We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“potters- bowl or not to bowl that is the question!!!”
Review of Potters Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopton on Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Potters Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 March 2011

i have been going to potters for 21 years, i have been there 50+ times so have seen the good and the bad and have noticed its declining more and more.........

FOOD:
rating= good: plenty of it, but the menu needs updating as it been the same menu for the last five years. spacing between tables is getting less n less as they are cramping more people in, which is then making the poor waitresses/ waiters have more tables to serve which means waiting longer for your meals.
there is a help yourself counter which caters for the most popular of meals roasts, currys etc...... but 80% of people wanting the same food as you at the same time equals masses of ques


DAYTIME ENTERTAINMENT:
entertainment= poor: same programme again for the last five years .
air rifel shooting in the morning and archery in the afternoon one day and visa versa the next day and so on........
quizes we win at will because we have done the same for years and years that we now no all the answers and sometimes put the wrong answers to save ourselves embarassment of getting them all right.


EVENING ENTERTAINMENT:
extreamely poor: althought the potters theatre company is good at 9;45.............from 7.30 to 9.45 it is mainly catered for peple over 65. this is midweek, avoid potters at all cost if you are under 65 and its a bowls week which is 75 % of the year.
the entertainment from 7.30 starts with ballroom dancing, then bingo which leads on to more ballroom dancing ( barndance, waltz, tango, foxtrots etc) until 9.30. i am in my 50's my children are in there 20's where is the variety part for us?????? there is suposidly a 15 min disco but disco is not the word i would use!! mainly songs rock n roll and the 60's which is not the disco era.
we have now got to the point where we take in our own entertainment ie; ipods, deck of cards or handheld consoles to save us from being bored.
10.45 the potter theatre company finishes and in 1 bar you have a quiet sit down area where you can wind dwn before bed time or another bar you have a old man on a piano is that late night entertainment?????
my daughter is 25 and was goin to bed before midnight and sober , yet didnt she pay full price like the rest!!!


BUILDING MAINTINANCE- FURNISHING:
rating=basic.
the whole place needs abit of tlc, you have potholes in the car parks, leaks in the ceiling if its been raining, chipped tiles in the swimming pools.
for the amount of time you spend sitting in the bars either drinking, doing quizes, or when watching the theatre company the chairs you are sitting in are far from comfortable, they are metal with lack of cusion.
my wife is a smoker so i notice the smoking area is also poor, they have table and chairs with a heated unberella this is great except that the heater is on a timer and only comes on at night!! so when we stayed there when it snowed we had to wrap up well before going out there for 5mins. it was dirty,ash tray bins changed non exsistant!!


BARS:
overpriced, to many foreign students as bar staff not being able to understand your order.
they have extented the bar which was fantastic but havent paid out for staff to cover it so you spend a fair bit of time queing.

STAFF:
rating: amazing
we have been there so many times that alot of the people there now are not staff they are friends and they do an amazing job and deserve more credit then what they get.
management on the other hand are non exisistant when it comes to complaints!! you see them having little meeting in the bars or coffee during the day not about at night. but when there is a problem they are nowhere to be seen. when i had problems in feb i had to give details to the reception staff to pass on to management. i even left a day early to return home i had, had enough so when i got home called again same problem noone to come to the phone left a message with the receptionist and then got a call the next day from someone from management but where was he when i wanted to speak to him face to face.

WEEKEND;
rating; ok
weekends there are great if you like it abit loud and roudy, crowded, its more for hen/ stag nights, celebrations etc i have stayed a couple of times for one night specials and have gone to bed seeing people being sick, urinating in plant pots, then waking up to trees upside down

SUMMERY;
i was intending on spending my hard earn cash on a get away for july and september i have now put that on hold after my bad experience in feb (which was my 30th wedding anniversary which i paid £928 for 5 day and all i did was complain). if things do not change i will be looking elsewhere for a holiday and wont be returning to potters which is a shame as i have had many great holidays there, my children have grown up knowing potters and was hoping one day the grankids would enjoy it to.
but potters biggest problem is its a holiday catered bascially for the elderly they get a great package many bowls greens to play on, old quizes, a great evening with dancing and singing its great for them but we also pay the same price if not more (when you pay for the hotel, ten pin bowling, shooting, arcades).
i have complained many times that we want to get away for a week where we are catered for not just a weekend. and are force with a choice of having it old and boring during the week or crazy and roudy at the weekend theres not variety which was what potters used to be about something for everyone.
at the moment they have special guests and stars like xfactor finalists, comedians etc but its all at the weekend nothing for the week.
i have told senior management that i will be coming again in december to see if things have improved, if they have not this is the end.

WARNING:
if you are are under 65 avoid at all cost the weeks with any mention of bowls as you will be very disappointed
and if you go for a weekend whatever age be prepared for loud, roudy, sillyness

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Welling_KentDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,550)
There are newer reviews for Potters Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,426 - 4,432 of 4,550 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2011

Stayed only 1 night, but partner had stayed twice before. We stayed in a bungalow, which is a chalet, but quiet and comfortable. The double bed was smaller than I am used to. We were in L96 which was by the football pitch. Had a go on the go carts which was fun but only had a very short turn after waiting 40 minites as only one cart is permitted on the circuit at any one time. Swimming pool is too small, really a leisure pool and too many kids. The gym is excellent, and if you are into bowls then this is the place for you. Entertainment was again brill and the drinks in the bar are at a reasonable price, compared with London anyways. Food was very good and the staff in the restaurant, reception and particularly Sue the cleaning lady were helpful and polite. A special thanks to the gym staff who looked after my partners' injured hand.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertPEEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at Potters with our bowling club. We had the most fantastic week. All our needs were catered for in every single aspect. This holiday was such good value. We had previoulsy stayed when the World Bowls was in progress and saw some great bowls and famous names in the bowling world. We can't praise Potters enough the Food is second to none and each and every member of staff does their utmost to please. The Entertainment is first class each and every evening. Daytime has always something to amuse and entertain. We have been five times this year , ~Two 2 week stays and twice just overnight or day trip. Great can't get enough, Looking forward to booking again soon.

Brenda and Terry Stacey

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We visit Potters for the Sports Coaching break during February half term and have done for the last 10 years. There is so much to do everyday for all ages. We travel with Grandparents, parents, Aunty, Uncle and of course children in our party of 10. The 'children' now inlcude 2 that are 17years old but they still want to go back. We stay in the chalets that are not quite as luxurious as the hotel but more than satisfactory and look forward to the fabulous food produced in the restaurant each day. No one can ever go hungry here no matter how fussy you are, something for everyone. The good thing is that all activites and food is included in the price and there is no need to spend additional money and so represents excellent value for money.
A word of warning about Potters, don't go there unless you like to have fun!! You can join in and enjoy taking part in lots of activites or chill around the pool during the day and then experience the Potters Theatre company at night and the hilarity that goes side by side with that team. Great customer service. We will be back next year.
Lesley, Wendy and The Stoke-on-Trent Potters

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

A truly 5 star establishment. From reception (the first impression) to departure (the lasting impression) an excellent experience. All staff were friendly helpful and seemed genuinely pleased to see us, The Theatre and entertainment is of East end PLUS grade and the food and facilities are wonderful. For an establishment catering for so many the job they do is incredible. If I have a criticism it would be the Bowlers bar tends to be a bit chilly and sometimes draughty however the many other options available more than made up for that. The Black Rock grill is an experience not to be missed if you have any room left for more food. Very exclusive but well worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobsmith565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Had a great time as usual. We've now been to Potters 5 times and enjoyed it every time. Staff, entertainment, food and activities cannot be faulted.
We have stayed in the summer and winter and there is always plenty to do in good or bad weather.
We have stayed in 3 different acccomodation types and they have all been excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coggseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We started using POTTERS about 5 years ago, and have never looked back, You will not beet them on, Cleanliness, Customer Service, Value for Money, The Entertainment is West End Quality, The Food and Restaurants always deliver the highest of standards, There is always something going on, and unlike other leisure breaks that claim to offer the same, it's all in with the price you pay no extra for this and extra for that !!
You will really enjoy the whole Potters experience.
Highly recommended, as a family run business you wont find better.
Potters employ 1 member of staff for every 1.5 guests, you will not want for anything,
My one and only gripe is, I never get enough holiday to spend more time at the resort !!!
* * * * * From the Wall Family, Enjoy

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-Wall-Family_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopton on Sea
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,076 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
353 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
514 reviews
24.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
891 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Resort

Address: Coast Road, Hopton on Sea NR31 9BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hopton on Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Hotel Class:5 star — Potters Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Potters Leisure Hotel Hopton On Sea
Hotel Potters Leisure
Potters Resort Norfolk/Hopton On Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing