We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced & terrible food” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Izakaya Geisha Japanese Restaurant - CLOSED

Izakaya Geisha Japanese Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$27
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Contemporary Japanese Cuisine prepared by experienced chefs Fine dining Children friendly Free WiFi Fully licensed
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over priced & terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

So disappointing to pay top dollar and to receive below average food, like the fake 'crab' roll. And to leave hungry after having a six course degustation. Some of the dishes were inedible. The service was also very disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Sheree J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    17
    6
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a lunch for two and it was interesting and nice, fresh food. They don't have a liquor license yet so we took our own wine which makes for a cheaper experience.

We had the fried pork dumplings, the scallop salad, the omlette, and prawn tempura with rice. All Yum. The gentleman who served us was helpful and efficient. We thought it very reasonably priced, which makes a change especially for Japanese. One of us booked for the next night.

We'll be back soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good lunch specials”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Came here for lunch and had some great lunch specials going. Japanese curry and tempura prawns were a great price for the quality and quantity. I think without the specials I may not have enjoyed it as much but they really did make it a good meal at a good price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lachlan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We took our 10 year old daughter to Geisha a couple of nights ago. My husband has had over 25 years in the hospitality industry, we have become fussy over the years when it comes to good service and good food. After living in Melbourne for most of our lives, we have high expectations when we dine out. We have been to many restaurants on the Sunshine Coast as well as Noosa and to be honest, very few would I recommend. Geisha is one of the few I would suggest people try. The menu clearly states "Japanese with a Chefs Twist". It's hard to get good Japanese up here but we have found a place where we can. The food was fresh, beautifully presented and the menu clearly explains the dishes. Even our 10 year old daughter loved it and can't wait to go back. Our bill came to a total of $101 and we left feeling satisfied. In actual fact, a girlfriend and I plan on having a ladies lunch there very soon. Can't wait!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not so happy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have just returned home from Geisha, was so looking forward to dinner here, our daughter offered to take us out. There were five of us and we took our own wine. Looked at the menu which was not available On trip advisor and was surprised
THe cost $21 for chicken sushi roll. Ordered dinner thinking it must be amazing for the price, unfortunately it was not. The food was good but not $225 good for 5 people who all walked out hungry and disappointed. Sorry we are local but would not promote this restaurant to anyone one else.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank fiona b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Izakaya Geisha Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Noosa, Sunshine Coast
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing