We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip advisor recommendation”
Review of La Riviera Bistro

La Riviera Bistro
Ranked #6 of 110 Restaurants in Noosaville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$28
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to La Riviera Bistro! Frederic cooks french traditional meals from our beautiful country for lunch and dinner and we have a selection of French Drinks; from traditional Aperitifs, to wines, beers, sparkling and of course Digestifs... We are a small venue of 35 seats on the Noosa River by the Colonial Resort, 239 Gympie Terrace, located on a upper level from the foot path, so keep your eyes up and look for the blue/white/red Umbrellas. We are open mostly Wednesdays to Sundays for Lunch and Dinner but occasionally on Tuesday nights as well during the busy season, like school holidays. As we are the owners operating the business, we occasionally close throughout the year, please look up on our website or Facebook page for more details. We look forward in welcoming you!
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great trip advisor recommendation”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Looking for somewhere for lunch being foreign to the area, what do you do call on TA
This place is rated no 1 in Noosaville and now we know why.
Great food, great prices and service. Although being winter it was a little understaffed but we didn't care. 4 of us ate there 3 settling for the Boullabaise and my wife the Duck L'orange, wow what a sauce. The seafood Boullabaise was really nice, the broth full of flavour, complimented with very fresh seafood and beautifully cooked fish. It is bring your own wine and we didn't get charged corkage, great benefit. I will go back and try the traditional beef bourbignon and the lamb dish also sounded with a try. Then the sweets, awesome, what more can I say. I think my wife is returning daily for the crepes. So we bought some cakes to take home after a wonderful lunch. Also the vista is lovely looking out over the river.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    95
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful French Food & Excellent Service”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Small cafe run by a lovely young french couple who obviously take pride in, and enjoy what they do. The food was absolutely superb, and the service timely, warm and friendly. We went with friends who love France and everything French especially the food, they are not easily impressed but were very pleasantly surprised to find this cafe even better than their last visit 18 months ago, when it had different owners. Overall a really enjoyable evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An exceptional dining experience”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Melanie and Frederic's Cafe provided my wife and I with a most enjoyable dining experience last night at many levels. First, the food was of a very high standard, well presented - we enjoyed sharing the pate/terrine starter and my wife had the bouillabaisse while I had the fish of the day (snapper en papillote) before we finished with a shared Paris Brest and coffee. Second, the warm, caring attention given by the owners to the diners, individually, to make sure everything was just right. Third, I was impressed by the willingness of Melanie to talk about the food and its cultural setting in such a relaxed and open way. As others have commented, Noosavile has gained a little gem in Lar Riviera.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yarrahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good quality French food”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A pleasant, simple little venue with a warm friendly feel to it. Very good authentic French food prepared by a French chef and served by Melanie his wife. Not a large choice but what was on offer was very good quality. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would definitely go there again.
NOTE this restaurant is BYO make sure to take your wine with you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Australians2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic meal, great value & outstanding service”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We came here for dinner during a week's stay in Noosaville. The food and service are just outstanding, from the time we made the booking to the cheerful hostess, Melanie, farewelling us good bye.

The French Bistro menu is simple and very generous in serving. We ordered a bouillabisse and a duck a l'orange dish. The seafood was really fresh, and the chef gave us an extra duck leg because he thought our one serve of meaty duck leg was...wait, get this, too small. What kind of bistro place does that?? :) And the baguette served for entree is to die for, so crusty, pillowy soft and aromatic, all at the same time.

Will definitely return to this place again if we're ever in Noosa. Also keen to visit on a day time so we can try out their cakes and pastries.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milanih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Riviera Bistro also viewed

 
Noosaville, Noosa
Noosaville, Noosa
 

Been to La Riviera Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing