We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great start to our holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shedfield
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great start to our holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

My daughter and I stayed on the special pre-cruise offer as recommended by our travel agent. This included bed and breakfast, a half hour beauty treatment each, private taxi transfer to and from Southampton port and car parking for the week.

Check-in was from 3pm but our room had not been allocated so our luggage was kept behind reception while we went for a drink in the 'Zest' bar until our room was ready 30 minutes later.

The room was excellent. We had booked a twin and this room surprisingly had two double beds. However, we did not find the beds or the pillows particularly comfortable. The hotel is quietly situation in its own lovely grounds and golf course.

We enjoyed a meal in the 'Zest' bar and the staff were very pleasant and the service was excellent. Breakfast was self service style, again very good with pleasant, friendly staff to welcome and assist us.

Check out was smooth and efficient with the taxi arriving in good time to take us to the port. The efficient and friendly staff made this one night stay very pleasant and we will not hesitate to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilypond03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    343
    183
    81
    55
See reviews for
280
273
13
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

This Marriott is one of their country club type hotels......golf course...driving range....tennis courts....pool (indoor) and spa.
On entrance it looks very busy but most of the cars in the car park are golfers.
We did have to park a little away from the entrance but could have swung into hotel entrance and dumped passengers and bags if had needed to.
Check in pretty straight forward (we were staying on reward points....I'll come back to this point later).....requests for room type and location met without any problems. Enquiries about our plans made and if we needed and local info.....a map of Portsmouth shopping given to us....which we used....(recommend the outlet centre on quayside).
Room nice location, clean & tidy.....yes I've seen newer but by no means an issue......great beds...linen etc.
We had breakfast in the broadstreet restaurant with nice service, selection plentiful cereal..fruit...bakery goods.....hot selection with eggs cooked to order etc......good coffee also....very important in am!! :-).......be aware this restaurant does not open for dinner on a Sunday evening.
The hotel is a good location....nicely away from it all.....but with easy access to major routes....we day tripped....Brighton....Isle of Wight (pre booked ferry recommended red funnel was the best price I found from Southampton).....New Forest (drive down to Lymington and have fish & chips on quay side)....Chichester Cathedral.
We will come back to this hotel when we fancy a few days on the south coast as better value than Marriott highcliffe in Bournemouth.
- Back to the reward points....it often feels that every now and again the odd member of staff can take a rather counter intuitive stance with rewards points stays.......like it's a freebie.....your expectations should not be to high....don't ask difficult questions....they seem to miss the point that the rewards points have cost thousands of pounds to collate and therefore we are the most loyal customers to the brand.....I'm not even a corporate.....so all my points are hard earned cash.....Marriott should look at rewards breakfast & dinner packaging and also wi-fi rather than nickel & diming their regulars.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vintage66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Having used "pre-cruise" packages before and been let down badly by poor service (different company) we were pleasantly surprised to receive a phone call from the Meon Valley two weeks before our stay asking what complimentary services we would like to book and when we would like our taxi to pick us up.
The spa was well used by us on this visit - the only complaint was the size of the pool.
The staff were friendly and efficient and the room for ourselves and our son was spacious and comfortable. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as a pre-cruise stop.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GadgetGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

My family stayed her a few years ago, and I remember it being a beautiful luxurious hotel, so we decided to stay again when we were planning to visit the area. I wish we hadn't. Check in was ok, not particularly friendly (I don’t know if this was because we were paying with vouchers not cash), the room was nice, bed a bit hard but ok. That night we decided to eat in the Zest restaurant, only to find half the bar closed off to us due to a wedding. When we sat down to eat we had to put up with members of the wedding party constantly walking (and in the case of the children running) past our table. The food was ok but when we got the menu to choose deserts for my children I was shocked to see them charging £1.95 for a mini milk lolly. When I queried this the waitress did not seem at all bothered that this was a ridiculous mark up. The next evening we had planned on eating in the main restaurant, only to find it was shut on a Sunday night, so we had to eat in Zest again, and were lucky we had tried to book with reception as they were very busy and had limited slots available. All in all this Marriott did not really live up to my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Had a great weekends golf, excellent food and a good nights sleep. My wife and her sister had a lovely day in Portsmouth which left me and my brother-in-law to enjoy the challenging Meon course. Would definitely recommend it!! One tip - if your other half wants any Spa treatments, book these in advance!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I booked the hotel for a mini golf tournament for 6. We stayed saturday night and had 2 rounds of golf per person, 3 course dinner, and full english breakfast for £249 per twin room i.e about £125 each. Excellent value. The hotel is of a very high standard. Everything looks new and the bedrooms were top quality. We played the Meon Valley course which is beautiful and quite difficult. The golf staff put out "longest drive" and "nearest to the pin" markers with our name on it on holes 8 and 12 resp. Everyone enjoyed the hotel and the golf. We are thinking of another tournament next year but with our wives and girlfriends who can enjoy the excellent spa facilities there. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Go for the packages. Book by telephone and talk to the agent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Stayed here as one of group of 12 lady golfers. Hotel arranged rooms together in a niche area and single large table for dining in Broadstreet. Friends arranged suprise table decorations for me one night and hotel were very obliging with requests. Food good. Golf course is well laid out and a test of golf for all levels. (We range from 5 - 24) Played winter rules as a few fairways had worn patches. Rooms were to Marriot Standard agree other comments about some bathrooms being worn but clean and lots of towels etc. Great value for money golf break. Hotel coped well with high customer numbers, weddings, football team, cricket team all there together but did not impinge on service to others. Only niggle was lack of working ice machines...very important to ladies! That said Zest bar were happy to fill ice buckets. Well done Meon Valley!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GOLFERS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shedfield
8.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
3.1 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
4.8 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
9.0 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
0.7 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Sandy Lane | Near Southampton, Shedfield, Southampton SO32 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Shedfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shedfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the secluded Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, unparalleled luxury accommodations nestled on 225 acres of stunning Southampton rolling countryside. Experience true tranquility at The Retreat our hotel's deluxe spa or enjoy a day on our 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Southampton
Southampton Marriott
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club Shedfield, Hampshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing