We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a Very Happy Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Had a Very Happy Christmas”
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We stayed for 3 days over Christmas and found the Rose in Vale to be excellent. It is in a quiet little valley near St Agnes and set in lovely grounds. The house is imposing as you drive through the gate and up the drive. The house is styled as a country house but with modern amenities. The welcome we received from the owners on arrival was friendly and very hospitable and remained so throughout our stay. The hotel is small and only has 18 rooms but this adds to its charm. There really is the 'personal touch' here and it is obvious that the owners love their hotel and appreciate guests who stay there.

Our room was lovely. We had a 6ft bed and both the bed and the room were extremely comfortable with all the usual amenities. The room was quiet and overlooked the duck pond. The only minor complaint was that the TV (flatscreen and freeview) did not receive more than about 6 stations but this is due to the location of the hotel. The bathroom was superb! I said to my husband that when we came home I wanted to redecorate ours!

The food was extremely good and plentiful. Everything was home made including the mince pies and cakes (there were plenty to be had!). Breakfast on Christmas Day was scrambled eggs and smoked salmon and there was so much salmon I had to give some to my husband. There was champagne and canapes served before Christmas lunch, which consisted of 6 courses and was very good. The cheese souffle I had as a starter was wonderful. On Boxing Day we went out for the day and were provided with a hamper containing our lunch - a lovely touch! The dining room is lovely. The waiting staff are attentive without being overbearing. They were polite and efficient. They were all young but very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We found all the staff were happy to help if required.

The cleanliness of the hotel was very good. It was spotless in all areas. considering the weather at this time it must be hard to achieve this with all the people coming and going but I never saw a speck of dust or dirt.

It definitely represented value for money. All the guests we spoke to commented on how reasonable the rates were for their stay. Bar prices were reasonable as well so there was no overcharging going on.

If you want a lovely quiet hotel where you are made to feel welcome then this is an excellent place to go. We liked it so much we are planning to go back for our wedding anniversary in June and for New Year next December. I give this hotel 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrispy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    98
    52
    34
    31
See reviews for
71
289
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We booked this hotel at the very last minute for four nights. The Saturday night was fully booked so we knew before hand we would have a room change but the owners and staff were most helpful and we were not inconvenienced at all, we merely packed our bags and they did the rest whilst we were out. I had read many of the negative reviews before we booked but it looked so nice went ahead anyway and we were not disappointed. In fact I can't understand why some people found it so awful, if I wanted to be picky I could say the bathrooms needed better shower screens and the "behind the scenes area" by the carpark could be screened off but we were not there to stay in the hotel all day. We left for sight seeing after breakfast ( impressives selction of breakfasts)and came back in time for a delicious dinner with plenty of choice and we had a most enjoyable time. We wanted a quiet comfortable relaxing stay and that is exactly what we got.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsDannii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Nestling in the small village of Mithian a mile or two from St Agnes is a little gem. Approaching up a long wooded drive you are greeted by the symetry of a beautiful Georgian house, tastefully extended over the years in total harmony with the period. Rose in Vale is a family run hotel, James and Sara Evans took over a couple of years ago and have been restoring it to its former splendour. But it's not for everyone; here you will find NO coach parties, NO screaming children tearing up corridors, NO karaoke nights but you will find peace and quiet, splendid dining, tranquil walks in the wooded grounds, log fires in the welcoming lounges. The service ia attentive, caring and designed to make your stay memorable. The dining room is splendid and reminiscent of a Georgian ballroom on a small scale but sufficiently large for the linened tables to be far enough aprt for private dining. The chef provides excellent and imaginative food with delicious appetisers. The menu changes daily and there is a good selection of wines to suit all pockets. We have stayed here now on several 'special' occasions and look forward to returning. If you want somewhere special in beautiful North Cornwall, this lovely little hotel will delight.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank returninguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfer in Berkshire
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We are just about to visit the Rose "n" Vale Hotel for the fourth time, that's how much we enjoy staying there!

James and Sara are excellent hosts, warm, friendly and unobtrusive.They have looked after us very well on each occasion.

The rooms we have stayed in have always been clean and tidy with en suite shower/bath/and TV.

The friendly, attentive staff make the hotel feel like a family home, which is just what we like.

In addition to the beautiful, peaceful setting, we look forward each evening to an excellent "dining experience" created by Chef Colin and his staff.

For us, in this part of Cornwall, nothing compares to the Rose "n" Vale for a relaxing "getaway" break.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfer006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2009

What you see is what you get and we are surprised by the adverse comments made by some people. Despite the atrocious weather we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were made most welcome by all the staff, who could not have been more helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. There was a daily changing menu for dinner which was excellent with good service. Our Border Terrier much appreciated being made welcome and enjoyed meeting other dogs staying in the hotel. We will return.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KernowKit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We booked the Rose in Vale for our daughter's wedding. James and his staff were very attentive and professional. The venue was lovely and our rooms were clean and very well presented.
Everyone had a great time and commented on how delicious the food was.
We would thoroughly recommend this venue for an exclusive country wedding.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KernowKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We have stayed there many times and love the atmosphere. The food is always excellent and the staff and management very friendly and helpful. If we ask for something they will always try to provide it. We have always enjoyed our stays there. We think the gardens are an asset. We just wonder if some of the people who have commented here have really stayed at the same hotel as us.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussexholidaymakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mithian
6.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
15.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
16.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.7 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose in Vale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Property: Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Address: Mithian | St Agnes, Mithian TR5 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mithian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose in Vale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose in Vale is an historic and secluded Country House Hotel dating back to the 17th century. Set in a secluded wooded valley with a stream running through floral gardens we are located on the North Cornish coast near St Agnes. Privately owned and family run with emphasis on cleanliness, friendly service and relaxation. Our Chef, Tom Bennetts, provides seasonal fine dining in our 2AA rosette restaurant. We do not take children under 12 years of age. We are dog friendly and within easy reach of everything that Cornwall has to offer yet provide for a peaceful retreat at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rose in Vale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose In Vale Country House Hotel Cornwall/Mithian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing