We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Andrew S - Family Easter Holiday Break - 6 night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Potters Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopton on Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Potters Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Andrew S - Family Easter Holiday Break - 6 night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We very much enjoyed our 6 night stay at Potters (11 to 17 April) in the hotel. We have have been to Potters quite a few times over the years. My parents introduced us as they used to go with our village bowls club. In addtion, my mother used to stay at Potters with her family in the late 40's early 50's!! Potters is brilliant - you can never be disappointed with the outstanding level of service and the food is excellent, along with a very high standard of hygiene. Our three children (15, 12 & 4) don't want to go abroad anymore, they just want to got to Potters!! The facilties are excellent and the Potters Theatre company put on very professional shows, which all the family enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank stephenson_andrew15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,318
    580
    159
    41
    46
See reviews for
1,518
1,083
38
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Potters is always improving, offers a huge range of facilities and entertainments, has a massive workforce but everyone bar none is just so helpful, bungalow rooms being continually upgraded (worth upgrading to plus if you can, the newly refurbed ones are lovely particularly F,G,H) food is just excellent-you don't stop eating but it's so good you don't want to! Considering how much is included in what you pay, the value is excellent and no other venue offers our 21 person 4 generation family (from my 89 year old grandad to my 1 year old son) such a great holiday together. My only gripe would be the slow (but at least free!) wifi in main buildings and the non existent wifi anywhere else on site-the Local area doesn't get much 3G! A couple more options/play zones for the under 2s wouldn't hurt either, though there are some options already (and the pool/beach/grassy areas for them). Our family have visited potters for years and will continue to do so, highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Positives:
Room (Hotel premier) - plenty of space even with 3 beds and sitting area.
Decor - very well maintained (but dated).
Grounds - very well maintained. Parking close to room.
Food - all food we tried was good, honest and tasty.
Activities - plenty of choice, all well supervised. Son enjoyed Giant swing, Segway, Assault course, Scuba
Staff - very noticably well trained and pleasant (esp waitress Brandy). All bar service swift.
Entertainment - shows professionally staged.

Suggestions:
Room - may need air-con in summer? It was only 14C outside, but it was necessary to use fan and have windows open. Also, wardrobe doors shut with a very loud clang - need some stick-on pads to dampen closing.
Food - all lovely but too much. We never had breakfast and lunch on the same day and we never managed to stay up for the midnight meal either - so only took 50% of possible meals. Could there be a reduction in price for less meals taken?
Food - too long a wait (20min) for an omlette as only one person cooking one omlette at a time - this needs doubling up when busy. This is shown up by the table service being especially prompt and so the others had finished before I was served.
Activities - didn't like having to get up early to book activities.
Entertainment - wasn't particularly impressed with the male comperes (rather condescending to both the older people and younger children - we are in neither category)
Pool - my 12yr old would have loved a slide or something.

Room Tip: Due to scale of resort, some rooms can be a reasonable walk from meals and entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shentodj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Once again all 35 of us had a wonderful time. Not one negative thing to say - maybe just that we were waiting to get soaked by Mark and he has put away his water pistol. Great value don't know how you do it. Its worth the long journey from Cornwall.
thank you
The Robinson family

Room Tip: you only need to try a showtime week and you will be hooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our twelfth straight easter visit to Potters, another fantastic break, we've never been anywhere else like it in the UK! Room the resorts ents team, bar team, waiting team they all do a fantastic job.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Having visited Potters many many times I am amazed at the resorts constant endeavour to update and introduce new things. I would also like to say what outstanding and I mean outstanding customer service we received after one of our party was hospitalized due to a serious condition! Potters went above and beyond to support our party in every way they could. Thanks to everyone at Potters who make us all feel welcome, safe and so wonderfully looked after! Excellent!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Great place, so well managed.
All of the staff were brilliant, couldn't do enough for you.
Lots of variety, sports, relaxation, and suitable for all ages. Three
Would definitely consider going again!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keely22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopton on Sea
20.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
24.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cliff Hotel
Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
24.0 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Resort

Property: Potters Resort
Address: Coast Road, Hopton on Sea NR31 9BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hopton on Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Hotel Class:5 star — Potters Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Potters Leisure Hotel Hopton On Sea
Hotel Potters Leisure
Potters Resort Norfolk/Hopton On Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing