We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, good food, fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had two nights in the Riverbank suite, which is in a small lodge outside the main building. It's by the small river that runs through the grounds of the hotel. The rooms are warm, with plenty of space and all the facilities you would expect. We were welcomed with a bottle of wine, which was a nice surprise.

The bed was comfy and warm. The bathroom was very modern, with a spa bath and TV. There is also a small lounge area off the bedroom.

We had dinner in the restaurant on both nights. We were invited to the bar before the meal and served with canapés as we decided what to eat. There was a good choice of meat and fish dishes, all locally sourced. A wide selection of wines were available at reasonable prices.

The food was excellent - served hot and with generous helpings. There was no rush to get us out either. A very relaxing and enjoyable experience.

We decided to have breakfast in our room. A phone call to Reception to place the order was all it took and there was only a very small supplement to pay (as long as you had breakfast before 9.45am - after that it costs a lot more to enjoy breakfast in bed)

Staff were helpful and friendly and the general feel of the place is good. Yes, there are a few things that could be improved in relation to the decor around the place, but it's clear that a lot of work has been done to improve facilities and more will be done.

Well worth it for a special occasion or romantic break. A good base for visiting Newquay and surroundings areas.

Room Tip: The Riverbank Suite has a spa bath and is outside the main building, so it's quiet. However, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have just returned from another fab New Year break at Rose In Vale. It is just like visiting old friends and the whole 3 days felt we were at a private country house party. We were, and have always been warmly welcomed by James, Sara and all their staff. We stayed in our favourite room,15, which is warm, comfortable and quiet. Our friends asked if it was possible to be upgraded to the Rose Suite and this was done without any fuss and bother at all. New Years Eve was a great party, starting off with complimentary canapés and sparkling wine, a great four course dinner, a duo playing 'Great Gatsby' style music (not to everyone's taste though) and a fantastic firework display at midnight. This was our 5th time at Rose in Vale for New year, next year we will be going on a cruise instead however we are beginning to regret our decision already after such a great time!!
Thank you James and Sara once again.

Room Tip: room 15 is very comfortable and quiet at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jendie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I attended the Mike and Carol Sanders wedding too and whilst I agree that Katharine was absolutely brilliant, charming, friendly, professional and highly efficient, the same cannot be said for her employers. Just plain surly, rude and un welcoming,
we found ourselves locked out in torrential rain whilst the reception was in full swing, we had stepped out for a breath of fresh air, how bizarre!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blanche D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James E, Owner at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for your review. The risk of fire is something that we take very seriously. During this wedding the fire alarms had been set of during the evening due to cigarette smoke in the hotel, with 150 people in the hotel we had to act very quickly, the party had to be stopped the building evacuated.

I recall it was gone 2:00am, after the wedding function had ended, when a group were smoking within a side entrance to the hotel, inside the hotel with all internal doors open If this had been allowed to continue then the fire alarms may have been set off a second time, resulting in the majority of guests having to leave their bed rooms whilst the hotel was checked.

To prevent this situation and to comply with the law i asked the party to stand outside with the door closed.

If you were a non smoking member of that party i understand you may have felt that i was being harsh, but i have to act in the interests of everyone safety.

Regards

James Evans
Owner
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Mithian
St Agnes
Cornwall
TR5 0QD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I honestly cannot understand the good/excellent reviews on this site.

We booked 2 nights in September 2013, the pool was supposed to be open according to their website, hence our booking. When we arrived it was closed for maintenance - but no maintaining was going on.

The communal areas are tired, shabby wallpaper and exposed pluming work where a radiator once stood, dirty seating in the louge/bar area.

OK the room itself was nicely presented, but extremely small and pokey. The walls are paper thin and I could hear the next door neighbour snoring. There was a lovely view of a roof out of a window that would not stay open.

I was tempted by the beautifully presented food on their website - its a far cry from what you actually get. The wesbite shows food presented in a contemporary way. We got faulty towers style mass catering crockery - with an electric candle on the table.
The food was edible, but not great, simple things like not rendering the fat properly on the duck breast and not resting the meat so it came swimming in a pool of blood. the glass I was given was chipped too. Maybe we had a stand in chef, but it definitely fell very short of our expectations

We overheard the owner saying he had never run a hotel before, but he thought they had learnt from their mistakes - there is clearly alot more they have to learn.

Breakfast was OK, although there is a strange set up where the kitchen is opposite the dining area and staff continually have to cross this corridor when carrying hot food or dirty plates - dangerous if you happen to be walking down said corridor. There was a greasy smell in the morning that filtered throughout the downstairs. Whilst eating breakfast there was a cleaner doing the hoovering right outside the dining area - why not wait until after service?

The following day we decided to leave for home and not stay. The receptionist had the cheek to say we owed them for the second night. This was despite the list of issues I highlighted.
I refused to pay, and was "threatened" with the manager coming to speak to me. I was glad I was going to get the opportunity to explain the issues to the manager. The manager was too busy. I was told the manager would contact me via email......Its now December and still no contact.


The manager clearly doesn't want to learn how to improve this establishment.

Warning to anyone looking to book this place - Dont waste your money.

Room Tip: Don't bother. Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jennie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James E, Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Firstly, I am sorry that your stay did not live up to its expectations. As you know, the Country House Hotel is a small independent hotel, and with this comes many individual characteristics not seen in a corporate hotel. The Hotel is constantly being updated to mention a few; the Valley Restaurant oak floor recently completely refurbished using traditional methods, the snug area has also seen some beautiful new sofas added. The Hotel itself consists of many different types of rooms, ranging from standard accommodation to the Honeymoon Suite, with a lounge area overlooking the gardens and woodlands, and fabulous ensuite bathroom, especially designed for a couple. Most recently of all some of the china has been replaced with Wedgwood. This hotel is the perfect County House Retreat with many guests returning 2 or 3 times a year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Our family recently celebrated my parents Diamond Wedding anniversary at the Rose in Vale Hotel. The weekend ran smoothly and effortlessly. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them, even accommodating my niece's nut allergy without any trouble (she had her own canapés made specially!) The food was very good and lived up too it's AA rosette. The restaurant manager was excellent. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The real fire in the lounge was very welcoming on a cold winter evening.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We recently attended the wedding reception held at the Rose and Vale Hotel. It was a wonderful day. The location is secluded and the hotel and grounds are stunning. The event ran flawlessly, thanks to the hotel's wedding planner, and the staff could not do enough to help. The biggest testimony to this were the massive smiles on the bride and groom's faces throughout the day. 5 stars and a big thumbs up from me.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank TPL70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I attended a wedding at the Rose-in-vale hotel recently and thought it was a really lovely venue - stunning location and beautifully presented. I was also very impressed with how smoothly the event ran - the wedding planner (Katharine) was exceptional and the event was clearly well organised & managed and with lots of attention to detail.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SD9277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mithian
6.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
907 reviews
6.3 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,272 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
18.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose in Vale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Address: Mithian | St Agnes, Mithian TR5 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mithian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Price Range: £120 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose in Vale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose in Vale is an historic and secluded Country House Hotel dating back to the 17th century. Set in a secluded wooded valley with a stream running through floral gardens we are located on the North Cornish coast near St Agnes. Privately owned and family run with emphasis on cleanliness, friendly service and relaxation. Our Chef, Tom Bennetts, provides seasonal fine dining in our 2AA rosette restaurant. We do not take children under 12 years of age. We are dog friendly and within easy reach of everything that Cornwall has to offer yet provide for a peaceful retreat at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rose in Vale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose In Vale Country House Hotel Cornwall/Mithian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing