We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Noosa Backpackers Resort
Nearby Hotels
RACV Noosa Resort(Noosa)(Great Value!)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Noosa Blue Resort(Noosa)(Great Value!)
US$222
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Noosa Springs Golf & Spa Resort(Noosa)(Great Value!)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$313
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Sebel Noosa(Noosa)(Great Value!)
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas(Noosa)(Great Value!)
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coolum at the Beach(Coolum Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lake Cootharaba Motel(Boreen Point)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
48
52
47
15
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
52
47
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree kayaksfemale dormbed dormsurf boardsthe east coastpush bikesgreyhound bus stoptown beachmain beachbig kitchena free shuttle busthe riverfraser island triphear everythingnational parkmain towngreat place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I liked to stay at Noosa backpacker resort. Good staff, nice with buses to the breach every day. Good with free surf board hire and u meet so many people. The bad thing was there was ONLY 3 toilets in the hostel 12-14 on one toilet and two showers

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lindagustafsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Only stayed for two nights but it was really good. Cosy and clean hostel with a good kitchen. Near river promenade, perfect for joggers! There's just a bus stop 20 meters away to get everywhere, especially good during the schoolholidays when all the buses are free. The hostel even has free kayaks. Definitely worth staying!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrotterMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I will keep this brief - not a great place to stay unless your really stuck! We stayed in a house next door to the main hostel in a room called "Pandanas". We booked a double room. Incredibly basic & grim, the room contained just a bed & a ceiling fan, which fair enough, you get what you pay for but we had stayed in far superior hostels throughout our holiday on the East Coast. The bathroom door did not lock & there was a cockroach in the shower. There as a party going on which seemed like all night and the common room of our house? Well, I'll let my photograph explain that one!

I must say however, the girl we met on the front desk was friendly & helpful, it was the house, furnishing & cleanliness I had the problem with.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here for a few nights on either side of a Fraser Island tour so I will write my experiences separately to illustrate my rating.
First arrival seemed positive, it looked friendly and casual and we checked in after a short wait for the woman on reception to return. We found out we'd been billed for the first night already?! but it didn't really matter in the long run. We were given our keys and wished a good day. The rooms all have names instead of numbers and we had to prompt the lady to tell us where our room actually was, she didn't offer this information.
The room was nice, comfortable beds and one reading light above one of the beds, but otherwise just an average dorm. We cooked some dinner and then realised that they don't provide any plates/bowls/cutlery. Thankfully we travel with our own, so used those. At the end of our second day we overheard from somebody else that you could get them from reception, but they close at 6:30pm so not incredibly helpful. Again, information missing from the check-in!!
On our second day we rented kayaks which were free of charge and had a great time and then chilled out in the clean pool area. The next day we had a tour so we woke up at 6am, but the fridges were locked until 7:30. Very annoying as we had to eat dry toast using bread from the free food section. Locking the fridges overnight was just an inconvenience.
When we returned after 2 nights of camping on the beach we were looking forward to a comfortable experience. Unfortunately arriving at 8pm meant we had to go to the bar to check in and the lady running it was friendly, but when I got to the room to find the remaining bed had scrumpled up sheets and were a little sandy, I was just given extra sheets and so had to change the bedding myself.
I then went to use the showers and the lights didn't work, so had to do it in darkness. The showers constantly flittered between hot and cold and high and low pressure. Our room this time was located next to the noisy bar area, thankfully I had ear plugs! The rooms are also quite hot as the fans weren't too powerful and the communal area had a TV which was constantly blaring one film after another even at 11pm or 7am, again the earplugs came in handy!!
Overall, the rating is held up by the comfort of the beds and the free kayak hire. Mend the bathroom fixtures, sort out the welcomes and information given during check-in, make the kitchen more 'user-friendly' and introduce no-noise policies and this place would get a much higher rating.

Room Tip: Avoid Rainbow. Sunset is further from the hostel noise and a good choice (if you get one).
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Sharing the sentiment of another reviewer.. we were given a double room called "Pandanas" that was obviously usually a staff member's quarters.. and it really ruined our stay. Our first impression of the backpackers was that it looked clean, had a pretty garden and modern looking facilities. Check-in was straight forward, though there was a $20 key deposit and we forgot to purchase use of towels. The room was upstairs in a building labelled "for management and staff only". As we carried our things through to our room, there were a bunch of guys playing video games. They said hello and said they all worked there. Once in the room, again, it seemed fine for the price paid - $70. A simple room with a double bed, basic bedding and no size tables or anything else.. just a bin in the corner. Looking for the bathroom, it was an unappealing communal bathroom which felt odd to be sharing with all the staff of the hotel. We went downstairs to look at the bar, which seemed to have some good drink specials, and look at the other facilities, but no one really took any notice of us or offered any assistance. It seemed a bit of a ghost town, so we decided to head to the main street of Noosa for the evening. Upon our return, we came back to our 'staff quarters' to find one of the staff members curled up asleep on the lounge with all his belongings next to him. Once again reminding us that we had obviously kicked someone out of their room - and now we felt guilty, despite being paying guests! We head to bed, and with the bed not seeming too bad, we didn't think our night's sleep would be too awful either. We were wrong. We have now nicknamed the place "the hell hole" because we did not get even an hour's sleep that night. We were kept awake by a very slow moving screechy fan that sounded like it was about to break off and land on you (so we slept with pillows on our faces as protection/noise blocker) - but you had to have it on because even with the window open to bring in a nighttime breeze, it was stifling hot upstairs! The room being positioned next to the driveway also meant we were kept up by partygoers and loud motorbikes. Sunrise came and we realised we didn't have towels, the bathroom looked dirty and we were just very happy to leave the place even without showering! No one said a word to us as we checked out. Really missed that 'backpackers friendliness and fun' vibe everyone usually raves about. Won't be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blueberry_Carrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews