We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Special well worth the money”
Review of Potters Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopton on Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Potters Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for One night drinks inclusive Winter ball. This was my 5th time at Potters, we came with some "newbees" and they loved it as we always do. 5 course eve meal was very good as usual and we had wine included. Drinks inclusive from 6pm till at least 2.30. Entertainment was fab and we loved dancing in the terrace bar till early hours in morn with James singing!! Fab!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clairyjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,017 - 4,023 of 4,986 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed for four days at Potters recently. It is a little dated decoration wise and is showing wear and tear, despite looking like an impressive 5* resort from the outside. We stayed in the hotel part of Potters. The room was large with a balcony. Good sized bathroom with twin sinks and a huge bath. Decoration was poor though...curtains were out of the nineties, the sofas were dirty and the furniture was chipped or scratched.

The restaurant was terrible - regardless of the food being included in the price; we really did not want to eat there! The quality of the food was dire; soggy pastry, vegetables that were bolied to death, dried out salad potatoes or rubbery roast potatoes. Ice-cream was not 'real', yoghurts were sweet imports. Service during the weekend was superb - really attentative staff. During the week the service went downhill; different staff who were not interested in service just the turnover of tables. They really need to think about reinventing their menu offer; it is dated and unappetising!

We played crazy golf and went swimming. Pool is small but as there was not many people in it, it was okay. Sauna and steam room, with areas to relax make this a nice area. Crazy golf is a little challenging as a few of the holes are broken :(

The tourist board should reconsider the classification they give this resort as I do not think it deserves 5 stars!

Room Tip: If you stay in the hotel, there are rooms with views of the sea. You should also bear in mind that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stormyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We have stayed at the Potters resort several times over the years on the CEROC Swish dance Weekends and I can honestly say that this year - 22nd to 24th February 2013 was the worst yet.
The resturant service was appalling, with initially completely getting the table resveration wrong the waitress service then proved to be one of poor verging on rude. One night it was so slow that the selections of starters and mains werent available as they had run out!!
The facilities and rooms at Potters are second to none for this type of resort however with this type of service we certainly won't be returning in a hurry.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I must admit I have been going to Potters for over 30 years and feel that is going downhill. Never thought I would see that day
Restaurant service is not as attentive and food choice not as good. Think some money should be spent on the swimming pool now getting very tired.

Room Tip: hotel is excellent some chalets need refurbishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Just returned from the half term break at Potters , brilliant time again , kids enjoyed all the activites they chose , just so many to do and all in the price . Staff were fantastic , food was great , room was great , any one thinking of a break with children will not be disappointed , so much to do , they will love it . THANKS AGAIN POTTERS .

Room Tip: Family bungalows are better than hotel in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worktoenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Have just had five nights at potters and had a wonderful time yet again. The food was excellent as was the service from our personal waitress. Plenty of activities to chose from. Apart from bowling, I went to the firing and archery ranges, played bingo and the shows were amazing. The latest show - London Calling was superb. Better than any West End show. Costumes and sets top class. Music was very professional. I could go on, but as last year all I can say is - it was all wonderful. Thank you The Potter Family. From Brenda.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This centre offers both hotel accomodation and external bungalow type accomodation in blocks. The hotel is of high standard and the rooms clean, well docorated and fitted out. There are different types of hotel rooms available and these are accurately and well described on Potters website. We cannot comment on the external bungalows as have not stayed in one.

The holiday includes all food with breakfast, lunch, dinner, and even a midnight buffet for the night owls. For breakfast, lunch and dinner there is an good selection of 'brought to your table' items plus a very good buffet. The food is plentiful and of very good standard.

There are several sporting offerings available and most of them are at no extra charge.

There are a number of free activities running daily if you wish to join in. There is bingo and dancing in the theatre every night with a theatre performance at around 21:45. These performance are first class and free.

Prices are varied and there are sometimes offers to be had. When considering value for money you need to remember that nearly everything is included.

We have visited many times over several years and the standard has remain high throughout.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YourEyesandEars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopton on Sea
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
382 reviews
24.7 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
957 reviews
4.5 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
373 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,127 reviews
1.4 mi away
Allseasons Hotels by Tingdene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Resort

Address: Coast Road, Hopton on Sea NR31 9BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hopton on Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Hotel Class:5 star — Potters Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Potters Leisure Hotel Hopton On Sea
Hotel Potters Leisure
Potters Resort Norfolk/Hopton On Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing