We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anchorage Port Stephens
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I recently had an overnight stay here. The rooms are good size but pretty much standard fair. The attraction is the location. You can sit on your balcony and you are 10 feet from the marina. It's a stunning view on a nice sunny day. I ate a buffet lunch and dinner as part of a major group and the food was fine without being spectacular. As previously mentioned the hotel is undergoing some renovations but this didn't impact my stay. I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hunstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us.

I have passed on your positives comments to the team who were really please to read them.

We have almost completed the refurbishment works for this year and will start again with the rooms in March next year. As you experienced, we do have the fortune of having 4 guest houses, so we are able to refurbish one accommodation house at a time and not impact our guests greatly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Anchorage Port Stephens soon.

Kind regards
Kent Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
There are newer reviews for Anchorage Port Stephens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

596 - 602 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

this property was booked through uk based trail finders, thought to be a peppers owned hotel but we found out that ownership had changed recently. I urge you to look at the reviews on trip advisor i found my first email requesting details on the extensive renovations being done at this property to be rude and unhelpful. A subsequent email was better but simply confirmed the extensive works due as they say to star early next year with no idea of when they will be finished.

Room Tip: please read the trip advisor reviews when so many people find fault then theres a problem. We cancel...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Mr Jaye,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our correspondence with you regarding your enquiry.

The Wests Group brought the hotel at the beginning of the year and have immediately started spending money to improve the facilities. The guests who have stayed with us have already seen a great improvement in the product and the staff are really excited about seeing the property come back to its former glory.

The refurbishment works will continue next year as we progress through every one of our 80 rooms improving the amenity.

Fortunately though, with 4 guest houses we will do one house at a time and therefore create very little impact on our guests who will be staying with us through this time.

I hope your stay in Australia is a memorable one for you and if you find yourself in Port Stephens, it would be great to welcome you.

Kind regards
Kent Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Amazing location as previous reviewers have pointed out. Beach was close which was good as we did not have to walk far and could also enjoy the pool without driving. Room was large and in good condition. Yes they are renovating however it did not get in the way of us enjoying our stay. Surprisingly guests were all friendly, yes I said guests. Staff were friendly particularly Sharon.

Only negative is that we did not get a run down on where the restaurant was or guest lounge or spa or sauna. I just think the extra 30 seconds at check in would save time finding out later, especially is breakfast is at a reduced rate with the room.

Would and have recommended to friends and family.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem to have more room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydfam65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us.

The location is great, having the beach right next door gives you the best of both worlds.

We are renovating at the moment and you are right, having the 4 guest houses means that we can renovate one and not interrupt our guests as we improve the property.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Kent Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is a wonderful location with great outlook over the marina and Port Stephens. We were just staying over as we travelled north and this proved to be a great place to stay in a fantastic location. The wonderful traditional architectural style and classical woodwork is most refreshing as we see so much grey laminex these days. Staff were friendly and helpfull. Our room had a shower in the bath, which was looking a bit tired and we thought could be replaced with a small corner spa. We would definately stay again. our great dissapointment was "hire a DVD, $16.95!!!" and the mini bar prices, simply over the top!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Hi, Thank you for your review.

We are completing work on our rooms and we are looking to take the baths out of our Anchorage Rooms and to modernise the bathrooms slightly.

We will review the pricing of our movies and minibar - we appreciate the feedback.

I hope you had a safe trip up the coast, we look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind regards
Kent Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We spent an overnight stay at the Anchorage, after receiving a special offer for a loft suite with separate lounge and upstairs bedroom/bathroom. As mentioned in other reviews, the rooms are a bit tired but we were told that the resort is undergoing a refurbishment since being taken over by new owners. The location is so picturesque with our room overlooking the marina and water. There is a bar and restaurant on site with large common areas and plenty of seating to take in the views. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was excellent with good choice. The resort is an easy 50 minute walk to Nelson Bay, mainly on walking/bike tracks along waterfront and bush which I would recommend you do as the walk in itself is beautiful. After dinner, we caught a taxi back to the resort. I would definitely stay there again and look forward to seeing it refurbished.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimontroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us.

The walk into Nelson Bay along the water is a fantastic way to see the Port and even better if you are able to enjoy a relaxing dinner at the end of it.

The views we have here are second to none! I am currently looking over the water where there is not a ripple to be seen.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards
Kent Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed midweek and it was a lovely experience. The room was enormous with a beautiful view over Port Stephens from a small patio. The bathroom needs a bit of updating. There were lots of tradesman around so this is possibly happening. Lovely bar upstairs for a couple of pre-dinner drinks and then downstairs for dinner at Merrett's Restaurant which was excellent. The staff were very attentive and we opted for the fixed price menu which included a bottle of wine. The buffet breakfast had everything you could possibly want. We look forward to a return stay for a wedding next May.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WandaSandhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Hi, we look forward to welcoming you back in May next year for the wedding!

We do have some tradesmen here during the week at the moment. They are working on the buildings completing painting and fixing other elements of the property, making it right for Summer.

Having 4 guest houses, we are able to work on one building at a time and not interfere greatly into the guest experience.

Thanks for your review and again we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Kent Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Loved position and building style. Excellent breakfast buffet then back to the oustanding views from our generous sized room. Bathrooms are a little tired but didn't detract too much from the overall experience.
Highly recommend this facility.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank revhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Hi, Thank you for righting a review on your recent stay.

The breakfast is one of our highlights here at Anchorage Port Stephens. Its fantastic to wake up and ease into a wonderful fresh breakfast overlooking the water!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Kent Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corlette
2.4 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
558 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
150 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#5 of 16 in Nelson Bay
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
270 reviews
2.5 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Port Stephens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Port Stephens

Address: Corlette Point Road, Corlette, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Corlette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Price Range: £99 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Port Stephens 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation by the Sea. All 80 rooms and suites have an individual balcony or porch, most with unobstructed views over Port Stephens. At Anchorage Port Stephens we are large enough to provide you with superb guest facilities but small enough to ensure your stay is intimate and relaxed. Only two and a half hours drive from Sydney,Anchorage Port Stephens is the perfect seaside weekend escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage Port Stephens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens Hotel Corlette
Peppers Anchorage Hotel Port Stephens
Peppers Anchorage Resort Port Stephens
Anchorage Port Stephens Corlette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing