We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MrsJ8352
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Great week

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Apr 2024
We came over the Easter holidays and had a great time. The food was really good and plenty of it. I feel like Potters needs to move with the times though such as the key to the room being a standard key rather than a keycard. You check in but then the whole resort is coming back at 3pm to collect their keys which can be carnage whereas a key card would automatically let you in at a certain time. Also having to queue to book an activity, why not have an online booking system?
It is very geared up towards the elderly who I think is their main customers most of the year. The activities were good but only 2 segeays which go round in a small circlr, one go kart so again have to queue forever to get on it. The entertainment was good on the first and last night of our atay especially Simply the best, we loved that one. The other shows were very old music that the elders probably love.
Our room was very big and clean. We stayed in the hotel and it was very nice.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael Scott, Owner at Potters Resorts Hopton-on-Sea, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing Potters Resorts for your Easter holiday and for taking the time to share your experience. We're delighted to hear that you had a great week with us and enjoyed the food and accommodation.

We appreciate your suggestions for modernising certain aspects of our resort. Your point about transitioning from traditional keys to keycards is well-taken. Implementing a keycard system could indeed streamline the check-in process and reduce congestion, and it's something we will consider as we aim to enhance our guest experience.

Regarding the booking of activities, an online system is a fantastic idea to minimize waiting times and improve convenience for our guests. We will look into the feasibility of this suggestion to better manage the demand for popular activities like the Segways and go-karting. We understand that the limited availability of these activities can be frustrating and are always looking for ways to improve access and enjoyment for everyone.

While our entertainment programming is designed to appeal to a broad audience, including our many senior guests, we strive to include a variety of shows that can be enjoyed by all age groups. We're thrilled that you loved the "Simply the Best" show, and we'll take your feedback into account as we continue to diversify our entertainment offerings.

We're glad that your hotel room met your expectations in terms of size and cleanliness, and we hope that these positive aspects of your stay made your holiday memorable.

Thank you again for your feedback. We value your insights and look forward to welcoming you back to Potters Resorts, where we hope to exceed your expectations with continuous improvements and tailored experiences.

Warm regards,

Mike Scott
Managing Director at Potters Resorts
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
£67
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    £58
  • Travelodge
    £60
  • StayForLong
    £88
1.7 miles from Potters Resorts Hopton-on-Sea
Free parking
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£69
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £69
1.4 miles from Potters Resorts Hopton-on-Sea
Free Wifi
Free parking
All seasons is a well-maintained Victorian building with 40 rooms
Booking.com
£80
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £80
  • Skyscanner.com
    £80
  • Agoda.com
    £80
2.4 miles from Potters Resorts Hopton-on-Sea
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£92
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £92
  • Agoda.com
    £72
  • Priceline
    £92
2.5 miles from Potters Resorts Hopton-on-Sea
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£160
Fully refundable
  • Skyscanner.com
    £160
  • Agoda.com
    £160
  • eDreams
    £160
2.5 miles from Potters Resorts Hopton-on-Sea
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£102
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £102
2.3 miles from Potters Resorts Hopton-on-Sea
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premier Inn Lowestoft hotel exterior
PremierInn.com
£49
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Agoda.com
2.5 miles from Potters Resorts Hopton-on-Sea
Free parking
Restaurant
PremierInn.com
£63
  • Booking.com
    £86
  • Agoda.com
    £86
  • Hotels.com
3.9 miles from Potters Resorts Hopton-on-Sea
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £84
  • Booking.com
4.0 miles from Potters Resorts Hopton-on-Sea
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
5.8 miles from Potters Resorts Hopton-on-Sea
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hopton on Sea
Reviews (6,697)
Filter reviews
6,699 results
Traveller rating
5,400
855
278
85
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,400
855
278
85
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west end recommend potters potters theatre company world bowls terrace bar evening entertainment ten pin bowling the penthouse holiday resort excellent entertainment table tennis mark brewer hotel room brilliant weekend family break night break entertainment team
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 6,699 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2024

This is our first trip back to Potters since Covid and we still loved it just as much! There are so many fun activities for all ages, you could never be bored.
The best part about Potters is the entertainment team, they are fab and work so hard. Would love to see more of Rachel and Jo B, they are a great team and never fail to make people laugh. Great to see Mark Brewer back too.
I would have given 5 stars but unfortunately felt a few things stopped me doing this. We had a bungalow plus room which although a great layout and very clean it was very dated with some items of furnishing falling apart, in need of repair.
Also the food seems to not be quite the same quality we have had at previous breaks, especially the vegetarian options, which sounded great but didn’t quite deliver.
However, there are so many food options that you really cannot go hungry and the food is good but just not amazing, like we remember.
We will definitely be going back again!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linzo567
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2024 via mobile

Have been attending potters for 20 plus years and never had a problem or any bad experience..
I would of given 5 stars this time round...ONLY I had a small problem (along with other guests)
Firstly, I did notice our bungalow plus room was in need of some decor..the tiles needed new grouting and there were quite a few marks on the painted walls. They also seemed to be not as decorated nicely compared to our previous stays..(sloppily painted). This didn't affect our stay it was just something that I noticed..Bed was fabulous though as usual!
It was the food this time around that was a disappointment. The carvery especially...Sundays menu was wrong (stated beef) but after queuing it was Turkey..Chef didn't seem bothered or interested when I said beef on menu! He just shrugged and said "well it's turkey we have"..no apology or customer care there then! So I didn't want to then go back to my table, wait for the waitress to then order something else from the menu as time was ticking, so I had the turkey and went back..Unfortunately, its was a frozen joint that had been heated up I am sure of it, roasts were definitely frozen and heated (not aunt Bessie's either!) as we couldn't cut through the things either. We tasted a bit of each potato and all were the same..Veg was also not fresh but frozen and again heated..it did seem like a school dinner and a cheap one at that...we was so disappointed as starters and dessert was OK. Saturdays menu was also OK.. perhaps a glitch? Well as we didn't eat Sundays dinner we waited for the midnight snack, only for it to be pasta with cheese and the smallest amount of tomato sauce...it was cold, stodgy and tasted awful, so again we went without..
I have stayed at 5 lakes and can 100 percent say that the food there is 💯 % better than at Hopton..
I do so hope they are not forgetting or going downhill at hopton due to 5 lakes..be such a shame, everything else was excellent..Especially the entertainment and bar staff!
(We did mention to our waitress the problem we had, only she explained menu was wrong due to a typing error (if she knew then why didn't she say when she took our order?) and upon saying the food was as explained above, she apologised and said she will let the kitchen know! She also said Manager would be over but after waiting, no manager arrived)
Come on potters, please don't slip!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank extremejaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2024

Had a lovely weekend break with my husband Son ( 21) & mother in law. I’ve got to say there was something for all of us. The entertainment was second to none top class. Food was quality and all staff & amenities were perfect. & kept us all happy. Infact Wev rebooked.
I’d recommend & have recommended Potters to my friends as a great place to meet friends celebrate, and although at first May seem expensive once you work out the drinks coffees and leisure & entertainment it’s reasonable and we had a great time

Room tip: Try & book hotel
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soniawalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2024

wonderful time and so looked after as we feel so part of the family and feel so welcome when we arrived and have cuddles with staff on arrival Show is lovely and hotel is our place we can relax Show team have great and i remain in the show and not go out which i have done in other venues

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eleyjames01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2024

Been going to potters since I was 4 years old with my grandparents. Almost every year. Back again this year now being 21! Came with family to have a good time in memory of them. Last came before Covid.

Still a fab/fun place. Lovely that drinks are included now. Lovely staff, everywhere very clean. Food mostly lovely, potatoes quite hard most nights. Did miss out on continuity with the waiters seemed to have a different one most days ours might have been off sick.
Do miss the old toast they used to do lunch/dinner tapping of the glasses. And also having pictures taken on last night. Used to be family tradition but do understand most people take their own now. Loved the sporting competitions wish there was more. Bungalows quite dated need a redo. Understand this is very costly.

Would highly recommend potters especially to those with children on the family breaks, it will surely give them lots of memories they will cherish 😊.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSophL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews