We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nidd
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The hotel is well signposted and easy to find. As our room was in the East Wing, we parked in the East Wing car park which soon got full and made finding a space difficult at times. As we are members of the Concierge Club, our check in was in the library. On this occasion, the process took quite a while as the receptionist responsible for members was busy elsewhere. However, once she did arrive, we were dealt with efficiently.

Our allocated Signature room was on the second floor overlooking the garden. It was an older style Signature and of the usual high standard. However, it was very near to the Entertainments area and we were concerned about noise levels. Our forebodings proved to be justified. Even with the windows shut, we could hear the band and when they had finished, there was music etc from the late lounge until 12.45pm so not a good first night’s sleep. First thing next morning we went to Reception and were moved to a room at the end of the same corridor which was an improvement. We were staying for a week and as another couple had requested this room we had to move again on Monday, this time to a new style Signature on the first floor so our holiday was a little spoiled with all the moving from room to room.

The food was of good quality and well presented. Unlike other Warner hotels we have stayed in, bread and water were not offered automatically but available on request. The tables for two in our allocated area were far too close together and that part of the restaurant tended to get too hot. The waiting and bar staff efficient in the main, though one night we had nearly finished the main course before the wine arrived.

We found the entertainment to be the best we have encountered so far at Warners. There is a resident band, Freeway, who have played there for 14 years and also a touring 4 part vocal harmony group, Fortissimo, both excellent. The in-house entertainments’ team led by Paul are very good and versatile. As well as running the quizzes etc they put on Vignettes as the Nidd Hall Players, designed to be a fun way of imparting local historical information.

There is a good games’ room – games on offer include table tennis, snooker, darts, shuffle board, a giant Connect 4 and a 2 lane Easy Bowl (£2 per person per game)

Near the Holiday Shop there is a computer with internet access (£1 for 20 minutes) which was a bit on the slow side and did have a dodgy mouse.


Outside, there is bowling and a tennis court which did not seem to be operational. ). There is a small putting green which was not as good as others we have used at Warner’s.

Nidd Hall itself is a well maintained historical house and there are plenty of places such as the Drawing Room and Mountgarret Bar where guests can relax . The well attended grounds are extensive with a large lake. The ducks have cottoned on as to when breakfast is served as they wait outside the restaurant expectantly during the early morning and start quacking when they see guests emerge!

We found the standard of cleanliness to be high throughout the hotel and service on the whole to be good. An improvement could be made to the exterior of the staff accommodation as this looked scruffy and was at odds with the rest of the hotel.

There is a lot to see and do in the area – Ripley Castle, Harrogate, Fountains Abbey and Knaresborough for example – and Nidd Hall is a good hotel to be based. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scowlsandgrowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    418
    178
    62
    48
See reviews for
161
784
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We chose to pay extra to stay in the Historic rooms in this Warner break hotel. This was a massive disappointment! The room was overly warm with no way of cooling it down and we had to endure the constant drone of the heating plant for the pool as that is what we over looked. We did not sleep well at all. Not what you expect for £90 each per night. The room wasn't particularly clean; dust, fluff and cobwebs were evident in lots of places and the floor was so damaged under the carpet that we kept tripping down the dent. We were misinformed twice by the rather uninterested receptionist and were served very small portions in the restaurant; not good as we both have hearty appetites and needed more to fill us than the pensioners who swarm this place. The food was well cooked and tasty but was at the extreme end of fine dining. For example the feta cheese salad starter was merely 3 cubes of feta cheese with half a sliced tomato and two sprigs of rocket. My six foot two husband had eaten it in two mouthfuls as i did with the cheesecake slab that measured 2 inch by 1 and half inches. :( In fact sadly this hotel only seems to cater for elderly guests so if you are under 70 years of age don't go. The entertainment is geared at this same age group and is a huge disapointment. We have stayed at Thoresby Hall another Warner Hotel and that did have higher standards of hygiene and a more deverse age range of visitors. We didn't expect this from an adults only break; we are both in our late 40s and felt very out of place. Warners need to cater for their younger guests a little more or risk only being associated with pensioner breaks!!

Room Tip: Don't pay the upgrade for the Historic Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitten00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I booked this from an advertisement on tv in January. No offers or recommendations other than those on independent websites. Followed my instincts on this and so glad I did. Don't visit the same place twice but would make an exception here. Sorry to the person who noticed the "tired skirting boards" on his review on here. Don't think we even caught sight of those. An absolute escape and will be escaping here again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittykat055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
861 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is a hotel just for adults. It had everything you need for a relaxing holiday. In fact some of the guests didn't leave the hotel. The food and service were excellent. The swimming pool was a good size and the gym adequate. There were several other activities available such as archery and there was a games room with table tennis, darts and a mini bowling alley. There was all day entertainment. In fact it has been likened to a cruise on land. I would recomment thoroughly, this hotel.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mouseHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

After having a historic room at Cricket St Thomas, we booked one here, previously
stayed in the courtyard, but had very noisy early risers stomping in the room above.
We were given room 12 and on seeing it was overlooking the pool roof with fans and extractors tried to change rooms, but hotel was full. Told fans are turned off at night, but faint noise for 1 st 2 nights, had to keep windows shut and the room was very hot and stuffy. The floor creaked but luckily there were offices below us. The 3rd night the noise from the fans was very loud, on going down to reception, the porter did go and was able to switch a couple off, and it did go quiet.
The next morning there was a note under the door, and due to someone leaving early we were offered another room, which on seeing we duly accepted, it was a signature room and had a huge bed and was lovely and cool, we were sorry it was only for one night.
We have stayed at many Warner Hotels and find the staff, entertainment and food very good and value for money. The staff speak to guests and always say hello. The pool at Nidd is one of the best ones, and the towels were free. We noticed you only got bread if you ordered soup and the tea was very strong, but if you asked they would bring you some hot water.
We think some people go looking for negatives and just like to find something to moan about. Have booked for 2nd time to Sinah Warren while there and got a bottle of wine.
The only negative and this applies to all hotels and other chains, the price of drink.
Over £2 for a J2O and nearly £4 for beer etc. We are not big drinkers so will not pay these prices. And looking at tables in the ballroom a lot of people did not have drinks, so if they were lowered people might be prepared buy.

R & M Barber

Room Tip: Ambassador rooms are good value if you dont spend a lot of time in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trixmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My mum and myself have just spent a fantastic weekend at Nidd Hall. We really enjoyed all aspects of our stay and could honestly not find fault with anything. The staff were very friendly, helpful and courteous. The food was great and the entertainment was exellent. The Nidd Hall Players work really hard to keep you entertained and Paul was fantastic, there was nothing he couldnt do, from plays to compare to singalongs. We spent time on the terrace drinkin coffee and looking at the great view. We had a lovely bedroom with its own patio and the views were stunning. The age group was mixed and everyone we met was really nice and friendly. We will be returning to Nidd Hall in the near future as we had such a good time. I would like to say Thank-You to all the staff for making our stay so very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Book a signature room with patio, we had room109 and the view was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Having booked a twin courtyard room in early March, we received a final confirmation in May where I noticed the room had changed to a double. Phoned Warners and they asked me to e-mail copies of my previous confirmations with twin on them. A bit surprised at this. Obviously my paperwork better than theirs. Then allocated another room, this time a "signature" with no increase in price. (Good - we thought). Same day a lady from Nidd Hall phoned (good) to say that we would be getting a twin room (good) and that I needn't have worried, lots of rooms were being redecorated and we would be getting a twin room anyway (!!).

On arrival queue at reception, directed from there to another car park a long way away from our room. Lots of sometimes infirm and elderly people wandering about with luggage trying to find their rooms. No-one to direct us. Room very dark and unwelcoming. Unacceptably dirty dressing table stool reported to reception following morning. Nothing ever done. Very narrow quilt kept falling off all night. Asked reception for a double quilt next morning. Nothing done until phoned again 6 p.m, and also asked for someone to explain our shower which was incomprehensible - no instructions provided. Husband's socks and trouser bottoms soaked trying to work it out. (We had no bath).Two members of staff arrived with double quilt (good) and one explained how to use the shower (good). Unfortunately, she was wrong (bad). What else? Washroom basin low down and tiny - impossible to wash hair properly during stay - daren't chance that shower! Porthole window (only window) needed to be propped open at night. We lost a couple of Warner brochures that way! When we left, the room opposite had been vacated. We asked to see it and it was beautiful. We were told that was also a signature room!

Even more? Food generally good - one or two quibbles. People herded together in very hot dining room. Some people must have found it very difficult to get out if they wanted to go to the carvery. Entertainment was generally excellent, apart from the comedian. His jokes were far beyond the pale - totally unsuitable for mixed company and I found them offensive and left as soon as I thought I could get away with it.

We have been to Littlecote three times, Cricket St Thomas twice, Thoresby Hall twice and Holme Lacey once, always had ambassador class rooms and always been far more satisfied with them than on this occasion. We have not complained before, but this time I am writing to Warners.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warnerregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nidd
1.1 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#1 of 1 in Ripley
723 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,531 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,257 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,364 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel
Address: Nidd, Harrogate, Nidd HG3 3BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Nidd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nidd
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nidd Hall is a jewel of Georgian splendour set in 45 acres of landscaped gardens. Enjoy the elegant charms of this Grade II Historic Hotel, perched on the edge of the Yorkshire moors. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Nidd
Nidd Hall Hotel
Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing