We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anchorage Port Stephens
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mixed views”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice room at this hotel. The staff were reasonably friendly and we enjoyed the use of the swimming pool. We feel that $30 to have 24 hours internet is extortionate and decided not to pay it. The staff in the restaurant were also reasonably friendly but to wait more than an hour for the entree to turn up is completely unreasonable and a further three quarters of an hour for the main is dreadful. We would have walked out had there been anywhere else near enough to walk to but we stayed. To be fair, when the food finally arrived it seemed better than average. However I was sick the next morning (a very rare occurrence) and can't help thinking it was something I ate the night before.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EssexFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We will be amending our wifi with the refurbishment and when we are able to change our contract with our current supplier.

I apologise for the wait time you experienced. We have addressed this as a team and will be working hard to ensure that we have consistent high levels of service at all levels of the dining experience.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    291
    112
    43
    28
See reviews for
156
525
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The staff at the Anchorage Port Stephens made it for us - they were friendly and accommodating. The property however needs to be spruced up and we were told this will be happening at some stage. The rooms are a good size as are the bathrooms, we had a twin room and the beds were comfortable but quite narrow. We were also near the front door of the building and it was quite noticeable once the doors were closed for the evening whenever someone entered the building as it banged every time. However, the view from our room was lovely and we had a sunny patio area right outside the french doors. We also made use of the spa area and I treated myself to a manicure and pedicure and my friend had a reiki session. Both the ladies who work here were very nice and friendly but unfortunately the mani/pedi was one of the worst I'd ever had - I had noticeable gaps at the base of my fingernails and toenails and some where very 'jagged' around the edges. I didn't feel able to tell the person who did the work as she used a very large magnifying device which I thought would have aided her - obviously not. My friend who had the reiki (not having had it before) found it to be a confusing session. Her feet were held onto for 15 minutes then her ankle and knee - no other body parts were touched - and nothing was explained to her. However they were both very nice and we had a drink in the bar with them afterwards and chatted with more staff and Don who seems to be a regular at the bar - he gave us a lot of helpful advice which we followed, the Chinese restaurant in Old Salamander is very good as is the walk up Tomaree Head. We didn't however take in the Sleezy Breezy in Nelson Bay (the Seabreeze Hotel) despite the recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi Trish,

Thank you for your comments, I have passed on your positive feedback about the staff. I have also passed on your comments about the spa and beauty therapy to Shayna Day Spa.

You are right and we are completing the refurbishment this year - starting now and continuing through until November.

We are looking forward to the results, the initial work completed looks great!

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night whilst on a holiday in Port Stephens. The location is great and the scenery is quite stunning. We had a nice view of the port from our room. The staff were very welcoming and attentive to all our needs. There were a good variety of choices for breakfast. The only negatives about the place were the technological services. Outdated internet and the TV and channels weren't great either. Definitely need to install free wifi as phone reception was not great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giada C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your review, we agree, the setting here is absolutely stunning!!

We will be adding free wifi and upgrading our TVs with the refurbishment. We are hoping to have these elements completed by winter.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Anchorage in the near future.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed for two nights booking through Luxury Escapes for a price that we could have achieved by going direct. The so called vouchers had multiple restrictions that prevented us from using them. Our room looked directly at a utility shed that blocked any view although on reporting this the staff comped our breakfast, thanks. The bathroom was tired and the lighting was insufficient for my wife to do her make up.The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was great as was dinner but the meal delivery was far to slow and the room was absolutely freezing. The location remains a major part of the attraction.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrnewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your visit to Port Stephens.

I will pass on your comments to Luxury Escapes who put the package together.

We are completing refurbishments this year which will include fixing the lighting the bathrooms and in the rooms.

We appreciate the positive comments about your dining experience, we will address the speed of service though as it is important that all aspects is of a consistent level.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Excellent place to stay whilst journeying between Canberra & Queensland. It is located right on the waters edge at Port Stephens with beautiful views over the ocean. It's old fashioned with dated bathrooms but clean, has a good feel to the place. Have stayed here more than once and have eaten in the restaurant, bar and room service the food was very good in all venues. A pleasant relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KUB5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us.

The drive down the coast from Brisbane is great. If you find yourself with time to complete it again, The Pacific Coast Touring route is worth experiencing too.

We hope to welcome you back to the Anchorage in the near future.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My wife and I were given a 3 night stay by our children as a gift. We were impressed by lot of things and disappointed by some.

The location is superb with panoramic views of Port Stephens from our balcony and easy walks on the nearby beach. Salamander Bay shopping centre is nearby and Nelson Bay township is just a short drive.

Our overall impression was positive and we would recommend this resort to family and friends albeit with some reservations. The renovation program has begun and will, when completed, will restore Anchorage to its claimed 41/2 star rating. But, at this time, I believe it falls way short of that level. Our room, 323 - first floor in Dalton House, while comfortable is badly knocked about and is serious need of refurbishment. The balcony door frames apparently were repainted by a visually impaired painter! The lawns are very well kept but the gardens could do with some more attention.

The lack of an information brochure in the room was a disappointment, as are the internet and in-house movie prices (one of the movies offered was actually shown on free-to-air TV the previous weekend! If the Fighter World cafe at nearby Williamtown can provide free WiFi to its customers, surely that same service is not beyond Australian hotels and resorts.

All of the staff with whom we can in contact were friendly and helpful. The service in the restaurant was prompt, efficient and unobtrusive - full marks to them! The buffet breakfast is first class and we were very impressed with the restaurant's evening meal. But we were not equally impressed by the beverage charges in the bar and on the wine list. Not everyone who travels and visits here is on an expense account.

Room Tip: Upper floors with north or east aspect have the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandalf242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback, I am sure the improvements we will be making to the property over the next 10 months will greatly enhance the resort.

We will not only be making changes to the physical nature of the property but also to our technology suppliers to enable us to commercially give to our guests the services they demand - including free wifi and discounted movies.

We look forward to welcoming you back so we can show off the improvements made.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The rooms are quite large and comfortable, but need updating. Bathroom needed a deep clean, tiles were dirty. Ate in the restaurant on the first night, the food was good but the service was very slow, 45mins to get a starter, so didn't eat there again. Good Thai restaurant just down the road. Lovely views over the Marina and easy parking. Adequate for 2 nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smart-clarkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I apologise about the delay in receiving your entrees when you dined with us. We will continue to work hard at training our team to ensure that the service is just what our guests would like.

I agree the Thai restaurant is great.

We will be refurbishing the rooms, starting in March and am confident that the new bathrooms will be a real asset to our rooms.

Thank you again

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corlette
2.4 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
2.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.5 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Port Stephens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Port Stephens

Property: Anchorage Port Stephens
Address: Corlette Point Road, Corlette, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Corlette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Port Stephens 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation by the Sea. All 80 rooms and suites have an individual balcony or porch, most with unobstructed views over Port Stephens. At Anchorage Port Stephens we are large enough to provide you with superb guest facilities but small enough to ensure your stay is intimate and relaxed. Only two and a half hours drive from Sydney,Anchorage Port Stephens is the perfect seaside weekend escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Port Stephens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens Hotel Corlette
Peppers Anchorage Hotel Port Stephens
Peppers Anchorage Resort Port Stephens
Anchorage Port Stephens Corlette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing