We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely location, poor service”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Recently returned from a family wedding at this hotel. Delightful location, perfect accommodation for us but such a shame that the staff service was not up to scratch. There was a lack of thought with only the bare minimum being delivered for a number of elements during our stay. Instead of going out of their way to make sure everybody was having a great wedding they made us feel we were an imposition because we had a 10 week old baby. If you don't want kids at the hotel then stipulate this up front for all wedding guests and stick to your values instead of accepting them for the weekend and then making the families feel unwelcome.

All in all a nice place that lacked the small touches which make a stay feel special.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    98
    52
    34
    31
See reviews for
71
289
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have just come back from a week at the Rose in vale, we had a great time. The food was fabulous but the menus over the week were slightly repetitive. We do think that for the level of the hotel charging you for a coffee after your meal seems a bit mean, and if they are going to charge at least give you a pot and a biscuit as most places do. The restaurant staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you.Our one complaint was that after going for one of the upgraded rooms (no 3) we were woken at 6.30 every morning by delivery lorries under our bedroom window. We did discuss this with the staff but were informed that there was nothing they could do about it.We feel that either they should arrange later deliveries or down grade this room to a normal room.the room itself was very nice. I was irritated at having to keep asking for toiletries as 3 times there was none put in the room. They could do with some thinner quilts for the summer as we were very hot and had to ask for a sheet. The grounds are very lovely and tranquil, and it was nice that they don't take young children so it is very peaceful.

Room Tip: Watch out for the Joyce Nankieviel room (no 3) very noisy early in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliecoddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed in the Garden Suite for 3 nights in June and had a wonderful time at the Rose in Vale. The Garden Suite is in a separate building from the main hotel and offers great accommodation for families in particular. We were 2 couples travelling together. The living room and 2 bedrooms are not very large but they are modern and offer privacy for the couples. Each bedroom has its own bathroom with shower. The bathrooms also are small but modern and quite serviceable.
The Garden Suite is located in a building which also houses the hotel's laundry which presented a problem on the first night when the washing machine was running until 11 pm. This didn't happen on subsequent nights and we've advised the hotel that guest in the suite can hear noises in the laundry and that they should not be using such equipment after about 7 pm.
We enjoyed the breakfasts at the hotel which included a variety of choices and were served by an absolutely fabulous staff. We cannot say enough about how wonderful it was to be greeted each morning by such happy helpful people who were genuinely interested in their guests.
We had dinner one night during our stay and the quality of the courses served varied from just OK to very good. [We had 2 dinners at the nearby Miners Arms Pub which is walking distance and offers great "pub grub".]
We had a number of requests for ice, extra pillows, etc., that were always met quickly and graciously by the staff.
The location is great for touring Cornwall with easy access to local roads and motorways. . . yet you feel like you are a million miles away in the quiet countryside.

Room Tip: Garden Suite excellent for 2 couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have just returned from a magical holiday at Rose -in- Vale and cannot recommend it more highly. Everything about it was superb, from the staff ,whom were very polite, thoughtful and helpful, to the delightful food, and to the comfortable accommodation.
What more could you ask for? The lovely gardens were a pleasure to walk around and what can beat, having a tray of tea brought to you in the gardens on a sunny afternoon?
We were extremely well catered for throughout our long stay and thank Sara and James for all their kindness and thoughtfulness and truly making this a holiday to remember.
We really look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gillian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My mother and I recently spent a few days at The Rose in Vale on a mini-break. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is set in lovely tranquil surroundings, is conveniently situated for visiting Cornish beaches and villages and is only a short drive away from the nearest large town,Truro. Our room (superior twin) was very comfortable and clean with a large modern bathroom. Breakfast and dinner were very good and the food is of a high standard. The owners and staff were friendly, polite and considerate. We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and would definitely come again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geka85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Have been there now 3 times, this last time booked garden suite (2 bedroom very small cottage) with my daughter and son in law and our 4 elderley dogs.
On arrival the bed configuration had not been changed. There were certain parts our dogs could go and they were not supposed to be off their leads when sitting outside the "cottage"
Several problems but mainly we were not notified of the charges for our dogs and although I was going to be informed but they never mailed me so I thought it would be as previous free of charge. They charged £120 for the 4 nights for the dogs which seemed too high as most hotels charge £15 each. I was told to write in and they would consider it after i complained when settling the account, how stupid was I to believe it.
The food was not as good as previous and although it was sent back as we stayed full board eventually we just grinned and bear it so to speak.
Staff excellent all seemed on edge when the owners James and Sara was mentioned and the owners were so unfriendly and unprofessional. Just under £1600 for 4 nights my husband wanted to come back 1st day.
Never again - how sad

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Chel5507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We came to Cornwall for a family wedding, and decided to make a mini-break of it by staying for 3 nights in this hotel which was strongly recommended by friends. We were not disappointed. Our room was lovely - very comfortable with everything we needed. The large bathroom had a glorious wet-room style shower, which I only wish we had at home! The grounds are beautiful, and tea in the garden was much enjoyed (yes, we had some sun). The hotel pool was a perfect size and wonderfully heated. The friendly, kind and attentive staff gave me the impression that they were only too happy to open it up for me at the unreasonable hour of 7.30am each morning, and I had the most delightful swim looking at the trees and the birds. Bliss!

Breakfasts were excellent, and evening meals very good too, always with attentive and friendly service. Rarely have we felt so welcome at a hotel. We both strongly felt that the hotel really benefits from having such 'hands-on' owners, who give it the warm, friendly, personal touch.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smilingtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mithian
6.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
15.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
16.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.7 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose in Vale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Property: Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Address: Mithian | St Agnes, Mithian TR5 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mithian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose in Vale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose in Vale is an historic and secluded Country House Hotel dating back to the 17th century. Set in a secluded wooded valley with a stream running through floral gardens we are located on the North Cornish coast near St Agnes. Privately owned and family run with emphasis on cleanliness, friendly service and relaxation. Our Chef, Tom Bennetts, provides seasonal fine dining in our 2AA rosette restaurant. We do not take children under 12 years of age. We are dog friendly and within easy reach of everything that Cornwall has to offer yet provide for a peaceful retreat at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Rose in Vale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose In Vale Country House Hotel Cornwall/Mithian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing