We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool Time in Corlette”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anchorage Port Stephens
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,419 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 615 helpful votes
“Cool Time in Corlette”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Yep , it Rained nearly the whole time ! Went up for an outdoor wedding which quickly moved indoors ! Still a nice view from the Tea Room between squalls !! The Hotel is showing it's age in some places but all in all it is still a good stay , great outlook looking out over the Port and the Reception was very well catered and the staff very obliging. We found all the staff we bumped into were friendly & helpful !! Not the cheapest lodging around but a good nights rest and top breakfast had us facing the drive back in better spirits !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your recent review after your stay with us.

It is a shame when it rains on a short break away. However, we are pleased you enjoyed the wedding and it didn't dampen your spirits.

With refurbishments in full swing now, we hope we can welcome you back soon with a little more sunshine.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    290
    112
    43
    28
See reviews for
155
525
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glenhaven, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We have been regularly staying at the Anchorage for the last 15+ years but due to years of neglect, we stopped staying there a few years ago. However, we understood that it had been sold and the new owners had commenced sorely needed renovations. We opted for a 'Loft suite' and found that it was still in a tired state. We asked for our in room Dining Directory to be taken away as it was damp and covered in coloured mould. We also asked for a previous guest's hair to be swept from the balcony. This was immediately done. The bathroom hadn't been re-furbished, but we were told that by October the hotel would be a genuine 5 star. The breakfasts in Merrett's were good, and even though it has been re-painted, there are plans for a total re-vamp. Some of the exterior has been painted, but left uncompleted. The hotel's major assets are the Front Office Customer facing employees. They are loyal, customer focussed and motivated. The location and views from the hotel are world class, providing the potential for it to be the jewel in the crown for Port Stephens. We shall return at the end of the year to see if the promised refurbishments are done.

Room Tip: Wait for the refurbishment to be completed. Book a Loft Suite that doesn't overlook the swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hi Ray,

It was good to have you return to us recently.

I appreciate your comments and can confirm that we are still planning on having the bulk of the rooms completed by the end of the year - we are completing one accommodation house at a time.

Thank you for your comments about the team, I will pass this onto them. We have had little turn over in staff over the past couple of years and our commitment will always remain to put our guests first.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the end of the year.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We recently had a girls weekend at this property. The grounds were absolutely stunning. We had a view of yachts moored out our window it was just stunning! Breakfast was great. The only thing that could have been better was if the bathrooms were updated a bit but certainly not bad enough to complain, just a bit dated. Would DEFINITELY stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hi Stacey,

Thanks you for your positive comments after your girls weekend away.

Being only 45 mins to an hour from Newcastle, it is a great little getaway from it all.

We look forward to welcoming you and the girls back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and I spent one night at Anchorage for our Wedding Anniversary. Imagine our surprise upon check-in when we were told that we could not park our boat/trailer on the property, and we would need to put it into storage!! This despite having a phone conversation prior to booking about bringing our boat. So, if you plan on coming to the bay to fish, you had better stay elsewhere or be prepared to pay the additional $55 per night to moor your boat in the marina and leave the car and trailer at the boat ramp overnight. Luckily, the guys at the Marina were great and even invited us to help ourselves to coffee (from a real coffee machine, not the International Roast you get in the room!) or use the BBQ. Given that we had already paid $339 for the room and local food package, we felt ripped off to say the least!

The room itself was adequate though the bathroom was in need of a good clean - yes, I know, they are refurbishing, so I didn't expect anything great. The fact is, this place could be great, it has one of the most fantastic locations, but the standard really needs to be lifted to get it there. Did I mention you only get International Roast coffee in the rooms? I didn't know you could still even buy that stuff. Does anyone ever drink it, or is this another rouse to get customers to have to pay for a coffee?

We did have our Anniversary Dinner at Merretts Restaurant. Again, the meal was adequate but nothing to rave about. Again, I was surprised and disappointed when we were presented with a bill for the meal at the end of the night, despite having "purchased" this in the food package - another grab for a bit of extra money, perhaps? Especially when we saw "food package" written next to our restaurant booking, it's hard to imagine the wait-staff missed this.

Overall, this was a very disappointing stay from the start, we won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you are bringing a boat or a trailer, stay elsewhere, as you cannot park it onsite overnight and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCM2575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. With regard to the parking, we have great parking facilities which have just been upgraded. However, unfortunately, it is difficult for us to accommodate trailers as well as cars for the other guests at the hotel, as well as the Marina guests and guests dining in the restaurant. This should have been mentioned when taking your reservation. We have a partnership with a local storage company which is only a short 5 min drive away for guests to park their trailer.

thank you again for your comments

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at The Anchorage for 2 nights as part of a 6 night side trip from Sydney and wished it could have been more!
Checking in was painless and we had just settled into our room when we had a knock on the door to find room service presenting me with a bottle of "bubbly" to celebrate my 60th birthday. Nice touch.
The room itself was ideal. Very large with two balconies, one overlooking the marina, the other the car park. We sat on the marina veranda later drinking the wine and watching the sun go down. Bliss!
A huge bed, my wife and I haven't been so far apart from each other in years! Bathroom was fine.
The whole resort was very quiet, it being toward the end of season. Swimming pool was good. It was nice to watch the swallows swooping to take insect off the surface of the water. We also made use of the sauna and hot tub as well.
Overall an excellent hotel/resort in a lovely location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krisbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hi,

Thank you for you positive comments after your stay with us.

It is always great to get away for your birthday and it was fantastic you could spend it with us.

We hope you had a safe journey home and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for only one night. We would have loved to have stayed longer as the whole experience was perfect. It was my husband's birthday and we were greeted with a bottle of champagne on ice waiting for us in our room. The room overlooked the beautiful marina and it was lovely just to sit out on the balcony and just take it all in. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We also thought the dinner was lovely with fantastic efficient wait staff. Breakfast was also good. We would definitely like to return again to experience more of this hotel and the surrounds of Port Stephens. Thank you so much for a great stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 114 which looked directly over the marina. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquis56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hi Jacqui,

Thank you for your very positive review after your stay with us.

One night in Port Stephens is never enough! It is a beautiful place to relax and unwind.

We really look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

On check in we were allocated room 211. This had dirty grout around the bath and a peeling slip mat. A replacement room (311) was found which was not much better, carpets that were dirty and did not meet the walls, tired furniture some of which was chipped, powdered coffee, no hotel guide and two single beds pushed together with a double sheet to make it into a double bed.

The bathrooms and carpets appear to have suffered years of neglect.

Brown deposits found in the bath the following morning were put down to a leak from above but a cockroach found that night and more brown deposits the following morning suggests more sinister reason. The receptionist merely passed the cockroach sighting off saying "they are supposed to spray". The hotel is supposed to be being refurbished by the end of the year but in all honesty, should it remain open in the meantime?

There was a wait of 55 minutes for dinner to arrive on the one occasion we eat there and the breakfasts were typical hotel food some of which had been prepared some time previously.

On the positive side, the public areas and pool are good.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 211 and 311!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard0837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hi Richard,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us.

I do apologise and am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We do have the hotel sprayed every month due to the environment we are in.

With regard to the rooms, as I have mentioned in many of my comments, we are completing a full refurbishment of the hotel starting with the Dalton accommodation house this week. This will included replacing the carpet and giving our bathroom's a full make over.

We have discounted our rates during this time as we understand there is work which is needed. However, we also believe we are able to provide our guests with great personalised service through this period and have a refurbishment program which will not impact our guests greatly.

We do hope you have a safe journey home.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corlette
2.4 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
2.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
2.5 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Port Stephens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Port Stephens

Property: Anchorage Port Stephens
Address: Corlette Point Road, Corlette, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Corlette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Port Stephens 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation by the Sea. All 80 rooms and suites have an individual balcony or porch, most with unobstructed views over Port Stephens. At Anchorage Port Stephens we are large enough to provide you with superb guest facilities but small enough to ensure your stay is intimate and relaxed. Only two and a half hours drive from Sydney,Anchorage Port Stephens is the perfect seaside weekend escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Port Stephens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens Hotel Corlette
Peppers Anchorage Hotel Port Stephens
Peppers Anchorage Resort Port Stephens
Anchorage Port Stephens Corlette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing