We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just bad.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Islander Noosa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Islander Noosa Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Noosaville
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just bad.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

My friends and I booked a trip to go here over Easter weekend. Due to various issues that came up we ended up needing to cancel. Instead of refunding our money, the lady I spoke to was condescending and rude. When I warned her that we would write them a bad review, she stated numerous reasons why I was wrong in an extremely condescending tone.
This place is greedy, cheap, and does not treat all in similar respects. I would not recommend going here simply because they are not flexible like other Hotels and even Hostels in the area.
Unfriendly, condescending, and rude, I warn you all, this is not the place to go unless you 100% sure you will not be canceling.
They make you book so far ahead in advance that it is hard to tell. Just bad.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathypm, General Manager at Islander Noosa Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear EH
Thank you for your feedback - I feel compelled to provide some facts to your review and advise any potential guests reading my reply that you tried to bully us into refunding you by threatening this review. Additionally we made an exception to our policy and did in fact make a part refund on your booking, detail as outlined below.

Your booking was made on 19 March for 4 guests for Easter arriving 6 April and booked by one person 'JO' on your behalf and this is the person we have as our main contact. However as you were students each of you paid your share of the full amount and you gave us your email address to copy you as well as the contact on all confirmations. Each confirmation states our terms and conditions and is clear there is no refund within 4 weeks of the stay.

On 23/3 JO rang to advise you had to cancel. We reiterated our cancellation policy and we moved the booking back a day to support her request to change the booking. JO was satisfied with this.

On 4 April, a day before arrival, you rang to cancel the booking and demand a refund and threatened us with a 'bad' review on tripadvisor if we did not comply. At the same time another member of your party rang and advised they still wanted to stay. This was very confusing to us, so we reviewed your booking and made an exception to our policy and offered a refund on any nights we could sell. JO, the main contact confirms this is suitable and we act to sell. We then get another call 15 mins after this to say that 2 of the others still want to come. This confusion amongst yourselves had us calling guests on waitlists and then reneging on availability with these guests in an effort to provide a refund to you.

Eventually we get a call to say sell (and another email comes after this from another person unknown to us to say they want to stay - again we ring JO and receive a sell confirmation).

In summary, we were able to sell 2 of the 4 nights and made a prompt refund to JO, the main contact who emailed and thanked us for our help.

With respect, your feedback is unwarranted. After 15 years in this industry I believe my staff acted to support you and work towards a refund for you. Your issues with other colleagues and change of plans in not something you can hold my team liable for.
Bula
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    107
    21
    7
    8
See reviews for
181
49
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at the Islander for 2 nights in March as part of an 8 night Queensland holiday. We stayed in a three bedroom unit, as there were six of us - my wife and I and our 6 and 9 year old girls, and a friend and her 9 year old daughter. The unit was 2 story with 2 bedrooms with single beds upstairs and everything else on the ground floor, including the main bedroom. The unit was quite well equipped, with a decent sized modern kitchen, a smallish but nice bathroom, and a washing machine and dryer. The unit was a decent size and very clean, and while we wouldn't say it was top class it was well presented. It was dissappointing though that the couches in the lounge were rather uncomfortable, not that it really mattered to us that much as we were too busy getting out and about. Another mirror would have also been handy, there was only a smallish one in the bathroom.

The grounds and pools are what really make this place. The main pools are fantastic, we all loved them, and the girls insisted we go for a swim both mornings before we did anything else, even though it poured with rain one morning. The gardens surrounding the pools and the rest of the resort were excellent and added to the feel of the place. There were also 3 or 4 barbecues under cover next to the pools, and 2 beautifully warm spas. Strangely though there hardly ever seemed to be more than 1 or 2 other people in the pools, maybe it was just a quiet weekend, good for us though.

The location of the resort is also very good, on Gympie terrace in amongst shops and restaurants and across the road from the river. Also plenty of takeaway places including Maccas and Red Rooster just across the road, and just 10 minutes walk to a Woolies supermarket. We ate at a good little pizza and pasta cafe one night which was literally metres from our unit. The one negative is that if you like Hastings St you need to drive there and then have the hassle of finding a car park.

One of the main postives is the value of this place, we paid just $355 for the 2 nights in the 3 bed unit. Very difficult to find something else this good for that price. We were disappointed we only had 2 nights here, more time to relax by the pools would have been nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marky34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathypm, Manager at Islander Noosa Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Mr 'Marky34'
We were excited to read that you enjoyed your stay and our resort. Your feedback was really detailed and we loved reading about what you enjoyed so thank you. If we can look after you another time please let us know and thank you for staying at our resort.
Bula Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here last year. In the heart of Noosaville, close to all restraunts and the noosa river. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit which was lovely. Friendly staff and lots of fun things to do!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieRJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathypm, Manager at Islander Noosa Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Ms 'Annie'
Thank you for the great feedback and importantly for staying with us
Bula Cathy and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We are a family of 4 and we stayed here in late Jan 2012. Whilst the weather was not ideal (not the resort's fault), we nonetheless had a fantastic stay. The villas are roomy with all the facilities and the gardens/surrounds are beautiful. The lagoon pool is exceptional (kids loved it !!) and there are great undercover BBQ areas. its also got very good security. The resort is ideally located close to all the Noosaville shops and attractions. Above all, the customer service of this establishment is OUTSTANDING. After leaving a small item behind in our villa, Cathy and her team promptly posted the item back to me - and when Aust Post lost the item - they did everything that they could to help me out in any way possible - over and above what I expected. This resort is great for families and represents excellent value for money. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Noosaville !

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PStas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathypm, Manager at Islander Noosa Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Mrs Pstas
We appreciate your review, and were very happy when your lost and found was 'found'. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Bula Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We are regulars at the islander and can say our current stay from the 13 - 23 Jan was again the best. We often get the same unit no 43 and has always been clean and tidy. The staff are always welcoming and assist anyway they can. There is always heaps to do, weather you stay in the resort by the lagoon pool or venture out the front gate across the river. Plenty of restaurants only walking distance form the resort and water activities at your door step.

The best thing is that they do give discounts to returning guests which is a bonus once you see that other accommodations in the area don't even come close to the type of life style you get at the islander.

And of course we will be returning for our family holiday.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shot41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathypm, General Manager at Islander Noosa Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs 'Shot41'
Thank you for the review, Housekeeping and our team were happy to hear your feedback. Its our great delight to see you you each year and welcome you back as we love catching up with your family. Thank you for being our guests and we look forward to Jan 2013. Bula Cathy and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

This was a great resort , but it could have been a little bit better.The games room was like a sauna and could have had a air conditioner in it. The couch was a little bit uncomfortable and there were stains on the quilts. There are no spare pillows in the rooms. Overall we had a good holiday!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mudsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathypm, Manager at Islander Noosa Resort, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs 'Mudsters', thank you for staying and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the heat in the Games Room - I'll check we are opening windows daily, and appreciate the feedback about pillows - next stay call Reception as we are more than happy to provide an extra pillow or two to our guests - we just bring them in as requested to you in clean coverings. Bula Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Believe it or not, I can tolerate two different types of ants on the wall. I can tolerate them on a few nights when they were in the bed when pulling back the sheets. I cannot tolerate stained bedding. I cannot believe they would supply a blanket that has cigarette burns and holes in it. Friends had bedspreads that had marks on them and was told that they were not dirty - just stained.

They definitely need to improve on the bedding - it is a complete disappointment. Poor bedding is not acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GypsyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathypm, Manager at Islander Noosa Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Dear 'Gypsy'
Thank you for your feedback, we agree this is not good enough. Our apologies, you are a regular guest with us and your feedback is always fair and helps us improve. Happy 2012 to you both and we hope to wellcome you in 2012. Bula Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noosaville
0.3 mi away
Noosa Sun Motel & Holiday Apartments
2.0 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
1.8 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#6 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
2.0 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
1.9 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Noosa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Noosa Resort

Property: Islander Noosa Resort
Address: 187 Gympie Tce, Noosaville, Noosa, Queensland 4566, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa > Noosaville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Noosaville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Islander Noosa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self contained villas on 4 acres in heart of Noosaville offering great value and best facilities: 3 pools (large solar heated lagoon pool + heated pool to 30 degrees all year + another pool facing north for sun) & spas & saunas & tennis courts & BBQs & Clubhouse. Opposite the Noosa River and 5 minute stroll to cafes & restaurants (8 on premise including Moondoggy's Cafe Bar), shops and supermarket. All villas have full kitchen and laundry, Foxtel free and DVD in villa. 1 GB Wifi ( fair usage policy) each villa booked. Disability villas available and hoist to assist guests with mobility concerns into the heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Islander Noosa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Noosa Hotel Noosaville
Islander Noosa Resort Noosaville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing