We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight at Cainbable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lamington National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cainbable Mountain Lodge
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overnight at Cainbable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Great place. Hosts were incredibly welcoming and kind, including fresh muffins that were about the best I've had. Cabins were nice and well positioned in relation to Lamington walks and the view from the top of the property (where the brave can BBQ) is wonderful, especially at sunrise and sunset. Very affordable compared to others and well worth a stay. Give it a go.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tugun, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Cainbable Mountain Lodge is a collection of cottages on a scenic rim near Lamington National Park. The accommodation would have been excellent if it had been cleaner. It did not look like the floors under the beds or other furniture have been dusted or swept since the place opened. The host was very nice, the price was very affordable, and the location is fantastic, just please give it a good cleaning. If you have allergies or asthma you will be sneezing and coughing all night. Too bad! I hope the owners clean up.

Room Tip: Unit 1 has a gorgeous view over the valley and large veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Molly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

The perfect place to wind down and use as a base to explore the beauty of Lamington forest and its wildlife. The cabins are basic but comfortable and the new Cabin 1 has the most amazing verandah and view of the valley. Geoff is the perfect host who is invisible when not required and when not bearing fresh bread and muffins as welcome gifts. You can see wallabies and birds from the cabins. No TVs, no swimming pools, no spa baths - this is not a resort, it is a hideaway to refresh and enjoy the natural surroundings. This was our 3rd or 4th stay and we utilised two cabins for a family reunion for 12 people - it was absolutely perfect and we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milo524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We got invited to a wedding at O'Reillys Rainforest Retreat, and after looking at the prices there and realising they had a two-night minimum, we looked elsewhere.

Cainbable Mountain Lodge is the closest accommodation to O'Reillys, it's about 14 km away, 14 winding, narrow kilometres with amazing views on the way up. During the day it probably takes 25-30 minutes because you have to stop and give way to oncoming traffic a lot, but at night when it's not nearly as busy, it took about 15 minutes.

We booked Chalet 2, which was fitted out with a kitchen, bathroom, fireplace and has a loft with 3 beds - one queen and two singles. It was self-contained and very roomy. The inside is wood-panelling and the loft roof has gorgeous exposed beams. The whole place is charming.

It's important to keep in mind that this is not hotel accommodation, and that the property relies on rainwater. Because of this, you need to bring your own bed linen, towels and food, but this doesn't take away from the experience and it saves on water and on money (for you!).

When we arrived, we drove in, found our chalet, and unpacked before going up to the main house to pay. Waiting for us on the bench was home-made peanut bread and berry muffins, and the reception we got from the owners was very warm. The property is very big and there are often kangaroos and wallabies bounding around quietly. Even though we were right next to the road up to O'Reillys, the peace of the surrounding area was rarely broken, something that was added to by the lack of a TV.

We didn't spend very long at the chalet because we were attending the wedding most of the day, but the time we spent there was lovely. The atmosphere created by the warm furnishings, fireplace and wood finish was very romantic, and I would love to return and spend longer there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank femcastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamington National Park
6.9 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
5.1 mi away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
11.5 mi away
Christmas Creek Cafe`& Cabins
Christmas Creek Cafe`& Cabins
#5 of 5 in Lamington National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Clouds on Beechmont
Clouds on Beechmont
#2 of 3 in Beechmont
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
8.5 mi away
Worendo Cottages
Worendo Cottages
#1 of 1 in Darlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cainbable Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cainbable Mountain Lodge

Property: Cainbable Mountain Lodge
Address: 2221 Lamington National Park Road | Cainbable, Lamington National Park, Queensland 4275, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Lamington National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Lamington National Park
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic chalets located in the Lamington National Park eucalypt forest. Fully self contained and self catered houses feature wood floors, exposed ceilings and the ability to relax in front of the fireplace after a long day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing