We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Potters Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopton on Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Potters Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We went to Potters for the World Bowls Final and stayed for the weekend. It was faultless. The room was clean, airy and warm. The food was exceptional and the choice was amazing. Service in the restaurant was really good and we had no complaints at all. Highly recommend at least a weekend there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budgie060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,316
    580
    159
    41
    46
See reviews for
1,518
1,082
38
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,540)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Went for a weekend away. Found staff ever so good put themselves out. Accommodation was modern & clean, but needs organising ie curtains in the way of the door, stopping from getting out. Not enough shelf room for tea making facility. Entertainment brilliant, saw west end shows , les Miserables, just as good as the west end. Compere was good but , some people could be offended, a bit in your face. Food was not up to 5* standard! a bit bland. So 5* for entertainment & staff. 4* for the rest

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just back from a weekend break at Potters. We stayed in a Deluxe room in the hotel. Clearly I am in the minority here, but there was nothing 5 star about the place! No safe or phone in the room, and the dated furniture looked like it had come from a charity shop.
The food was decidedly average and the restaurant woefully under-staffed. On our last evening we ordered some wine from our waitress, only for her to return to the table empty-handed saying she "couldn't find any bar staff" and would try again later! So no bar in the restaurant then. The restaurant staff are very friendly but some are clearly lacking in basic common sense. When the wine eventually did arrive, no-one thought to bring over any wine glasses. Likewise, having ordered a birthday cake we were handed paper plates (yes, paper!) but no cutlery!
The standard of entertainment was good but that's about the only thing.
I am still struggling to see why everyone rates this place so highly!? In their brochure, Potters proclaim that they are the first "five star holiday village". Could anyone actually tell me who awarded this accolade?
Awful place. Most definitely would not go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonkeyBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just been on a weekend break at Potters, there are no negatives at all. Loads of activities for all ages, rooms in the Hotel are HUGE, staff are so helpful.
The food was really good, four courses a day if you can manage it, and a really good choice available.
The entertainment is superb Mark Brewer is fantastic I laughed until I cried

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

First timers at Potters but definately not the last. Room fantastic very clean modern and huge.
Food plentiful & lovely. All staff very friendly and helpful.Nothing was to much trouble.Lots to do for all age groups. Tip Top entertainment and the comperes were hilarious.
Potters even managed to provide sunshine so we were able to to take a short walk to the beach.
Looking forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

have been before on many occasions ,food is excellent ,entertainment also plenty to do during the day, we took our daughter for the first time and she thought it was awesome, the staff in all departments are very pleasant and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Very friendly and welcoming staff throughout our short stay.
The five course dinner was excellent as was breakfast.
Lunch on the Monday was decidedly average.
We stayed overnight in a chalet which was cosy warm and very clean.
The evening show was excellent but acoustics were not great.
The whole site was extremely clean and tidy.
There is plenty to do sport wise and the sea is only a short distance.
It must noted that bar prices are very reasonable.
A very pleasant couple of days.

Room Tip: Friends inform that hotel rooms are excellent quality and good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopton on Sea
20.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
24.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cliff Hotel
Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
24.0 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Resort

Property: Potters Resort
Address: Coast Road, Hopton on Sea NR31 9BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hopton on Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Hotel Class:5 star — Potters Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Potters Leisure Hotel Hopton On Sea
Hotel Potters Leisure
Potters Resort Norfolk/Hopton On Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing