We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a try”
Review of La Riviera Bistro

La Riviera Bistro
Ranked #6 of 109 Restaurants in Noosaville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$26
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to La Riviera Bistro! Frederic cooks french traditional meals from our beautiful country for lunch and dinner and we have a selection of French Drinks; from traditional Aperitifs, to wines, beers, sparkling and of course Digestifs... We are a small venue of 35 seats on the Noosa River by the Colonial Resort, 239 Gympie Terrace, located on a upper level from the foot path, so keep your eyes up and look for the blue/white/red Umbrellas. We are open mostly Wednesdays to Sundays for Lunch and Dinner but occasionally on Tuesday nights as well during the busy season, like school holidays. As we are the owners operating the business, we occasionally close throughout the year, please look up on our website or Facebook page for more details. We look forward in welcoming you!
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very personal and friendly service. Lovely, authentic french food (southern France). Coffee was only average. Prices very reasonable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    94
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I stopped in here to find the place booked out for a function. I was allowed to order and as the big party were starting to leave they were happy for me to stay to eat. The food was lovely and fresh and the coffee excellent. All the staff were helpful and welcoming.
A great way to start my holiday.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nz
Level Contributor
240 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 478 helpful votes
“Better food and more choice under new owners”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The friendly new French owners have expanded the menu of this little cafe which produces excellent French food in the evening. Reasonable menu prices coupled with being totally byo mean very good value for money.

We went twice on this visit. The first time we had Garlic Prawns and Pate and Terrine Maison for entrees and shared dishes. Both were absolutely first class. For mains I had Boeuf Bourguignon and he had the Lamb and Speck Casserole. We had no trouble demolishing our choices - they were very good. We shared sides of green vegetables and potatoes gratin.

On our second visit we decided to share the Pate and Terrine for a starter. It’s a most generous dish served with plenty of good French bread.

For mains this time I chose the Roasted Pork fillet with Apple and Mustard sauce, while he chose the Bouillabaisse. They were both pleasant, but to be honest they were a disappointment compared with our meals on the first occasion.

We shared Crepes Suzettes for a dessert.

We like this little restaurant and think it offers different food and excellent value. We recommend it and will eat there again when we next visit Noosaville. Make sure you book – it is only tiny and is very popular, so it’s best to go early and order before the kitchen gets too busy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nzlilibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Real food at realistic prices”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Small and unassuming, this cafe/restaurant has good coffee, the best mille-feuille I've tasted, and a happy atmosphere. We dropped in for morning tea but went back for dinner that night. The coq au vin, beouf bourgignon and fish were unquestionably French but with a lighter touch that suited our palates. Service by the French owners (one of whom is the chef) was excellent and the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yum!!!!!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Initially we dismissed La Riveria, as it looks like a cafe and we were after an evening meal. After a walk around Noosaville and seeing endless "Pizza and Pasta" joints, we headed back to try out luck. We were very glad that we did. The French hostess and owner immediately explained to us that this was home styled French food, and that the food was simple and good, and it was. We had the pate, sadly better than mine, and the snails for entree, under $15 each. For main we had Bouillabaisse and Confit of Duck with delicious orange sauce, both in the mid $20 range. The duck and the pate were the standout dishes, but it was all delicious. The chef came out and discussed the pate recipe with me and he was as personable as his lovely wife. Thank you so much, best meal I have had out in ages.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pennie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Riviera Bistro also viewed

 

Been to La Riviera Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing