We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ready for a make over” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorage Port Stephens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anchorage Port Stephens
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ready for a make over”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

Stopped here after New Year.
The situation is excellent.
But the place is ready for an up date.
Furniture and soft furnishings looked very tired and dated.
Restaurant is very expensive for what you receive.
At times seemed to be under staffed, with staff trying to cover 2 areas.
They did not have the time to speak to guests.
Remember this is a service industry.
Potentially could be an excellent hotel with a little more effort made.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HazelMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    287
    112
    42
    27
See reviews for
151
518
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
125 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2010

Our family of 4 arrived to find the hotel fully booked & no record of our pre-paid booking. Not a great start but to the credit of the hotel, they handled the situation brilliantly. It turns out that the memeber of staff who had caused the mix-up has now left & all the staff bent over backwards to make it things right & juggle rooms to fit us in. We did have to change rooms a couple of times but they offered us the best suite in the hotel for 2 of the nights & upgrades on our second room as well.

Having read some negative reviews, we were a little apprehensive on what to expect. The public area were all well cared for & we cannot comment on the standard rooms but we were very impressed with what we got. The Master Suite was excellent - spcacious & very comfortable with a fabulous wrap-around balcony with sun-beds & great ammeneties & in good condition. The staff were all really friendly & helpful & nothing was too much trouble. We even got some excellent tourist information from one of the cleaners. We said that we wanted to see Kangaroos in the wild so she recommended giving the wildlife parks a miss & just going along to the local golf-club at sundown. What a tip - not only did we have a superb meal at a great price, but we spotted dozens of Kangaroos all over the place.

The hotel is a 5 minute drive from Nelson Bay but we are so glad that we didn't stay in town which was really busy. Peppers has a superb spot on the marina & with a great little beach. In our view, definitely the best place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

A basic three star like, mid range place, charging over the odds for its location (which is good). Overall, our suite was large, but desperately needed both (1) a repaint and spruce-up - there was too much wear and tear evident; and, (2) the whole place needs a good deep clean. Great location, but not convinced it was value for money.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

Lovely location. Quiet, with a nice beach next door.

For those with children and considering the loft room, don't. Four people sharing 1 bathroom isn't fun and worse, the lack of privacy from not having a separate room for our kids meant we couldn't really sleep later than them since the lights on kept them awake :-(

Parking is a pain as there isn't enough during peak periods.

The hotel recently started a BBQ dinner which was rather home cookish, not quite restaurant standard in presentation nor food quality -- neither we nor the chef could tell which was the beef or lamb. Says how much marinade they drowned the meats in!

The hidden tip is to rent a boat from the marina and go to the dolphin watch area yourself -- you have your own private boat, at a fraction of the cost too.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soulbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

Spent 4 days at this resort and was pleasantly surprised - only 2 1/2 hours drive from Sydney - quiet and peaceful location. We felt very relaxed after our short stay. All rooms had a water view - there was the marina and a beautiful small beach and the Port Stephens view towards Jimmie's Beach. The hotel is not new but the rooms were nicely furnished - ours was quite big - king size bed, flat screen TV, Ipod dock, tea/coffee etc. 2 lounge chairs, 2 chairs and small table, 2 outside chairs and small table on balcony. Highly acclaimed Merritt's restaurant was so good we ate their twice - a celebration dinner on the Saturday evening and again on the Sunday for lunch. Not cheap but worth it for something special. My only comment was they could improve the the poolside & drink service. Massage therapy was very good. They had real trouble making a margarita (a common cocktail I thought) - and it didn't taste nice .. and for $16 it should have tasted better. Again I asked for a mocktail (whilst sitting round the pool) - a very ordinary juice drink - with no decoration - and $10!! A little ordinary! One other negative was that you needed to drive somewhere else to get an inexpensive casual meal ... but this would not detract me from recommending this resort or staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

Our stay did not get off to a good start. In spite of us having email confirmation of our booking, reception had no record of it and were quite offhand. It almost felt like they were doing us a favour when we were told they would find us a room (this on a Tuesday and the hotel was clearly not that busy).

The setting is lovely. The room was large with pretty marina views. However, it was very dated and certainly in need of refurbishment. The bathroom, in particular, was really tired - broken, chipped tiles (how does that happen?), badly marked bath (no way I'd take a bath in it!), poor lighting, ordinary toiletries, and, worst of all, an unemptied rubbish bin from the previous guests. Yuck!

We had to go through the rigmarole of requesting bathrobes which were very well-worn when finally delivered. These should simply be provided in a hotel charging this rate. The hangers are the sort that are fixed to the wardrobe railing - awkward to use and who on earth would steal a measly hanger anyway?

There was no mini-bar price list which could really catch the unwary. The hotel information manual was so worn out it looked 10 years old. It was impossible to get ABC TV reception, though all the other channels worked.

All this lack of attention to detail made the overall feel of the place very uncomfortable. It's pretty and has so much potential but just doesn't even get close to what it could be. Given all of this, we we didn't feel inclined to spend any further money there and ate all meals out so can't comment on the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentFlyer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

We stayed in room 105, had a patio that opened up right onto the beach. The price was (about 175 a night) very reasonable for such a nice location, had a gorgeous view of the bay. It was extremely serene and lovely, there is a walk behind that hotel that you can take and see wild koalas munching on gum tree leaves. The reception service was ok, but the bar service and restaurant service was excellent. Also went to the spa and the service was really great, very friendly and professional, had a great time. We had room service one night, was very prompt and food was good for hotel food (cheese plate, goat cheese salad and club sandwich). Did not bother with the pool as the beach is so beautiful, don't know why anyone would bother with the pool. Very quite while we were there. Bathroom was very clean. Room had a minimalist beach feel. TV reception was fine (but didn't watch much). Wireless was very poor, but we had a cable so had no trouble connecting to ethernet. Would definitely go back, really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corlette
2.3 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
2.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.5 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Port Stephens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Port Stephens

Property: Anchorage Port Stephens
Address: Corlette Point Road, Corlette, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Corlette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Port Stephens 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation by the Sea. All 80 rooms and suites have an individual balcony or porch, most with unobstructed views over Port Stephens. At Anchorage Port Stephens we are large enough to provide you with superb guest facilities but small enough to ensure your stay is intimate and relaxed. Only two and a half hours drive from Sydney,Anchorage Port Stephens is the perfect seaside weekend escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Anchorage Port Stephens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens Hotel Corlette
Peppers Anchorage Hotel Port Stephens
Peppers Anchorage Resort Port Stephens
Anchorage Port Stephens Corlette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing