We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average rooms however great location with views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorage Port Stephens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anchorage Port Stephens
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average rooms however great location with views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Wow we were left breathless driving into the hotel complex with stunning views of the lake and the marina. Check in was to standard, rooms were comfortable and accommodating. Room cleanliness was poor to average as my better half noticed a few things in the bathroom. We dinned at merrets their in house option and opted for the 3 course meal special which included a bottle of house white or red. We left happily however the main course was quite small (wagyu rump) dessert was very humble. In summary me and my mrs will be returning sometime and would recommend this place for weekend getaways for couples, families or mature travellers.

Room Tip: Good choice for away from Nelson's bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tyronephornthip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to us.

The views are stunning and the location on the waterfront is pretty special.

I have passed on your comments regarding the rooms to our housekeeping team to ensure that we work on our consistency.

I have also passed a copy of your feedback to the chef regarding the size of the meals. The usual feedback we have is that 3 courses is very sufficient, however, we also understand that not everyone is the same.

Thanks again for you feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    287
    112
    42
    27
See reviews for
151
518
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I stayed there for two nights earlier this week. Everyone from the reservations lady over the phone (Delise), to the ladies on reception (Michelle and Jo), to the bar lady (Laura) seemed happy, were friendly and more than happy to the go the extra mile for us as guests. Our room was very comfortable, spacious and peaceful with a wonderful view on to the water and marina. They even have a pillow menu if you are not happy with the pillows on your bed. The whole place had an elegant, yet unpretentious aura about it - they got it just right! We will definitely be back. (Please shhhhhh - keep the secret to yourselves...)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanDTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Hi, Its fantastic to read such wonderful feedback and praise for the team here at Anchorage Port Stephens.

I have passed on your comments to all the team involved and thanked them for providing a level of service which we like to pride ourselves on here.

I would be great to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mona Vale
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband and I spent an enjoyable 2 days at The Anchorage and would highly recommend others to sign up for a similar experience. There are a range of rooms options and from a recommendation chose Rm 114. Perfect single storey room with great location. Very reasonable bed & breakfast package make a stay a real option for many. Location on waters edge superb and easy access to Nelson Bay made The Anchorage a memorable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
HI Jacquie,

Thank you so much for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

The rates we are offering at the moment are at unprecedented levels, so this is a great time to come and experience Anchorage Port Stephens.

We do hope we can welcome you back soon!!

Thanks and Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Enjoyed the lovely aspect beside the lake, comfortable room close to pool, spa, bar, restaurant. Beautiful walks along marina and beach. Fantastic Bar and casual eating area with food available all day overlooking the water. You need to book early for the restaurant if staying Sat night as we could not get in until 8pm but filled in time having a lovely indoor spa then champagne and nibblies on our balcony overlooking the pool and watching the beautiful sunset over the water. Would recommend this hotel for families, semi-retirees like us and just about anybody that appreciates a relaxing spot by the water.

Room Tip: Room upstairs near the restaurant was very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickanpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Hi, its great to hear you had a fantastic weekend with us recently.

It definitely is a wonderful place to spend the weekend getting away from it all - especially considering the weather we have been having lately....and just a short drive from Newcastle!!

We have found as the busy season starts to kick in, Merretts restaurant is becoming very busy. We do suggest guests make a reservation as the feedback we have been having about the food and service has been amazing.

Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Anchorage Port Stephens soon.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The anchorage is set in a beautiful part of port stephens, the views are breathtaking.
However, we found that the staff (especially the receptionist upon arrival and the server in restaurant) were quite unfriendly and curt.

We arrived at the anchorage at 1:45pm only to be told that our rooms (we had booked three rooms as we were travelling with family) was not ready until after 2pm, so I asked the receptionist if I came back in 15 minutes, the rooms will be ready, to which she said i'm not sure it could be up to an hour. We came back on two occasions after two pm, to be told the rooms were not ready, which we were fine with as it gave us time to explore the surroundings. The receptionist said they will give us a call when the rooms were ready. It wasn't until 3:30pm when we asked again if the rooms were ready that they gave us our room keys. I was surprised that they didn't give us a courtesy call on my mobile which they said they would once the rooms were ready.

The waitress during breakfast was quite rude and took our plates without asking us if we were done with the food. We had dinner one night at Merretts Restaurant and the food was quite nice, although pricey.

The rooms are quite tired and in need of a renovation, the bathrooms especially.

We did enjoy sitting outside on the patio overlooking the marina and having coffee in the morning.

The anchorage has the potential to be a luxury boutique hotel, however we found that the staff left a sour note to our holiday.

Room Tip: The anchorage rooms had great views of the marina. Couldn't fault the views from patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sun-Kissed26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your comments after your recent stay with us and I am sorry our team delivered a level of service which is not the norm here at Anchorage Port Stephens.

I have discussed the details with the Front Office Manager and the Restaurant Manager.

We had an extremely busy departure on the day you arrived with a number of guests leaving later than expected. It is unusual not to have the rooms ready before 2pm and the team will be working hard to ensure this does not happen again.

Thank you again for your feedback

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle NSW
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We spent two nights in a loft apartment this week. The accommodation was at a reduced rate but, if I had paid full rates, I would have been very disappointed. I understand major upgrades are being undertaken so possibly many of the shortfalls can be mended.

The concept of the hotel is good but something is lacking. It is not a luxury resort in its present condition. It is is "out of the way" but this can be an advantage or a disadvantage - it is definitely quiet.

Overall, it reminds me of Katoomba - lovely scenery, but like something from another era.

Room Tip: Be mindful that there are no lifts when booking. The loft rooms are good, but you can end up carry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarryonMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thanks for coming and staying with us recently.

You are right we are completing a full refurbishment of the rooms - this is also why we have some very discounted rates at the moment.

We are out of the way, we have found that our guests really enjoy that about the property as they have a chance to escape from the rigors of their hectic life, if only for just a couple of days.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We booked three rooms a couple of months ago for the weekend. Identical room types and rates. On check in, we were given a room that had no outlook other than a view of a half constructed car park with floodlights at night and very little if no natural light. Our friends were given waterfront rooms with full or partial sea views, each in a different block for the same rate.

We checked in late after a long drive and so enquired the next morning whether we could be moved to another room or pay for an upgrade. We were told that there was only one other room available and it was directly below us. We were also informed that "someone has to stay in those rooms". Whilst we appreciate that rooms must be filled we do not agree that a clearly inferior room should be charged at the same rate, nor that when booking multiple rooms that it should not be disclosed at the time of booking to enable guests to upgrade whilst there is availability. We are very disappointed we have not been offered an alternative room prior to guests arriving during the day. Unfortunately this hotel came highly recommended by a friend who is travelling with us and it is a great disappointment to us as well as our friend that the hotel has not been accommodating nor forthcoming in its disclosure of room types at the time of booking in view of the construction works. The hotel needs to decide whether booking to capacity by not disclosing room types outweighs guest experience and potential return visits and recommendations. Any people booking here should request waterfront rooms or risk a disappointing experience in below average accommodation at high prices. One of our guests works in the travel industry and won't be recommending this hotel again based on this experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shez44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your comments after your stay with us.

I have discussed your concerns with our Front Office Manager and we will change around our processes to improve our communication to guests - you are right, proactive communication is always more favourable.

I am sorry you did not received a better experience and we hope that we can welcome you back in the future as we are confident we can deliver a great experience for you next time you visit.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corlette
2.3 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
2.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Port Stephens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Port Stephens

Property: Anchorage Port Stephens
Address: Corlette Point Road, Corlette, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Corlette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Port Stephens 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation by the Sea. All 80 rooms and suites have an individual balcony or porch, most with unobstructed views over Port Stephens. At Anchorage Port Stephens we are large enough to provide you with superb guest facilities but small enough to ensure your stay is intimate and relaxed. Only two and a half hours drive from Sydney,Anchorage Port Stephens is the perfect seaside weekend escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Anchorage Port Stephens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens Hotel Corlette
Peppers Anchorage Hotel Port Stephens
Peppers Anchorage Resort Port Stephens
Anchorage Port Stephens Corlette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing