We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rates” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Potters Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopton on Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Potters Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile


Reading the review of "Good Value" 6th of March. Reply: I have been to Potters many times in a group,But I have never been given Preferential Rates,We don't get special treatment.We pay the same as any other guest.Potters all ways seem to do their best for all their visitors and when there are mistakes they try their best to correct.


Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,258
    572
    157
    41
    46
See reviews for
1,482
1,066
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Having visited Potters for the first time in nearly 5 years it certainly does not disappoint. Initially I was worried there would not be enough for my four year old son to do as he loves Butlins, but there certainly was more than enough. The go kart driving certainly would have been an extra charge activity at Butlins. Food is excellent with plenty of choice, and the basic bungalow we stayed in was very comfortable and clean but the decor could do with a bit of an update. Entertainment was superb with the in house production team shows rivalling a West End production. Certainly impressed me after all this time, and I will being looking to return again this year. Only thing is that their star breaks seem to cater for the more older customer with the exception of Peter Andre who I wouldn't choose to see in any case. This break had two dancers from Strictly which was very enjoyable.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank ukholidaylover76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

I booked the break for 14 people, some sharing double rooms some singles. On arrival I collected all the keys but 5 different room keys were wrong. I had to go back three different times before I had this sorted.
The holiday was lovely and the whole party enjoyed it, when we returned home they all decided they want to go back plus extra people wanting to come. When we rang to book we were told we couldn't get the same week so wanted to book a week in March which had availability, we was then told we couldn't book because "group" bookings had to be booked first! Why are we of 16 not classed as a group? The information that we were given was really confusing, one person told us to book on Sunday 10th another said Monday 11th? This is the 4th year that I have booked with you, each year bringing more and more people but you are making it harder to book with you, why?

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed for a one night special on the 3rd Feb to see the Len Phillips big band, we had stayed before so knew what to expect normally great accommodation good food and a good nights entertainment, arrived about 5pm to a very nice welcome, we stayed in a room in the hotel which was clean and comfortable apart from the very 'Bouncy' mattress, Not a great fan of the restaurant as it is very crowded with tables so very close together, we asked for a table for two persons it was touching the adjacent table and we could not chat together privately, Evening meal was one big rush of dashing waitresses and waiters, food took simply ages to arrive, we asked for a cracked glass to be replaced which took about 15mins to happen, as the meal took so long we were late into the theatre and missed the beginning of the Len Phillips Band and had to sit right at the back as all the forward seats were taken.
Breakfast in the morning was another mad rush of staff rushing around like headless chickens, I got some cornflakes and could not find any milk, was none on table and none by the buffet, so I asked our waitress for some milk and it took 33mins to arrive, I sat there like a lemon waiting for the milk as did the adjacent table, there are two buffet areas but they were running out of food, toast took like 20mins to arrive, there was no jam or marmalade or milk or butter on our table. This is simple stuff but spoilt our stay.
I am not sure if I can return again as meals were so stressful, I know that they need to cram as many people in the restaurant as possible but they also need enough staff to cope, this has put me right off the place.
So all in all this time we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaydeeNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Stayed the week 11 feb for Bowling Tournament. Have done this for six years and always enjoy it meeting friends there each year. We found everybody more attentive this year and more smiling faces amongst staff. Good breakfast which starts the day off well and other meals generally good although choice has declined over the years and some specific dishes didn't quite live up to previous years(notably the steak and kidney pudding). Booking for the following year is always a bit of a nightmare as clubs seem to get preference and grab all the best hotel rooms and availability never confirmed until during the week we are there. This year we were told someone would ring as soon as booking was possible but they didnt and we had the hell of a job to find rooms close to each other. Fortunately the booking supervisor intervened on our behalf and we achieved a satisfactory conclusion. Feel that bookings should be opened to individuals a week earler than clubs who get preferential rates anyway. As service was so pleasant this year I have kept the Excellent rating although annoyed about the booking situation. Already looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: Anybody with walking difficulties should use the hotel, booking rooms nearest reception and book the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveWLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for One night drinks inclusive Winter ball. This was my 5th time at Potters, we came with some "newbees" and they loved it as we always do. 5 course eve meal was very good as usual and we had wine included. Drinks inclusive from 6pm till at least 2.30. Entertainment was fab and we loved dancing in the terrace bar till early hours in morn with James singing!! Fab!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairyjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed for four days at Potters recently. It is a little dated decoration wise and is showing wear and tear, despite looking like an impressive 5* resort from the outside. We stayed in the hotel part of Potters. The room was large with a balcony. Good sized bathroom with twin sinks and a huge bath. Decoration was poor though...curtains were out of the nineties, the sofas were dirty and the furniture was chipped or scratched.

The restaurant was terrible - regardless of the food being included in the price; we really did not want to eat there! The quality of the food was dire; soggy pastry, vegetables that were bolied to death, dried out salad potatoes or rubbery roast potatoes. Ice-cream was not 'real', yoghurts were sweet imports. Service during the weekend was superb - really attentative staff. During the week the service went downhill; different staff who were not interested in service just the turnover of tables. They really need to think about reinventing their menu offer; it is dated and unappetising!

We played crazy golf and went swimming. Pool is small but as there was not many people in it, it was okay. Sauna and steam room, with areas to relax make this a nice area. Crazy golf is a little challenging as a few of the holes are broken :(

The tourist board should reconsider the classification they give this resort as I do not think it deserves 5 stars!

Room Tip: If you stay in the hotel, there are rooms with views of the sea. You should also bear in mind that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stormyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopton on Sea
20.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
24.7 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
23.9 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cliff Hotel
Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Resort

Property: Potters Resort
Address: Coast Road, Hopton on Sea NR31 9BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hopton on Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Hotel Class:5 star — Potters Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Potters Leisure Hotel Hopton On Sea
Hotel Potters Leisure
Potters Resort Norfolk/Hopton On Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing