We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Last time we stayed in Rosé-in-Vale was 1993 for a family holiday with our 2 daughters then aged 10 & 8. As it us a listed building the front was instantly recognisable but thee have been massive alterations behind the facade. The setting is delightful especially with spring colour. Dinner & breakfast were good & service excellent. All staff very pleasant & helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Rose in Value Country House Hotel is a priceless gem, located in the idyllic village of St Agnes, Cornwall, with beautiful gardens and immaculate country house 'feel'. This is an experience not to miss.
We spent a day and overnight here celebrating a family wedding that was perfection from start to finish. The warm welcome, along with stylish interior, delicious meal and attentive service made the day impeccable in every way. Congratulations Rose In Vale you delivered a memorable experience for bride, groom and guests.

The Rose in Value is not just for romantic couples (though perfect for this audience), it is compelling for families, friends' gatherings and for individuals who want to savour comfort in a quintessentially country house hotel. In summer the pool beckons. Breakfast is not to be missed and is elegantly presented.

The extra ingredient with this hotel is the home from home feel, with the added value of Cornish setting, hospitality and fine dining. *Highly recommend.


#StayRoseInVale

Room Tip: Room 11 was a superior double - perfect in every way.was just wonderful, quiet comfortable, though w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airliner10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I agree with other reviewers that this hotel has great character, is well run with very friendly, helpful staff and is in a great location for exploring the north cornish coast. We stayed 3 nights in winter, and the garden with its small stream were nonetheless delightful with primroses and spring bulbs appearing.The rooms are quiet, spacious and comfortable - a minor niggle would be the bathroom, which although not small, had no place to put one's personal items. A shelf would have been useful. My "but" is the food - why could an omelette not be offered at breakfast? It's just as easy to make as scrambled eggs. The sausage and bacon were tepid - obviously kept waiting whilst the fried egg was cooked. The egg benedict muffin was rather hard. Otherwise the breakfast offering was good. At dinner, the crab/avocado starter portion size was rather meagre, although it tasted great. The mains were variable - tough, rather gristly beef medallions one night, superb pollack the next. We left feeling that just a little extra care by the chef would have made all the difference.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Have just returned from spending three nights at this delightful and well run Cornish Hotel. The owners and all the staff were outstanding in the welcome and service that they gave us. The hotel has recently been refurbished and the rooms were finished to a very high standard with the bathrooms deserving a special mention for the quality of the fittings. Slightly disappointing was the standard of the food served at dinner. On the whole the first courses and desserts were very well prepared but let down by the quality of some of the main courses. The chef needs to add a little more colour to the main courses e.g. a green veg, and lamb that was promised to be served pink, by the restaurant manager, only just had a tinge of pink when it arrived. Salt cod was inedible as the fish had not been soaked for long enough. Breakfasts were good with the full English being very well cooked and presented. Apart from the slight disappointment on aspects of the cooking the whole experience of staying at this comfortable and well maintained hotel was a delightful experience, and once again both the owners and staff offered an outstanding welcome and willingness to help in any way during our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hailmary1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. From the very start, I had a welcome email and at check-in, I had the most fabulous welcome. My room was perfect, a very comfy bed and a great bathroom. It had everything I needed. The breakfast was superb, with lots of lovely local produce used. I would definitely stay again and I have recommended it to my family and friends.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We ate here on Friday 14th Feb. Yes, it was a Valentines Menu and the selection on offer was great, all tastes catered for. The food itself was amazing. Very well presented, very tasty and if you wanted more veg, you just asked! The staff were all very polite, professional and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely go back for a special occasion. Perfect!

I have read other reviews from certain individuals on tripadvisor and really can't understand or justify some of their comments. Many reasons I'm sure is that some people expect 5 star service at a 3 start hotel, and many other issues about dogs having to be kept on leads, electric candles and pool maintenance are Health & Safety issues, which at the end of the day are there for guests (and their dogs) safety. You can't blame the hotel for compliance legislation which they have to adhere too!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S70KCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We booked into Rose in Vale for our 20th Wedding Anniversary in December 2013. We were the only guests for a couple of nights but we were well looked after without fuss. The rooms were incredibly comfortable, slept like a log and the bathroom was a dream (huge) with a Jacuzzi to help with those tired muscles after our walks.

The food was excellent as was James' skill with the old G&T. Our waiter was very accommodating and discreet (even when the other guests started behaving a little offensively). So all in all cannot fault it at all and sitting in the snug, playing dominos next to a lovely fire with a G&T is a lovely memory.

Room Tip: The room we had was above the restaurant and was excellent - had its own sitting room and was warm a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ishbel_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James E, Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to make such lovely comments. All of these comments will be taken back to all staff members who pride themselves in their commitment to maintaining high standards of customer service at all times. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mithian
6.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
926 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
18.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
12.5 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
252 reviews
7.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose in Vale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Address: Mithian | St Agnes, Mithian TR5 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mithian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Price Range: £100 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose in Vale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose in Vale is an historic and secluded Country House Hotel dating back to the 17th century. Set in a secluded wooded valley with a stream running through floral gardens we are located on the North Cornish coast near St Agnes. Privately owned and family run with emphasis on cleanliness, friendly service and relaxation. Our Chef, Tom Bennetts, provides seasonal fine dining in our 2AA rosette restaurant. We do not take children under 12 years of age. We are dog friendly and within easy reach of everything that Cornwall has to offer yet provide for a peaceful retreat at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Rose in Vale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose In Vale Country House Hotel Cornwall/Mithian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing