We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent we will be back”
Review of Potters Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopton on Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Potters Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 March 2014

All the food was great and every one so helpful
this was our second time and we will be back very soon .The show Jane McDonald was great We also had fun on the Segway playing golf and ten pin bowling There is so much more going on from G Gormer Felixstowe Suffolk

Room Tip: Rooms near sports fields are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,563 - 3,569 of 4,984 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

All in all this is a very nice resort with excellent facilities. I would rate the hotel accomodation 5 star and the rooms are very large. The chalets are very nice also but in the colder weather it can be a problem as some are quite a walk from the main resort area. Having now been on 3 Sunday/Monday breaks which includes a 5 course evening meal we have found out that to get a good seat in the theatre you have to leave halfway through the meal. Indeed on all three occasions there has been a queue outside the theatre at 19.30 and the resterant only opens at 18.30. The theatre seating is not sloped so the view from the back is somewhat limited. This is the only downside to the breaks we have been on but saying that I feel it is very important because we go to see the shows on the Sunday evening. I fel I must also add that we feel the standard of the food is not as good as our first visit.

Room Tip: Definately stay in the hotel rather than a chalet. It does not cost that much more and is definately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ribing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We normally go with our bowls club for one of the bowling weeks, (Monday to Friday) but this time we added in the Sunday as they advertised this as a St.Patrick's Night. Being Irish, I thought this would be a perfect start to the week. I didn't get the impression that much effort had been put into making this an Irish night as there were no flags or banners or anything relating to Ireland around the resort, restaurant of Theatre. After dinner we went to the theatre expecting to be entertained in an Irish manner. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed. The show lasted 90 minutes and the Irish content was, to say the least, mediocre. We felt that they added Country and Western style dancing to pad out the show and by the end it looked like they were having difficulty in filling in the 90 minutes. To be honest we could have lent them our Ipod to ensure they had sufficient Irish music to fill the program. All in all a very disappointing Irish night.
Apart from this we found Potters to be up to their usual high standard of cleanliness and that the food in the restaurant was 'up' on last year with food well cooked and plenty of variety. The chalets were always well cleaned, the tea and coffee was replaced daily and the shower in the bath was definitely of power shower intensity.
The staff were, as normal, friendly and efficient.
With regard the Chalet, we found they had changed the wardrobe from previous years and there was hardly any room to hang, blouses, shirts trousers etc. In actual fact, I had to hang my long dress on the outside of the Wardrobe door, along with some of our other clothes. I must admit we were not impressed with this.
The Potters Theatre Company put on good performances except for the final goodbye which was very much the same as previous years. We had Union Jacks distributed and all sang 'You'll Never Walk Alone'. This does need to be addressed as it does become, for regular visitors, rather boring.
The bowling was very well organised as usual and I think it fair to say everybody enjoyed themselves.
All in all, the small amount of negative points were well outweighed by the positive points.

Room Tip: Chalets nearest the sea are quieter as they don't get the footfall when guests are returning aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gunner2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Fantastic bowling week. Greeted by friendly staff, hotel room fab.
Bowls tournament very well organised over the 4 days leading up to finals day on Friday.
Restaurant was lovely and the food was fresh and presented well. Enormous portions.
Entertainment during the day excellent including the pool and spa area. Evening shows lacking on the first three nights but final evening show was great. Where were the dancers etc in the previous three evening shows? Overall experience excellent. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SHIRLEY826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I've been going to Potters every year for past 27 years,sometimes 3 or 4 times a year and I can honestly say I am never disappointed with my whole holiday experience there.This visit I took some friends to celebrate my 40th birthday,some had never been before and they were amazed by everything.The main thing they said was how friendly and relaxed it was and how wonderful the accommodation,food and entertainment was.The Potters Theatre company shows are excellent and lots of activities to do during the day it's difficult to fit everything in.Food is wonderful with plenty to choices.As it was my birthday the staff really made me feel special and it was a fantastic break with everything I could wish for and more,including a chocolate fountain on Saturday night!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 670201Nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Absolutely love going to Potters. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave it is great fun. The chalets are very well presented, warm comfortable and spotlessly clean. The food is excellent with loads of choice and always served with smile from the host of table staff. The daytime entertainment is very varied presented by a great team - from sports to dancing workshops and loads of quizzes which are always fun. The evening entertainment is second to none. The infamous and inimitable Mark Brewer provides the comedy with his crew and what a laugh everyone has - usually hilarious. Later the Potters Theatre Company present their shows and what a truly talented bunch they are. This weekend was Made in Britain with song and dance throughout the decades and on Saturday the best show I have ever seen outside the West End. It was "Showstoppers" and it was magnificent. The singing, dancing, staging - everything was perfect. The shows are changing in the coming weeks but I am sure no-one will be disappointed. After the show there is more on stage entertainment and then it moves to the Terrace bar where there is usually a singer with the live band and to cap it all - a Midnight feast of either curry or chilli etc. Great value for money and like most people, once you go there , you want to keep returning. ( By the way - it doesn't look dated - they are decorating and remodelling all the time)

Room Tip: You can stay in the hotel rooms and then you don't have to even go outside for the whole stay bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ReenyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and I went to Potters and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. From speaking to Scott in Group Bookings, who was just divine, helpful, caring and totally professional without being condescending. Our accommodation was lovely just a little tired but was totally suitable for us. The restaurant was very clean and our waitress 'Vicky' was simply lovely, helpful and we have never met anyone who took such an interest in all of her guests and remembered from the off what everybodies preferences were. The food was of a fairly high standard with plenty of choice, Dave and Jeanette who organised the bowls although under a lot of pressure with the organisation of some many games remained smiley and helpful.

Room Tip: Although we didn't get to see the hotel rooms the bungalows were away from the main entertainmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sandy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopton on Sea
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
382 reviews
4.5 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
526 reviews
24.7 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Allseasons Hotels by Tingdene
20.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
971 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Resort

Address: Coast Road, Hopton on Sea NR31 9BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hopton on Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Hotel Class:5 star — Potters Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Potters Leisure Hotel Hopton On Sea
Hotel Potters Leisure
Potters Resort Norfolk/Hopton On Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing