We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even the local dolphins love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anchorage Port Stephens
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Certificate of Excellence
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Even the local dolphins love it!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We chose to berth here for 2 nights during Easter, as we have stayed at the Anchorage Resort before and wanted to experience the Marina berthing accommodation. The rates were impressive for such a beautiful establishment, our boat was offered a prime position which allowed easy access to the open waters of Port Stephens. There is a large population of resident dolphins off Corlette and they didn't disappoint. We saw them every day we went out. The Marina itself is looking a little tired - I remembered beautiful fresh oiled decks and smooth timber boardwalks, but they have aged to reveal some rather weathered areas that hold the odd splinter, so best to wear shoes. There is no wi fi or Foxtel to each berth, however it is available in the small guest lounge, which also houses a great coffee maker, hot chocolate etc, all free to overnight guests.
We did enjoy the fabulous pool, spa and sauna facilities of the Anchorage Resort and were pleased to see things were still very well looked after. The Resort restaurant, Merrett's - was beyond our budget this trip, but still remains a huge name in fine dining at Port Stephens and for good reason.
The ambience of the Marina at night is simply divine and has to be experienced. Gracious Hamptons-style architecture against a dark green, densely vegetated hillside, soft lights illuminating the glassy waters of the Marina - all framed by the starriest sky I have seen in years. Entering and exiting each day was simple, there is a breakwall that offers limited protection form passing boats, but there are no tidal issues so you can come and go as you please. Pumping out was easy and they offer a small discount on fuel.
A really great place to shelter if you are passing through Port Stephens and luxury accommodation if you want some time off the water. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank aussiedisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    293
    113
    43
    28
See reviews for
158
527
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

An amazing stay. Can't fault anything. The rooms are beautiful, the location is perfect. The buffet breakfast. Is varied and delicious. We also had dinner and it was top quality.

The staff are helpful and friendly. The spa and pool are beautiful.

It costs to stay here but did good reason. Price is justified 100%. In fact I would say its good value for money.

The separate buildings give a sense of a seclusion, and you have a beach on your doorstep.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Butterbean25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Hi,

Thank you very much for your positive comments after your stay with us.

We think the location is pretty special too. We hope you had a safe trip home and we look forward to welcoming you back her when you are next visiting Australia.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely location overlooking over Port Stephens with tastefully appointed modern furnished rooms. Can be a base for walks along the bay & around the resort's small jetty area. Would need other transport to get into Nelson Bay to take advantage of the restaurants & dolphin cruises that are operated out of Nelson Bay. The Anchorage restaurant was of the level expected at a resort & a couple of nice dinners were enjoyed, although service is very measured & pricing was up there though in line with resort restaurant meals. The wait person was very helpful in identifying gluten free meal options for one of our party.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KJMRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your positive comments after your stay with us.

I will pass these comments onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hardest part about staying at The Anchorage was actually making a reservation. Trying to organise a stay, I made several inquiries about different dates (as there was limited availability) but the Reservations person was quite abrupt and unhelpful. When it came to making a booking, there was no one who could help and I was told someone would ring me back. By the time they eventually did, over 5 hours later, I had worked out how to book online. Easier and much more pleasant.
We were a little disappointed when we arrived. We loved the loft suite and it had a beautiful view but the accommodation was very shabby from torn blinds that didn't work, to peeling plaster. Definitely not what you'd expect. The four dead cockroaches on the floor weren't particularly welcoming either. We recognise that cockroaches are part and parcel of coastal environments but the room had supposedly been cleaned that morning. Not feeling overly positive, we quickly dealt with them and headed off for High Tea with some friends. This is where things started to turn around. This had been set up in one of the lounges so that we could enjoy the beautiful view. This was a fantastic experience, the food was excellent. The member of staff who looked after us was so attentive, we felt really spoilt.
Things went a little downhill again when we found cockroaches IN our bedding and at this point we did make a complaint. The night duty manager was very empathic and told us remedial action would be taken in the morning. It wasn't and we had to follow this up ourselves. The member of staff on reception was quite dismissive and told us it was a problem due to the renovations and all rooms would have the same problem. Not a great response. Eventually, the Anchorage's credit, they did come up with a solution, which we felt was overgenerous and we eventually settled on something more reasonable that made us feel our complaint had been heard without taking advantage. Minor note for improvement - very limited in-service menu (and very slow pick up of trays - over 18 hours - not good for the cockroach situation) and perhaps it would be good to let guests know that renovation work is in progress.
However, from this point onwards, our stay was nothing but positive. Perhaps our earlier staff experiences had been reflective of a bad day because from this point, everyone was friendly and helpful. The food was excellent...from the breakfast in Merritt's (which should come with a health warning, it's so delicious!) to the all day dining menu. In fact, our opinion changed so much, we stayed an extra day. Overall, teething problems aside, the Anchorage was a very pleasant and relaxing experience and we would definitely return, although perhaps not until the renovation work is complete.

Room Tip: For those who like a little extra room, try a loft suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kleinewurstsemmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.

I do apologise for the inconsistencies you encountered during your stay with us. I will speak with teams to ensure that we are always delivering the quality of service you did receive after your first day.

I will also pass on the positive comments about the breakfast and high tea experience. Our food and beverage are of an outstanding quality and with the refurbishments happening now, it will only get better.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,420 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 627 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Yep , it Rained nearly the whole time ! Went up for an outdoor wedding which quickly moved indoors ! Still a nice view from the Tea Room between squalls !! The Hotel is showing it's age in some places but all in all it is still a good stay , great outlook looking out over the Port and the Reception was very well catered and the staff very obliging. We found all the staff we bumped into were friendly & helpful !! Not the cheapest lodging around but a good nights rest and top breakfast had us facing the drive back in better spirits !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your recent review after your stay with us.

It is a shame when it rains on a short break away. However, we are pleased you enjoyed the wedding and it didn't dampen your spirits.

With refurbishments in full swing now, we hope we can welcome you back soon with a little more sunshine.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenhaven, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We have been regularly staying at the Anchorage for the last 15+ years but due to years of neglect, we stopped staying there a few years ago. However, we understood that it had been sold and the new owners had commenced sorely needed renovations. We opted for a 'Loft suite' and found that it was still in a tired state. We asked for our in room Dining Directory to be taken away as it was damp and covered in coloured mould. We also asked for a previous guest's hair to be swept from the balcony. This was immediately done. The bathroom hadn't been re-furbished, but we were told that by October the hotel would be a genuine 5 star. The breakfasts in Merrett's were good, and even though it has been re-painted, there are plans for a total re-vamp. Some of the exterior has been painted, but left uncompleted. The hotel's major assets are the Front Office Customer facing employees. They are loyal, customer focussed and motivated. The location and views from the hotel are world class, providing the potential for it to be the jewel in the crown for Port Stephens. We shall return at the end of the year to see if the promised refurbishments are done.

Room Tip: Wait for the refurbishment to be completed. Book a Loft Suite that doesn't overlook the swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hi Ray,

It was good to have you return to us recently.

I appreciate your comments and can confirm that we are still planning on having the bulk of the rooms completed by the end of the year - we are completing one accommodation house at a time.

Thank you for your comments about the team, I will pass this onto them. We have had little turn over in staff over the past couple of years and our commitment will always remain to put our guests first.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the end of the year.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We recently had a girls weekend at this property. The grounds were absolutely stunning. We had a view of yachts moored out our window it was just stunning! Breakfast was great. The only thing that could have been better was if the bathrooms were updated a bit but certainly not bad enough to complain, just a bit dated. Would DEFINITELY stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hi Stacey,

Thanks you for your positive comments after your girls weekend away.

Being only 45 mins to an hour from Newcastle, it is a great little getaway from it all.

We look forward to welcoming you and the girls back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corlette
2.4 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
538 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
83 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
195 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
1.0 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Port Stephens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Port Stephens

Property: Anchorage Port Stephens
Address: Corlette Point Road, Corlette, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Corlette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Port Stephens 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation by the Sea. All 80 rooms and suites have an individual balcony or porch, most with unobstructed views over Port Stephens. At Anchorage Port Stephens we are large enough to provide you with superb guest facilities but small enough to ensure your stay is intimate and relaxed. Only two and a half hours drive from Sydney,Anchorage Port Stephens is the perfect seaside weekend escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage Port Stephens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens Hotel Corlette
Peppers Anchorage Hotel Port Stephens
Peppers Anchorage Resort Port Stephens
Anchorage Port Stephens Corlette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing