We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB TIME, BUT FOOD WAS A LET DOWN!!!!”
Review of Potters Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopton on Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Potters Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This was our first visit to Potters for a friends 50th Birthday. We opted to stay in the hotel, huge room with comfy kingsize bed. The room was a little dated I won't rate the room as 5* more a good 3* . We were in a all inclusive package which was good value if you like a drink. The entertainment was very good. The food however I felt was a let down I can appreciate cooking for large amount of people is demanding, but the restaurant managers need to inspect what is being served. Chicken fajitas were disgusting we all complained, quality of the meat was poor, overlooked veg, also the deserts seemed cheap and cheerful, food in my opinion a disappointment . We would like to return, but would like to see improvements in the kitchen please

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank suziesu28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,493 - 3,499 of 4,665 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed 30/9/13 to 4/10/13. The staff are excellent. The food is excellent. The on site facilities are excellent. Nothing to much trouble at reception. The entertainment is excellent. How Richard keeps up his mojo all day I don't know but what a nice guy who is also excellent in what he does. We looked at the main building rooms which were very nice even though you pay a little extra.
The ***** star rating for the bungalows where we stayed is OTT, they are perfectly adequate but hardly *****.1) No telephone. 2) No toiletries. 3) No hairdryer unless a deposit paid at reception when the hairdryer would be picked up. Deposit returned on return of hairdryer together with Potters receipt. 4) No biscuits in room with tea and coffee making facilities. 5) There was no safe in the room whereas every other ***** hotels we have stayed in have always had safes. 6) No warning that there could be quite a long walk from bungalow accommodation to resteraunt and theatre.
In saying that about the bungalows and the main building, "you pay for what you get". 7) At the very last minute I requested a room with a shower which the staff arranged. The shower cubicle in the bungalow we stayed in was so very small, I was unable to swing my arms let alone a cat. Any ***** resort / hotel I have stayed in (of which there have been many over the years) always had a shower wet room or a shower with glass doors and big enough to move around in comfortably.
Will we go back, definitely, but we will stay in the main building all the time we can afford it. Alternatively, now we have a site map we can pick out the twin bedded bungalow with a shower that is closer to the main facilities.



Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank archie481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have just had our second girlie break at Potters and again we had a fantastic time. The rooms are spacious and clean and the food is excellent. There are lots of activities on offer with great tuition (thanks to Chris who was very entertaining!). The entertainment in the evening is amazing and could easily compete with the West End shows - special thanks to Johnny, Sion, Aaron and Mark. I also had a spa treatment which was very relaxing. We are now looking forward to our next break in the spring.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazzaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

What a wonderfully refreshing place. Clean & tidy with wonderful staff all whom appear to love their job. There is a wonderfully functional pool and small spa and numerous activities, the majority of which are free. The only downside for me was the crazy golf course, which was unkempt and sad looking and the queing for the salad bar (just needs to be accessed via two sides). The entertainment was first class, the drinks good value for money and the food choices and quality was first class. I would highly recommend anyone going to Potters - it's not just for the oldies who play bowls! (Although there were a good number of them there too!).

Room Tip: We were in the hotel & loved the location. The rooms were huge and had a nice balcony to sit upo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TheCochraneFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break to Potters, our first time there. We all absolutely loved it. We are 8 friends who go away together once a year and have been all over the place, BUT I can honestly say that we have never had such an all round brilliant time as we have this weekend!
Top class entertainment, top class food, spacious accommodation and a very reasonably priced Spa!
My friend is the biggest sceptic ever of 'holiday camps' and was convinced that this would be like somthing out of St Trinians, but I have never seen her dance or enjoy the entertainment more than she did at Potters.
We are already planning our next trip!!

Room Tip: Look at all the reviews and go and make up your own mind. You will not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookie1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Potters is a fantastic resort for the whole family and we have been many times. The kids love it - there's so much for them to do with Kids Clubs, great activities, the beach and swimming. For Mum it means no cooking for a week with 3 meals a day included and it's great quality. The evening entertainment is West End standard. Can't recommend Potters highly enough, we'll certainly be going back!

Room Tip: The hotel is newer but more expensive. Bungalow Plus are great for families. Bungalows on the fiel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A well run, good value for money break. Food quality very good with either waiter service or buffet style. A variety of activities with something to suit e erry body. Our chalet was basic but comfortable and although not in the main building, it was a very quiet position close to the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are more convenient, especially if the weather is bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopton on Sea
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,088 reviews
4.5 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
519 reviews
24.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
360 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Resort

Address: Coast Road, Hopton on Sea NR31 9BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hopton on Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Hotel Class:5 star — Potters Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Potters Leisure Hotel Hopton On Sea
Hotel Potters Leisure
Potters Resort Norfolk/Hopton On Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing