We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nidd
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Recently returned from a four night break with a coach party to Nidd Hall and was disappointed with some aspects of the break. Having been to other Warner Hotels and villages we found the service in the restaurant to be lacking. The staff we were allocated did not seem to understand our requests and were not very patient in taking orders, The vegetables on the carvery always tended to be on the overcooked side, maybe because they are over a hot plate and still cooking. We were also disappointed with the entertainment, it's the same shows, dance routines and visiting artists which we have seen on other Warner breaks. The volume is always so loud, maybe to accommodate the hard of hearing but not everyone enjoys having their eardrums blasted. On the plus side we had a lovely room and the gardens were beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rivlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nidd W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hello,

Thank you for filling out Trip Advisor with regard to your recent break at Nidd Hall Hotel, I was pleased that you had a lovely room and you found the gardens were beautiful

I am sorry that you felt that the Entertainment and your dining experience did not meet your expectations. I have spoken to the relevant teams and the manager to ensure that our high standards are met.

We do try to cater for as many different tastes as possible with a variety of entertainment to suit our guests and we have a full and varied inside programme on each break, alongside lots of new outdoor activities.

The team will always try to resolve any queries during your stay if this is brought to their attention and I am sorry if this was not the case.

Once again I thank you and hope earnestly that we can welcome you back

Yours sincerely

Julie Bracken

Julie Bracken
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    418
    178
    62
    48
See reviews for
161
784
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just returned from another 2 night break and as usual had a great time. The staff are the most polite and friendly and every member of the team acknowledge you as the pass so nice and polite. The entertainment team are both professional and friendly Jonny and Chris are both treasures they make you feel very welcome and I did notice that Chris helps single guests to be involved and enjoy the holiday well done to a nice boy ! The hotel and rooms are immaculate and the food excellent. We also enjoyed afternoon tea ( a gift ) and it was lovely. The hotel entertainment was first class they work so hard and it shows. We would also like to mention our waitress Elanor a lovely girl nothing was a trouble thank you. Well done to all and we will be back.

Room Tip: Signature rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nidd W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor with regards to your return break to Nidd Hall Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time; your praise for the team, facilities, the Afternoon Tea and the entertainment are very much appreciated. I have put forward Johnny, Chris and Elanor for our team member of the month in line with our rewards and recognition scheme as they helped make your break so memorable.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to us soon and thank you again for your kind comments.

Kind Regards

Julie Bracken

Julie Bracken
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

6 of us were given the full treatment at the Terrace Restaurant in early April on a Travel Zoo offer.
£39.oo per couple the value is incredible, only bettered by the food and service. On top of that there is live entertainment in the theatre bar where we could try and dance off some of the gorgeous food. Beautiful building and grounds just made the evening out extra special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greengrass59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nidd W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor with regards to your dining experience in our 2 rosette holding Terrace restaurant at Nidd Hall Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time; your praise for the team, facilities and the entertainment are very much appreciated.

I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Julie Bracken

Julie Bracken
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catterick, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Visited with family for celebratory afternoon tea. Beautiful Spring day, beautiful setting and excellent well maintained grounds....

...Sadly the edge was taken off the rest of our visit by continued poor service. The staff were pleasant enough but they seemed unable to communicate effectively with each other or with us.

They managed a Monty Pythonesque routine over the type of sparkly stuff that could/should be served and which glasses to use ... and even threw in a short waitering spat to complete the routine!

Tea selection was limited. The food was well presented and of an adequate standard.

I left feeling that I had paid for a gold plated service but Nidd Hall had fallen short of the mark.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nidd W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor with regards to your Afternoon Tea at the Hotel.

I was sorry to learn about your disappointment with the service which marred your experience. It is our aim to continually improve our service standards and to give our Guests the best possible experience and again I am sorry that you were disappointed.

We monitor all feedback from our guests and the management team will always try to resolve any guests concerns at the time. I have passed your comments to the Manager and his team to see what action can be taken as your comments are really important to us as we are making changes to benefit all our customers.

I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Julie Bracken

Julie Bracken
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballygowan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

If you are looking for a hotel to stay in for a special occasion I would not choose Nidd Hall.

The food is only average and of poor quality in the restaurant or should I say Café which caters for approximately 300 people per meal. The large numbers may account for the problem. The menu reads well in the expensive dinning room but unfortunately the food doesn’t live up to expectation. For example breakfast is poor quality, cereals, bacon, sausages and rubbery scrambled eggs which says it all. Some of the staff are really friendly and helpful while others are the very opposite. We celebrated a special birthday which was ruined firstly by reception not passing on this information to the dining room as requested, secondly by the fact the main course had to be returned,thirdly the desert was tasteless and finally this fantastic meal took nearly 3 hours to serve.

The setting for the hotel is beautiful and the grounds are well kept, the facilities are plentiful and the evening entertainment is very good. The room was great and the bed was so comfortable. Our waiter was excellent and couldn't have been more efficient. For the price Warner’s charge for this “experience” the food should compliment the rest of the hotel’s high standards and some of the staff need a refresher course in how to treat guests properly and not take them for granted.

This was our first time to visit a Warner hotel and if the others are as big as this I question what their food and service is like?

Room Tip: Rooms in the court yard are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nidd W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor with regards to your short break . I was delighted to read that you found the setting for the hotel was beautiful and the grounds were well kept, the facilities were plentiful and the evening entertainment was very good. It was lovely to read that your room was great and the bed was so comfortable, coupled with a waiter that was excellent and couldn't have been more efficient.

I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed as information was not passed on which spoiled a birthday celebration and that you were unhappy with the quality of the food. It is our aim to continually improve the food and to give our Guests the best possible produce we can source and again I am sorry that you were disappointed and this has been discussed with the Exec Chef at the hotel to look at what action can be taken.

Your comments are really important to us as we are making changes to benefit all our customers and the bedroom, dining and entertainment experience is a major part of that.

I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Julie Bracken

Julie Bracken
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
181 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Excellent check in when we arrived and a very grand entrance. Looked forward to going to our room (room 6) up the elegant stairwell to floor 1. Most disappointed when we saw the size of the historic room small double bed in a small room with tired mismatched furnishings and furniture but when we saw the wonderful view from the front of house facing room the size of the room really didn't matter. The large sash windows have a very serious wood rot problem that need some tlc. We are in our late 40s and early 50s, it felt like we were the youngest guests at Nidd Hall but it really didn't bother us and we met some wonderful interesting people. We fine fined and the service from the two young men was superb and the chef prepared some fabulous food. The other meals in the main restaurant were equally matched. Breakfast and dinner was incredible service and food lovely. The spa area again was enjoyed by us daily through our stay most enjoyable lovely pool temperature. Massage was excellent and beauty treatments. We really enjoyed the evening entertainment particularly the comedy and entertainers singing was excellent. A little too much ballroom for our liking but the quizzes were fun. Lovely walks down to the lake, plenty of seating, great views with just the birds singing. Enjoyed the shooting range and tuition was thorough. Only one major down side. The bath in room 6 even for us was extremely dangerous to get in and out of with the overhead shower. This bathroom seriously needs to be redesigned before someone is hurt. Lunch service and the catering areas were great. We felt well looked after.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy a view sitting in a comfy chair with the window wide open in the sun and you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZAM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nidd W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor with regards to your short break . I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable break at Nidd Hall; your praise for the team, the service, entertainment, beautiful grounds and the facilities are very much appreciated.

I can assure you that the positive feedback such as this is very important to us, as we continually strive to improve the Warner experience with the services and standards we offer.

I was sorry to learn that you were a little disappointed with your bathroom due to the step, as the building is listed we are looking at what changes we can make with the existing pipe work. Your comments are really important to us as we are making changes to benefit all our customers and the bedroom, dining and entertainment experience is a major part of that.

I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Julie Bracken

Julie Bracken
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife and I came to Nidd Hall for a two day midweek break to celebrate her birthday and this is the first time we have stayed in a Warner hotel. During our stay we encountered one or two issues which I brought to the attention of the hotel management team, these issues were dealt with in a friendly and sympathetic manner and resolved to my satisfaction. We stayed in the Ingleby Suite which is one of the Historic rooms in the main house. The suite consisted of a very large bedroom, a large sitting room and a bathroom with bath and separate shower. This suite is at the front of the house and overlooks the parking bays reserved for suite guests and the front garden. Despite its size the suite did not have any wow factor and in my opinion would benefit from a make over.
The main restaurant is large and busy serving a limited menu of well prepared dishes at a reasonable price. A carvery is available which we found very good. The waiting staff in the main dining room are friendly and attentive, busying themselves to ensure all guests are served in a timely manner. Breakfast is in the main dining room and is a typical buffet style breakfast with the addition of several dishes such as kippers which are cooked to order and served at the table. The service at breakfast was friendly and efficient.
The Terrace Restaurant serves an a la carte menu at a premium price. This restaurant provides an experience akin to fine dining but unfortunately on the night we ate there the service was very slow.
There are lots of public spaces in this hotel, we especially enjoyed the quiet rooms where we could sit and enjoy a pre dinner drink.
The entertainments staff worked hard to provide activities for the guests both during the day and the evening. The main evening shows were performed by an enthusiastic troupe of singers and dancers and seemed to be well appreciated by most of the guests, although, like cruise shows, I found the volume of the music and singing too loud for my enjoyment.
Overall I found this two day break good value for money and will probably book another one either at this hotel or one of the other Warner properties.

Room Tip: If having a wonderful view is important to you, choose one of the rooms at the back of the main hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pugwash123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nidd W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor with regards to your short break . I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable break at Nidd Hall; your praise for the team and the facilities are very much appreciated.

I was sorry to learn that you were a little disappointed with your suite as you did not have the views that you were expecting and the service was slow in the Terrace. Your comments are really important to us as we are making changes to benefit all our customers and the bedroom, dining and entertainment experience is a major part of that.

I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Julie Bracken

Julie Bracken
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nidd
1.1 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#1 of 1 in Ripley
723 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,531 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,257 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,364 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel
Address: Nidd, Harrogate, Nidd HG3 3BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Nidd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nidd
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nidd Hall is a jewel of Georgian splendour set in 45 acres of landscaped gardens. Enjoy the elegant charms of this Grade II Historic Hotel, perched on the edge of the Yorkshire moors. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Nidd
Nidd Hall Hotel
Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing