We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff - bit of investment needed”
Review of Potters Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopton on Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Potters Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent staff - bit of investment needed”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Positives:
- staff all cheerful, polite and helpful
- lots of things to do, organised activities and sports, good variety
- no unreasonable attempts to squeeze extra money for activities
- drinks reasonably priced, especially given the "captive market"
- compact so you can always pop back to the accommodation
- meals surprisingly good (for adults) given how many they are catering for
- family feel
- great laundry service
- clean

Negatives:
- food for children poor and unhealthy (though there did not seem to be a problem giving children adult dishes) e.g. pizza "with a choice of toppings - ropey margherita pizza with some chopped pepper, ham and onion to put on
- waiting times at the bar for the main show were ludicrous 20 mins plus: I was told this was due to lack of tills
- double beds made from two singles
- public bin literally outside our front door
- no room clean Sunday (and not told)
- swimming pool (more to do) and spa could do with investment to expand

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,560
    612
    167
    44
    50
See reviews for
1,661
1,157
39
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Went for the weekend in July with our three children aged 15,13 & 6 and some friends who were Potters virgins and had an excellent time. We stayed in bungalows near the tennis courts and these were superbly modern and very clean. The food as always was extremely good with plenty of choice. The evening entertainment was West End class. The West side story and Jersey Boys features were amazing. As always at Potters there is plenty to do for all ages. Great to see Mark Brewer on form as usual. A very entertaining and enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daylight1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in a bungalow near to the main facilities. As the weather was brilliant the outside walk wasnt a problem but if you are further away and the weather was rainy then it mat be a problem.We went as a retired couple with no children/grandchildren but this was not a problem as the children appeared to be well occupied at all times. Cannot fault the standard and cleanliness of the bungalow nor the food that was on offer.The evening entertainment laid on by The Potters Theatre company was top notch and not restricted to an hour as often happens at other places that we have stayed.A good two hours plus every evening.We are going back later in the year with friends but this time within the school term so will be interesting to see the difference.All of the staff whether entertainment, restaurant or cleaners very friendly and obliging.

Room Tip: Need to check location of bungalows as some are a fair distance from facilities. Rooms in hotel are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cribmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood England
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Without doubt the evening entertainment is the highlight of Potters. The resident theatre company are fantastic and the shows are West End quality.
Plenty to do indoors and out most days.
Deluxe rooms in the "hotel"building are extremely large and comfortable.
Food was a bit mixed and the eating times of only a 1 hour window are too tight, with food running out and staff clearing away too quickly in order to set up for the next mealtime it seemed.
Potters are very good at what they do but only if you are what I would call "holiday camp people". (No insult intended)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beefy1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

As usual the welcome at Potters and the staff were brilliant, i have got to know a lot of the staff due to the regular visits I have made over the years.
Unfortunately all my friends were a bit disappointed with the menus, the style of food has changed quite a bit.It is not the amounts you get but it is the selection.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank merewood5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have stayed at Potters many times my family and friends have also stayed with us we always have a great experience and count the days until we return. The service and staff are second to none. The food and variety of food is excellent and the entertainment is as good as any London theatre show. The special guest that they have are brilliant and such good value.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarendon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Manga del Mar Menor, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We visited this resort with a view to booking when we next visited the area. First impressions were not good - there is a security barrier but no-one was on duty. Limited parking at the front of the resort and guests took advantage of no security being present and parked on double yellow lines restricting access for other guests. We eventually managed to get through to the main car which was empty and within very easy walking distance of the main entrance! The lobby was teaming with people which did not give a particularly welcoming ambience. First stop the loo. Tired decor, water (or worse) all over the floor of the toilets and the inside of the toilet door didn't appear to have been washed for months it was so dirty. That experience told me all I wanted to know and we walked out.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank 776Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopton on Sea
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,066 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
890 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#3 of 10 in Lowestoft
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
501 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
336 reviews
24.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Resort

Property: Potters Resort
Address: Coast Road, Hopton on Sea NR31 9BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hopton on Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Hotel Class:5 star — Potters Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Potters Leisure Hotel Hopton On Sea
Hotel Potters Leisure
Potters Resort Norfolk/Hopton On Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing