We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Active weekend”
Review of Potters Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopton on Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Potters Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Active weekend”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The accommodation was superb, fresh and very clean. Facilities and activities are great albeit limited. Staff are excellent, friendly and really helpful. The swimming pool is fantastic, opens early and closes late unlike other resorts where they open late and close early. You can cram in a lot sporting experiences if you want to, try things you wouldn't normally get a chance to do, such as indoor curling, bowls , archery and golf etc. most activities are included in the holiday price, main exception was 10 pin bowling but this was relatively cheap compared to normal 10 pin bowling centres. The evening entertainment is really good and patriotic ! my daughter laughed so much at the Spamalot show it was the highlight of the weekend. The Potters Theatre Company include brilliant dancers and have some excellent singers. We would recommend this resort to anyone looking for an all round active holiday, where the sun isn't needed. My only disappointment was with the beach, which was closed in the process (2014) of having rocky sea defences built, which rather spoils an otherwise beautiful sandy beach.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be good, although some could be noisey close to the main hall/arena.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,377
    590
    162
    42
    48
See reviews for
1,541
1,102
38
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

A family party of 10 we all had a great break, food was good quality and evening entertainment was excellent, we book next year. The range of sporting activities was good and apart from clay shooting was all free. Mr Brewer a very funny man

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Suffolk, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

if you like good entertainment from morning till late potters leisure is the place to be. We've been going to potters for about 35 years on and off and it just gets better and better. there is never a dull moment and the holiday for me is fun and laughter the whole week through....The staff actually seem that they like being at work and it's speaks volumes seeing the same familiar faces year after year.... Can't wait for our next visit......probably in October!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I came to Potters with a group of 13 people with children ranging from 2yrs to 12yrs along with parents and grandparents and a wonderful time was had by all.

Potters is a wonderful family friendly resort were all guests are included and are made to feel as part of the family.

There are numerous activities throughout the day to suit all ages indoors and out so I'd recommend taking a pen for your program (and bingo) and highlight the activities you want to do so you don't forget where you need to be and what times.

The food is great and you have a wide variety of meals to choose from, even for those fussy kids.

The staff are very accommodating and are very good with the children. The bar staff were happy to refill the children's water bottles throughout the day/evening which is great for the older kids after activities.

Mark Brewer and his team are amazing hosts and the Potters theatre company are West End worthy! Absolutely spectacular entertainment team! We especially loved the Disney themed show, fantastic!

Would I recommend Potters? Yes! In a heartbeat! Infact, we have already booked for next year for 15 people :-) can't wait!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carly_vee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We really enjoyed our weekend at Potters Resort.

Staff were wonderful and the evening entertainment fantastic.

Big disappointment though was the huge queues for activities. Up to 35 people in sessions like archery and shooting with only 4 riffles/bows. Potters really should run more sessions during the summer and have smaller groups.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank FrancisTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Definitely child orientated weekend, but was still enjoyable without young children. My son is 18 and did the rifle range, clay pigeon shoot, segway and rally carts. Swimming pool isn't large but very well kept and clean, so is the gym. The Aphrodite beauty studio is great for a bit of pampering, had my eyebrows waxed and tinted, nails tidied up and a great massage on my neck. Food was fantastic and the service was extremely good, lovely helpful young staff. The entertainment is fabulous, such well trained entertainers and had a good laugh at 'Spamalot'. Well done to all the staff they do an excellent job and are extremely helpful!

Room Tip: We had L30, directly next to the pool and opposite the main entrance to the complex, which was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kestral1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were a party of 13; 5 adults and 7 children ranging from 4years to 17 years. We all had a fabulous holiday and all have voted to go again. All ours hotel rooms were massive and as a previous reviewer said the beds are so comfortable! Activity wise there was something for everyone at all times of day. The evening shows were spectacular and enjoyed by all.

Staff were very friendly and helpful; food was plentiful( to the point that a number of us chose to skip lunch on several days) and very good with a wide range available so that everyone had a choice. On the downside the dining room was noisy ( to be fair our group of teenagers contributed to this) and the narrow timeslot to arrive for the evening meal (6.30- 7.30pm) was a bit pressurising. However this was a very minor niggle. A great holiday.

Room Tip: I would advise staying in the hotel rather than the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopton on Sea
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,047 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
865 reviews
24.8 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#3 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
340 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
431 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Resort

Property: Potters Resort
Address: Coast Road, Hopton on Sea NR31 9BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hopton on Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Hotel Class:5 star — Potters Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Potters Leisure Hotel Hopton On Sea
Hotel Potters Leisure
Potters Resort Norfolk/Hopton On Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing