We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ideal retreat!”
Review of Cave Rock Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lamington National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cave Rock Cottages
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“The ideal retreat!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Cave Rock Cottages are located on Christmas Creek not far off the Mount Lindsay Highway. They are the perfect place for a quiet retreat, especially if you enjoy bushwalking, poking around in the creek or just relaxing and feeding the birds, reading, or playing games. We are in our 70's and loved every minute, but it is a great get-away for young couple and for families. The cottages are well separated, and you feel as if you have the place to yourself. Gary and Gayle are excellent hosts who provide everything you may need, yet do not intrude on your relaxation. Juat a wonderful place to relax.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcaverocker, Owner at Cave Rock Cottages, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Ian,
We try very hard to provide exactly what you found here. We so enjoyed you and Coralie staying here with us at Cave Rock Cottages, and are looking forward to seeing you both here again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Gary and Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

If relaxation and peace is what you need then Cave Rock Cottages is the place to stay.
We have been returning to Cave Rock Cottages over the last couple of years for a peaceful and relaxing get-a-way. This beautiful, tranquil place not too far from Brisbane is ideal for a weekend or longer stay. Truthfully, a weekend is not long enough and we never want to leave.
We love the peaceful surroundings, the beautiful birds who visit frequently, the rippling sound of the creek, the Wallabies and other wildlife. Cave Rock Cottages are affordable, spotlessly clean and have everything you need for a comfortable stay.
Gary and Gayle are perfect friendly hosts who do all they can to make sure their guests have the best time in this private and secluded place.
The lack of intrusion by the outside world is a BIG plus - no internet, no mobile phone reception, and no television. You don't need any of these things. There is plenty of interesting reading material, music, bush walks, bird watching, and a creek with a swimming hole. You can do as little or as much as you wish.
Cave Rock Cottages is the perfect to unwind, relax and rejuvenate. We will be back again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both Cottages 'Lakeside' and 'Christmas Creek' and we have enjoye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcaverocker, Owner at Cave Rock Cottages, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Margaret and Ken,
Thank you so much for those kind words. It has been a pleasure to welcome you back each time you come. Thank you for your advice as well on many matters. Look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Gary and Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My partner and I often have trouble slowing down so we decided to stay at Cave Rock for a 3 day weekend that we both had off from work. What we found was a great and relaxing experience corner of the world that we would definitely recommend it to others. We’re already looking for a chance to go back.

We arrived in the afternoon to smiling faces (and a very friendly dog) who provided us with information about the surrounding areas and various relaxing activities that we could partake in.

We stayed in the spa cottage which included a handful of niceties that aren’t always standard. We spent hours in the spa and could sit on the balcony watching the birds in the morning or just lay in bed. We climbed up to Cave Rock and went for a swim in the creek which was a great way to get moving. We didn’t get a chance to try the fireplace, but are hoping to have the chance when winter rolls around.

The lack of television in the room and comfortable distance from Mount Tamborine really helped us to get away from normal life. The onsite massage therapist also helped us to relax as I almost fell asleep on the bed.

All in all I found that Cave Rock was great because of the freedom. We could do as much or as little as we wanted and owners were more than happy to help us achieve that. It’s not a feeling that I find often and I would love to return the next chance we get.

Room Tip: The spa cottage was great. Many hours were spent in that spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcaverocker, Owner at Cave Rock Cottages, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Greg and Shona,
Wow! What a lovely review. Thank you so much, and so pleased that you appear to have totally relaxed and enjoyed yourselves here. Makes us fell that we are helping people unwind, relax ,and recharge their batteries. Looking forward to seeing you here in wood-burning weather
Regards
Gary and Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Cave rock cottage couples cabin are a wonderful private peaceful relaxing place to stay, everything you need is provided for you a home away from home. The great water hole for cooling off or take in the beauty of lamington scenery, feed the birds and experience nature by the huge fire pit provided at night and sit and enjoy the stars as you relax with a quiet drink or two. We will definately be back Gary and Gayle are perfect hosts, they leave you in peace or if you want a chat they can help out with any directions to things to do in the area?

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poidam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcaverocker, Owner at Cave Rock Cottages, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Peter and Deb,
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It is a lot of work keeping Cave Rock Cottages to the level that we want it to be, but it is so rewarding to know that our guests enjoy themselves to the extent that you so obviously did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We arrived late at night to a welcoming light. In the morning we awoke to a beautiful country scene out of every window. There was an abundance of bird life and lots of wallabies. We had such a relaxing few days, bush walking, exploring the beautiful rocky creek, sleeping, watching movies and reading the abundance of books provided. The cottage had everything you could possibly need for a home away from home. The owners Gary and Gayle were the loveliest, friendly hosts you could wish for. We were lucky enough to sample some of Gayles beautiful 'Ginger Cake' yum!
I would certainly recommend this lovely hideaway to anyone wanting a beautiful, relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank leonie645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcaverocker, Owner at Cave Rock Cottages, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Leonie and Phil,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We really enjoyed having you stay with us, and it is lovely to know that you enjoyed yourselves. Hopefully see you again some day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

If you are looking to escape the hustle and bustle of city life then this is the place to be. So quiet, peaceful and very soothing for your soul. Amazing scenery that takes your breath away, fantastic bush walks, and wildlife like you've never seen before. Relaxing and unwinding is so easy to do here and that is exactly what we needed. The cottages are so cosy and warm you will never want to leave. I know we didn't want to! By far the most secluded and romantic place we have ever stayed. So thank you Gayle and Gary for sharing your wonderful home with us and we will be sure to come back time and time again.
Warmest regards

Hemi and Kate

ps Loved the beautifully hand picked flowers on our table...its the little things that matter the most...

p

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HnK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcaverocker, Owner at Cave Rock Cottages, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We so enjoyed your stay with us, and hopefully will see you again-- in winter next time, for "sitting by the fire" season, either outside or inside
Regards
Gary and Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

For the last 2 years we have been to the Lakeside cottage for a 7 to 10 day retreat. It is the perfect place for a time out as there is no internet, no mobile phone reception and no television. You wake in the morning to the sounds of birds and cows and the gurgling creek in the distance. The cottage is always spotlessly clean with everything you need for a comfortable break away. Our stays have been in Winter so we really enjoy stoking the fire every night.
Lakeside cottage is in the shadow of Cave Rock. It's an easy, uphill, walk to the rock and you are rewarded with lovely views to the valley below. There are lots of other walks and things to do but we usually choose to do very little.
I don't know why we are writing this as we don't want too many people to discover our secret retreat!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gjlpfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcaverocker, Owner at Cave Rock Cottages, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hi,
Just wanted to let you know that we saw your review in Trip Advisor, and were so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves so much. Hope to see you again soon
Regards
Gary and Gayle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamington National Park
7.0 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
0.5 mi away
Christmas Creek Cafe`& Cabins
Christmas Creek Cafe`& Cabins
#5 of 5 in Lamington National Park
13 reviews
11.0 mi away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Springbrook Lyrebird Retreat
Springbrook Lyrebird Retreat
#1 of 3 in Springbrook
40 reviews
24.8 mi away
Camelot Cottages
Camelot Cottages
#4 of 6 in North Tamborine
130 reviews
24.3 mi away
Wallaby Ridge Retreat
Wallaby Ridge Retreat
#2 of 7 in Canungra
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cave Rock Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave Rock Cottages

Property: Cave Rock Cottages
Address: 2835 Christmas Creek Rd, Lamington National Park, Queensland 4285, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Lamington National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Lamington National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave Rock is a peaceful mountain and creek retreat, ideal for a back to nature family holiday, or a quiet, romantic, couples getaway. A very scenic one and a half hour drive from Brisbane and the Gold Coast has you arriving at Cave Rock in a very relaxed state of mind, eager to explore the wilderness section of Lamington N.P., and our 1km stretch of pristine Christmas Creek. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing