We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Potters Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopton on Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Potters Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We have recently returned from you 3rd trip to potters and I must admit, I was dissappointed this year. There was less acivities for the older boys such as laser quest and ballon pooling, so much for young children, This really needs to be addressed. The Zootastic visit has been reduced to once a week, when I personally look forward to that being a animal lover. The evening entertainment was very very similar to last year and no famous acts visited where previously we had Wanger ( as bad as he was) and Spelbound. Potters are putting prices up year on year but the vaule has deffinetly gone down.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewarts1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,258
    572
    157
    41
    46
See reviews for
1,482
1,066
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

just returned from another great week at potters.we were with a bowling party from wansbeck club this is our 3rd time there and and it reached all our expectations.great food, great accommodation and the entertainment was second to none.it was nice to see the same faces we have met there playing bowls.Thankyou once again potters for making our week memorable see you all next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank molly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

As a disabled person I found Potters very accessible and the staff were excellent. My one complaint would be that the toilets in the Black Rock Grill are downstairs and when dining and then needing to go to the toilet in a wheelchair it was not at all accessible. The doors were difficult to open and then had to go downstairs in a lift and the toilets were right at the end of the corridor. As someone who suffers with a bladder/bowel complaint as part of my MS I found that this was not acceptable.
The food in the Black Rock Grill was lovely and the waitress was fantastic but I have to say that the location of the toilet meant that this spoilt the evening for me.

Other than that for the first time having visited Potters we really enjoyed ourselves and the facilities, staff and entertainment (Potters Entertainment Team were fab) were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PavAshford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Everything at potters very good.only one thing we were a little bit disappointed with was the food.breakfast fine starters fine main course disappointing expected something a bit more . Very modest food . Food taken from service area not hot enough and not much imagination gone into menu. Have been to potters years ago and was disappointed with food this time.otherwise very good

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BerylRiches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We have now stayed 4 times in 5 years (for 2, 2, 3 and 4 night breaks in mixed age groups of 9, 13, 7 and 7 people respectively). Our latest visit was the end of August Great British weekend break. Although designed for adults there were still a small number of children. There was also a large indoor short bowls tournament. A combination of these two factors meant there were fewer organised activities and these organised activities and the sports facilities were all less crowded. Again we hired a wheelchair for a disabled elderly relative. The site is relatively flat and the hired wheelchair easily pushed across the sports field to the cliff top overlooking an empty beach. However, a large number of other guests were not very wheelchair aware - maybe the Para olympics will help! The selection of food is very good, but I thought there were fewer items on the menu than last year. The food quality remains good considering it is produced for so many at one sitting. The evening entertainment is traditional, good old family fun (seaside humour, singing and dancing) and of a consistently high standard. Accomodation is comfortable, particularly the chalets (Bungalow Plus) that have been recently refurbished. Hotel rooms are very large - some of the largest double rooms that we have seen anywhere. There is always something to do whether it is a sport, a quiz, an activity or just relaxing. Staff remain a Potters key asset and they are extremely friendly and helpful. Mark Brewer and Richard are consistently good. In fact I think Mark Brewer is the heart and soul of Potters - what would happen without him?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_B-Billericay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

This is a very friendly warm family run holiday centre. The facilities are excellent with something for everyone. We particularly enjoy the big band weeks. Potters also has a first rate show group of ther own. The food is very good with 3 good meals a day if you can manage it! The acommodation of small bungalows which are very well maintained and an excellent hotel. It iis situated right on the coast with the grounds running down to the sea, Spa facilities are available., swimming pool, gym ,hair dresser and beauty treatments. An excellent place to relax. We have been visiting Potters for approx 10 years and feel it is home from home
IF you play bowls this is the place for you but there many other attractions

Room Tip: We have not used the hotel but it is very good with rooms with balconys. B ungalows plus have a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

I spent 2 days at Potter's leisure centre....31/8/12-02/09/12, booked courtesy of a friend who very kindly invited me for her soon-to-be daughter-in-laws parents 38th wedding anniversary.
Going through the weekend
Friday 31/8/12
.Check-in fine, chalet fine
.The whole party ( 6 of us) met for dinner at 7.15 on our first night. Service was slow and we waited 15 mins for our starters. We were barely half way through them when we were asked for our mains (in most restaurants I have been to, starters and mains are taken at the same time). Another 15 minute wait,barely into our main course and we were being hassled for our dessert choice and it was quite clear to me (if not the rest of the party) that they wanted us out of the restaurant....i.e...a production line.
The evening entertainment could not be faulted...Potter's Theatre company did an amazing job with the remit they had been given..Best of Britain....such energetic young people with a real idea of pleasing the crowd.
Saturday 1/09/12
My friend and I went in to breakfast at 9.15....we were on holiday and after the last nights dancing felt a need to lie-in, and also had understood from the brocuchure that breakfast would be served until 10am.
Our welcome pack said we would be offerred a range of fruit juices but this only happened when a member of our party pointed out that we had not been offered these, plus tea and coffee which were very slow in coming.
We had to scrabble around from other tables for a pot of jam or Flora/butter , our waitress being to busy with the massive clearing upj ob.
The hot buffet choice of food was mostly cold....who would eat cold mushrooms, cold tinned tomatoes, cold fried bread?
The activities offerred were enjoyed by our party....the professionallsm and friendliness of the staff could not be faulted.
And so to lunch...as before,, my friend and I, not being big eaters, pitched up at the Garden restaurant around 1.10pm.
Again, we were faced, with what I can only assume was our tardiness at being late (!) with no starter (I don't think the waitress was at fault...she simply does not have enough time to serve every table).Our mains and dessert were delicious and I have nothing but admiration for the waiting staff/chefs/sommeliers over our 2 day stay but think that this might be enough of a warning for Trip Advisor readers!
Regarding the evening entertainment, this was spoiled by the in-house "comedian", Mark Brewer, who seemed to delight in humiliating people,wiith is ageist/sexist remarks, in fact that seemed to be the only "comedy" that he could do....(nothing racist..but why would he? He's never had to confront a foreign person),..Sadly I can clearly guess what his response would be....
Bottom line is...if you like... bingo in the evenings, comfy chalets, lots of warm water for showers or baths, helpful staff (whether entertainment or sport related), decent food (as much as you like!), a young starry cast in the evening...GO FOR IT.....maybe make up your own jokes?!?!..they might be better than Marks...but he'll never let you know it!!

Room Tip: If you want decent service in a restaurant (by which I mean food that is still warm when the waiter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopton on Sea
20.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
24.7 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
23.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cliff Hotel
Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Resort

Property: Potters Resort
Address: Coast Road, Hopton on Sea NR31 9BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hopton on Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Hotel Class:5 star — Potters Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Potters Leisure Hotel Hopton On Sea
Hotel Potters Leisure
Potters Resort Norfolk/Hopton On Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing