We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“what a find”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

loved our 2 night stay,thanks to a very hands on owner james and very helpfull and polite staff .our room was most comfortable and very clean.The restaurant was excellent food devine.Really enjoyed sitting near the pool in the sunshine looking out at the beautiful gardens just bird watching.....ROSE IN VALE you tint my world! Thanks to one & all.......ste & sandra ( liverpool)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James E, Owner at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Steve and Sandra

Thank you for leaving your comments on this site.

We enjoyed your company and are thrilled that you have taken the time to post your comments about your stay at Rose in Vale on this site.

I look forward to seeing you again soon, please remember to bring your swimmers !

Best wishes

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    99
    56
    34
    32
See reviews for
73
297
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very and enjoyable and relaxing weekend, with first class food. The room was extemely comfortable, with an amazing bed!! The owner and staff were extremely polite, welcoming and attentive. Will recommend this hotel to friends and relatives. Look forward to returning again in the near future.

Richard and Julie Russell.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James E, Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment! Congratulations on the 300th comment! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Thank you for the recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely venue lovely food and facilities. Just unfortunate misunderstanding with owner which was badly handled by same. Would still recommend a stay or meal though. We stayed on a discount deal which included a nights stay and taster menu.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danjou186300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James E, Owner at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your review, I guess as a proprietor lead establishment, guests are made to feel as though they are at home. Bashing the bar counter, as you had to wait whilst I finished serving another guest, does not sit comfortably with this ethos. So whilst I wholeheartedly agree that someone had bad attitude, I am certain it was not from me.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and I accept the fact that Rose in Vale is not for everyone.

Regards

James Evans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I visited this splendid hotel on a special deal for a six course taster menu, so I am unable to comment on the rooms. The first thing that struck me as odd, was the distance of the reception from the dining room. If you are non-resident, this means being led through corridors for the length of the hotel.
The taster menu was good and the food well cooked and displayed, but lacked a wow factor. The service was quick and friendly, but again, failed to make me feel special, which from a venue of this calibre, I would expect.
After dinner coffees in the lounge was very relaxing in pleasant surroundings.
In summary I would say, if you can get a good deal, take it. Full price, not so sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oldagetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James E, Owner at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your comments I am pleased that you enjoyed your dinner with us.

You are right it is quite a large and long hotel, and the hotel entrance is a distance from the Valley restaurant, the reason for this is that we are limited in how we are able to expand this historic grade II* building. It is a shame that you did not use the entrance to the Valley Restaurant which is immediately adjacent to the restaurant.

I look forward to seeing you again

Best wishes

James Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanpean, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We had the tasting menu and it was absolutely first class - we will definitely return. The proprietors have everything perfect and the waitress was totally switched on and new all about the wines and food.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JohnPearson99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James E, Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your comments they are very much appreciated by all staff. We look forward to seeing you dining at the Rose in Vale in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Having stayed at the Rose in Vale previously we were confident in arranging a weekend dinner bread and breakfast with a dozen friends. Our confidence was not misplaced since throughout the stay we were provided with the friendly efficient service for which this hotel is well known. Nothing was too much trouble, the food was excellent, and an outstanding room rate combined with good quality wines at reasonable prices ensured that a good time was had by all. The Rose in Vale is ideally situated for visiting any part of Cornwall and the return at the end of a busy day of sightseeing is like coming home, except that there is someone on hand to pour your drink and serve you dinner - what more could one ask for ?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonabbots2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James E, Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Simon

Thank you for posting a comment on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that your experience left you with such a positive impression.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rose in Vale very soon.

With best wishes,
James Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Rose in Vale was exactly what we needed and far exceeded our expectations. Great, quiet location, smart, clean rooms, friendly, helpful staff and excellent food. Great value against others in the area
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoltonBld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mithian
6.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
858 reviews
6.3 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,227 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,634 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
8.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose in Vale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Property: Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Address: Mithian | St Agnes, Mithian TR5 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mithian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose in Vale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose in Vale is an historic and secluded Country House Hotel dating back to the 17th century. Set in a secluded wooded valley with a stream running through floral gardens we are located on the North Cornish coast near St Agnes. Privately owned and family run with emphasis on cleanliness, friendly service and relaxation. Our Chef, Tom Bennetts, provides seasonal fine dining in our 2AA rosette restaurant. We do not take children under 12 years of age. We are dog friendly and within easy reach of everything that Cornwall has to offer yet provide for a peaceful retreat at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rose in Vale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose In Vale Country House Hotel Cornwall/Mithian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing