a good 35minute bus ride away which the hotel provided but you needed to pay 3.50 Lira each way for. The last bus was at 11.30pm and we'd read that taxis back to the hotel cost quite a bit, so didn't opt to stay around in Alanya for any later than that. 11.30pm did feel quite early, given that places only started to liven up around 11pm. Alanya is very neon..

We love Turkey but both agreed that we'd not return to Alanya or Goldcity any time soon. Instead preferring to look at heading back to Olu Deniz which is much more to our liking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirtle_the_turtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    258
    155
    73
    54
See reviews for
516
250
27
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Both myself and my husband stayed at Gold City for 10 days. The hotel was exactly how we had read on the reviews. The location is a couple of hours from the main Antalya airport therefore make sure you book your transfers before hand as you can be charged as much as £90 one way.
The hotel provided a free shuttle to the beach and for 3.5 lira's (£1) to the city. use the shuttle services as a taxi back or to the centre could cost as much as 70 lira's.
We booked a couple of excursions a boat/cave sightseeing and a day to Istanbul with a fantastic gentleman called Ahmet. Who was very helpful. Beware of Anex Tours who are based at the hotel. They were ever so rude and arrogant. The only disadvantage for us or should I say my husband was the food. There was not a lot that catered for Asian holiday makers (Bangladeshi, Pakistani, etc). The food was mostly bland. Make sure you go all inclusive, this is definitely worth every penny.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Faz367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were in a party of three families numbering 6 adults and 8 children we
visited in late May 2014. This hotel looks quite impressive as you climb the hill from Alanya. The rooms are large clean and well equipped. The views are impressive. The beach was ok a short bus ride away, the sun beds were dirty but the bar and snack bar were adequate.
The pools were clean, and the water park was great for kids and adults. There are however a few drawbacks.
1 The accommodation is rather isolated and was a sweaty 40 Minute bus ride from Alanya or a 75 lira (£25) each way taxi ride.
2 Some of the bars/restaurants are not included on the all inclusive deal.
3 The food whilst plentiful is uninspiring and not 5*.
4 There are numerous cats in the complex which run freely in food/drink areas.
5 the last straw was no ice cream for the kids that’s never right All inclusive??
After 4 days of complaining by many parents limited ice cream arrived but was only available at 4 in the afternoon.
So for the money it was disappointing.
Final tip pay for the taxi our transfers was 3 1/2 hours without a stop. The driver was clueless!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, took the family and enjoyed the hotel and the stay.

Done some excursion with a company called M.T.S Incoming Turkey from the Hotel Lobby we had a boat trip, cave, and castle well worth the money. If you book then book it with AHMET

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Moksud M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for one week, all inclusive in this hotel with my fiancé.
The hotel itself is very nice, modern, we had a room with amazing sea view and balcony. There was a surprise we also had a multifunction bath tub with jacuzzi effect.
The location was ok, 30 minutes by minibus to Alanya (1 Euro/one way) and 15 minutes to the privet beach (free). Both organised by the hotel.
We had mixed experience with the food. There were plenty to choose from and the salad bar was really good, however sometimes the different hot meals were dry. Also I must say how disappointed we were they did not serve fresh fish, only frozen, also what they have in the bar the fish and chips, it was a cheap frozen "fish fingers type" something, which was disgusting! We expected more from a 5 star! Also the World cuisine restaurant did not make up our views on food. Maybe in the other restaurants can cook, but not in this one.
The stuff was we thought rather unprofessional. The cleaning ladies, the waiters and unfortunately the receptionists as well. One night there were some people outside by the pool, drinking and making noise, we heard but then we could normally fall a sleep. Then in the middle of the night our phone rang from the reception and the guy asked if we can sleep because they received complaints from guests that some group making noise outside and some people could not sleep. Well who does this kind of thing? Waking up people to ask if they can sleep and if they not ask if they want to complain?? No comment.
All in all, we agreed we would not come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here 2 weeks ago, it was lovely and quiet as we had 5 kids with us and very few other kids there.
Villas were great with washing machines, and cooking facilities great for making babies bottles. However the maids never cleaned the floors and my babies feet and hands were black most days from crawling around. Tip....take coffee, milk and tea sachets for room.
Hotel was one of the best we have stayed at. Staff were great very attentive. Food was nice and different.
Pools were great, slides were great and entertainment was fun too.
Kids enjoyed the kids club.
I would recommend staying here alto I would recommend private transfers as it is 3 hrs from the airport. We had a great time thank you

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy1982_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldcityManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Goldcity Tourism Complex, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you very much for the review. We are glad your stay with us caused only positive emotions. We will be happy to see you among our guests in the future and make you feel like home.

Best regards,
Goldcity Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

.. this place is very well geared up. Pools and a water park on the site and a very efficient bus service to their private beach where you continue to be well looked after. The variety and quality of the food is very good and all-inclusive means just that if you're happy with the local drinks, which we were, and readily available .. plus there are excellent a la carte restaurants if you don't mind paying. The site has a lot to offer, some of which we never found, though we were too relaxed to bother looking in truth. The service is generally very good, excellent in parts, and the sunsets over Alanya castle [to where there is also a hotel bus service] are something else.
It is a multi-cultural, family experience well worthy of recommendation.
Not of the hotel's making is the one down-side, if you're flying to Anatalya Airport the transfers are shambolic and far too long, a duration not helped by the drivers' [in our experience] lack of knowledge and motivation, but sort that one out with your travel agent before booking and enjoy all this resort has to offer.

Room Tip: South side balconies give you sun in the afternoon and sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nofinfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldcityManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Goldcity Tourism Complex, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for the review. We are glad your stay with us caused only positive emotions. We will be happy to see you among our guests in the future and make you feel like home.

Best regards,
Goldcity Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kargicak
21.9 mi away
SENTIDO Gold Island
SENTIDO Gold Island
#41 of 372 in Alanya
715 reviews
21.5 mi away
White City Resort Hotel
White City Resort Hotel
#4 of 372 in Alanya
479 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dinler Hotels - Alanya
Dinler Hotels - Alanya
#1 of 13 in Kargicak
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Diamond Hill Resort & Spa
Diamond Hill Resort & Spa
#20 of 372 in Alanya
748 reviews
21.5 mi away
Sirius Deluxe Hotel
Sirius Deluxe Hotel
#1 of 27 in Avsallar
406 reviews
6.3 mi away
Asia Beach Resort & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldcity Tourism Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldcity Tourism Complex

Property: Goldcity Tourism Complex
Address: Kargicak Kasabasi, Kargicak, Alanya 07400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Alanya > Kargicak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kargicak
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kargicak
#3 Spa Hotel in Kargicak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Goldcity Tourism Complex 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world of its own that sits on an area of 211.677 M². On the top of the hill sits the impressive luxury hotel which comprises Deluxe Rooms and Luxury Hotel Apartments / Suites. Within the hotel grounds there are clusters of beautiful villas and apartments. Goldcity is equally appealing for holidays and for residential use and we have a variety of freehold property types available for sale, including Detached Villas with private pool, Apart Villas & Penthouses or Luxury Hotel Apartments in the main building. Goldcity is a perfect place to holiday or to invest in your own holiday home. Real estate sales are being continued.Our luxury family suites provide unique opportunity to experience hotel and apartment living at the same time. GOLDCITY offers 5 star luxury family suites, with a choice of one, two and three bedrooms and penthouses.They are superior first class fully furnished suites which consist of generously oversized and luxury living accommodation with sea and/or mountain view. These suites equipped with upscale comforts and modern amenities and all have household appliances and cooking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Goldcity Tourism Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldcity Tourism Complex Hotel Kargicak
Goldcity Tourism Complex Alanya
Goldcity Tourism Complex Hotel Alanya
Goldcity Tourism Complex Turkey/Antalya Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing