We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't understand!”
Review of Potters Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopton on Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Potters Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I don't understand!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I booked potters for myself and two children as I'd been told by a few people that it was a great family holiday destination. After having my potters experience, I now don't understand why they thought that!
For starters, parking is a nightmare and you can't get close to your accommodation. Then you walk into reception and take a step back in time to the seventies! Faded and dated carpet and wicker chairs galor! I hoped everything else would be better but we had no help with anything. That's your room key and an activities sheet and your on your own! Activities are many you think at first, only to realise that it's just the same ones repeated. Hardly anything for young kids unless they want to sit in a room drawing pictures for the entire stay. Nothing that you as a parent can join in with your children. And lots that need paying for on this "free" holiday.
Food was ok but repetitive. Didn't like having to eat when told and not have much choice of what to eat. My eldest is a vegetarian and I was told on booking that if she didn't like her option then just ask chef for an alternative. So chips and bread rolls where what she got!
This place is much more suited to the older generation. It's not family friendly and I for the first holiday in years, my kids and I couldn't wait to come home. Boring!,

Room Tip: Don't think there is a good room. We were far away from the main building but I was woken every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jasmin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,415
    598
    165
    43
    50
See reviews for
1,557
1,122
38
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Poor when asking about the beach which we were told was closed after buying buckets n spades from on site shop were told that's the way it is. The after dinner clubs for under 8s played the same games every night my 5 year old lost interest after 2nights. Same with day clubs . Bar service so slow . The first time ever we were glad to go home ,my 5year old pacted her bag the night before

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Inula10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We have had a fantastic break, there is so much to do time goes too quickly. Our hotel room is massive and the bed soooooo comfortable. The staff are so friendly and a special thanks to our waiter Alistair who went out of his way to make sure the vegetarian in our party was catered for. We will be sad to leave tomorrow :-(

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CatLadyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Can't fault the Sunday night 1 night break in anyway - the bungalow accommodation was so nice, very clean and spacious (I would definitely recommend you pay the extra few pounds and upgrade to a deluxe, worth every penny). The food was outstanding, fresh hot and a good variety on the menu to choose from. The entertainment was fabulous starting with the in house theatre group, a tribute to Take That - they were superb. Then the highlight of the evening was the Overtones - they certainly didn't disappoint and they were truly amazing. Their set was great and they performed for well over an hour, nearly 2 hours and then stayed on to sign autographs and have photos taken. Excellent in everyway and very good value for money. A perfect getaway break, this one was without the children but I would love to take the children next time on a family break, they would love it I'm sure!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Have been going to Potter's for a long time, have already rebooked for 2015. Hotel room was great again, all staff polite and helpful as usual. Food is still excellent but menu has been slimmed down to help with costs. Evening entertainment was to West End standard as usual, even though we had been there in March '14, program had been revamped for August '14. Entertainment thro' the day was full on, no reason to be bored at any time.

Room Tip: Any of the hotel rooms are fine, make sure you explain if you have any health problems, etc and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

From food served quickly that outshone any other holiday resort to the wealth of things to do for the children and us grown ups, there were shows that were outstanding, truly profesional.
one tiny down spot the WIFI was not very good otherwise everything else was superb.

Room Tip: the hotel rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank melvyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Went on a 4 day break at Potters August 2014. Ages ranged from 7 to 75. There was something for everyone, did not feel it was just about entertaining the kids. The afternoon band on the green and the afternoon fete were lovely and relaxing. The evening entertainment was spectacular, on par with the west end! Lovely food, again something for everyone, not rushed. All the staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopton on Sea
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,056 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
875 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#4 of 10 in Lowestoft
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
327 reviews
24.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
852 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Resort

Property: Potters Resort
Address: Coast Road, Hopton on Sea NR31 9BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hopton on Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Hotel Class:5 star — Potters Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Potters Leisure Hotel Hopton On Sea
Hotel Potters Leisure
Potters Resort Norfolk/Hopton On Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing