We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Understated Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Understated Excellence”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

A very welcoming 4* hotel offering the friendliest of efficient staff, tranquil surroundings, excellent food, impeccable cleanliness and caring hands-on resident proprietors. Mithian is a quiet hamlet, yet very accessible to almost the whole of Cornwall
We'll be back.

Green Features: The proprietor's unsolicited tour of the new bio-mass boiler unit was convincing enough.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12Felix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    99
    52
    34
    31
See reviews for
71
290
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Rose in Vale, the room was big and very clean including the bathroom, we had lovely views of the garden and pool. Service was excellent, staff were highly attentive and friendly. We felt very comfortable throughout our stay and we really couldn't have stayed anywhere better. Don't miss out on dinner at the hotel restaurant, the food is absolutely delicious. We will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 14 which was one of the bigger rooms in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights with my boyfriend, the staff were very friendly and helpful (especially Jacqui and Catherine!) We didn't have dinner but breakfast was delicious, despite the portions being a bit too small. Grounds and rooms are absolutely beautiful, thank you for a great trip!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Poakes879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Last minute booking. We reserved the "budget" room (no. 2), just 5 hours before we arrived and so didn't really know what to expect.

The hotel occupies an idyllic setting, nestled within a pretty little valley. A long driveway takes you to the main Georgian country house, set within lovely gardens.

On arrival we were made to feel very welcome. The receptionist explained to us that room 2 was the smallest room in the hotel, but gave us the option to upgrade to a larger room (room 5) due to an earlier cancellation. We were shown both rooms but opted to stay with our original choice. Whilst the budget room was a little smaller it was perfect for our needs - it was well equipped and furnished to a good standard. The bed was also very comfortable.

It was a warm day and we were encouraged to to use the outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tub. We had a fantastic afternoon relaxing in the sun and using these facilities.

In the evening we ate in the restaurant and we're very impressed with the meal and service. This was again repeated at breakfast... The staff could not do enough for us. There was a wide selection of breakfast options.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and we were made to feel very welcome throughout our stay. This was a last minute trip that will not be forgotten! We look forward to returning one day soon. Fantastic find!

Room Tip: Budget room meets all needs and is comfortable and well furnished. If unsure about this room you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed at the Rose in Vale for 3 nights in August. We were in a large room overlooking swimming pool. The beds were exceptionally comfortable and it was sheer bliss to swim in the solar heated pool. The bathroom was very large - with whirlpool bath and walk in shower. Breakfasts were very good on the whole and staff very attentive. It was expensive but for the sheer relaxation and setting I think it was worth it!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 21 on ground floor. Very large with fantastic bathroom. There was noise from upstairs...
See more room tips
Green Features: They use solar power to heat the pool - always good to save energy!
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

On entering the drive the hotel looked inviting, a classic country house. However our stay was most disappointing. We stayed in room 2, the only room available on the date. The room is very small, only 1 bedside table and lamp. Tea tray on tiny surface, kettle falling off. The bathroom has no shelf, put my washbag and toiletries on the floor. Towel rail minute, no space to dry 2 towels so our evening shower was spoiled by damp towels. The bed is a small double. One 20 ml tube each of shampoo and shower gel for 2 people for 2 nights.
Breakfast on the first day was acceptable but on the Saturday both poached and scrambled eggs undercooked and not edible, not safe to eat eggs which are not properly cooked.
Room 2 I have since learned is a 'budget room' .but for £120 per room per night I would expect better.
Aparently a wedding was booked for the Saturday afternoon but that is not an excuse for the inadequate breakfast cooking.
A great pity because we visit the area often on business and to meet friends. We will not return.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2 if you do stay there, beware of budget rooms. We will not return.
See more room tips
Green Features: Towel rail far too small so towels had to be changed each day. Badly cooked food wasted.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James E, Owner at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We are saddened to read your comments posted on this site.

You booked via Booking.com a “Budget Double Room” which is what you were allocated; we confirmed this to you by email with a room description. Your comments state you only knew this was a budget room retrospectively, this is not factually correct.

The room has a standard double bed and not a small double as you state.

We will look at the shelving in the bathroom to see how we can improve this.

Many people, like yourselves on a budget, appreciate the budget rooms that we offer.

We offer a wide range of rooms at a range of rates to suit all. When we are able we upgrade people on a complimentary basis to enhance their stay with us.

Room 2 is a popular room, it is by definition a “bijou room”, at a “bijou price”, many will be surprised to read your scathing comments.

We received no complaints during the breakfast service, although you did give us your list of complaints when you checked out with the expectation of a reduction. The hotel was full, you were the only people dissatisfied with breakfast.

I fail to understand why you feel a wedding taking place after you left, affected your breakfast!
When you book a last minute offer, you have limited choice to the accommodation available to you which is reflected in the rate. You may be well advised to book earlier and pay a bit more to get the accommodation you seek.

This is your first visit to us in nine years and I understand your last, which is probably just as well!

Regards

Mr J Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Last minute booking, however we were made to feel special the entire visit. Beautiful setting and fantastic bedroom with four poster bed. Excellent restaurant on site and located so easy to navigate around the area. We will return. Thanks all.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James E, Owner at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Andrew

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you chose to stay at Rose in Vale as part of your honeymoon and we are delighted that you have a super time with us.

Good luck to you both on your married life together and we look forward to seeing you again

Best wishes

James Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mithian
6.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
15.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
16.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.7 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose in Vale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Property: Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Address: Mithian | St Agnes, Mithian TR5 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mithian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose in Vale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose in Vale is an historic and secluded Country House Hotel dating back to the 17th century. Set in a secluded wooded valley with a stream running through floral gardens we are located on the North Cornish coast near St Agnes. Privately owned and family run with emphasis on cleanliness, friendly service and relaxation. Our Chef, Tom Bennetts, provides seasonal fine dining in our 2AA rosette restaurant. We do not take children under 12 years of age. We are dog friendly and within easy reach of everything that Cornwall has to offer yet provide for a peaceful retreat at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rose in Vale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose In Vale Country House Hotel Cornwall/Mithian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing