We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
New Place Hotel(Shirrell Heath)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B+B Wickham(Wickham)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,084)
Filter reviews
1,084 results
Traveller rating
283
397
233
101
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
397
233
101
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursejunior suitegolf breaktwo double bedsswimming poolpeppa pig worldleisure clubtennis courtssteam roommain restaurantchanging roomsround of golfpaultons parkdriving rangespa facilitiespublic areasplenty of parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
983 - 988 of 1,084 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel in late August 2011, arrival at check in was so-so, one lad seemed to be doing most of the work whilst our greeting was from a lady who was sat on a stool and didn't was to get up - very rude!.

The room was rather tired, but was most disappointed by the staff attitude and service. In the restaurant the best service was in Broadstreet however in Zest it was terrible, the staff were rude and unhelpful and made you feel as if you were getting in the way of them having a good time and to be honest the place was not at all clean!. When we went to pay at the end of the meal we were informed that we had to settle by cash/card as we had no credit and had not been told about the need to have a card registered at reception by the woman who served us.

If you are planning a nice weekend get away....this is NOT the place to go and there are others in the area hopefully where the staff are not as rude!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimeTravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

After arranging an early check in with Marriott central reservations we arrived at the agreed check in time to be told that our room was not ready and to come back in an hour and a half. When we finally got into our junior suite we found that sofa bed had not been made up and that the bed for our two year old wasn't in the room. When the bed did arrive our little girl sat on it and went straight through as one of the wooden slats had snapped in two. I found her stuck in the bed shouting "Mummy help me". Poor thing was quite distraught and for the rest of our stay was very reluctant to use bed as she didn't want to get stuck again. Although the bed was promptly replaced it should never have been put in the room to start with as it was clearly broken, a toddler that weighs 27lb can't break a bed by just sitting on it. Thursday morning I went to take our daughter swimming at 10am before we checked out at 11am to be told that the pool was being used for a class until 11.30am so we couldn't use it until after that. The reason we booked the Marriott was because it had a pool for the children, so it's not very helpful if you can't actually use it when you want to. The junior suite package that we selected had free wifi included so imagine our surprise when the bill that arrived with our newspaper had a £75 charge for internet use over two days. This was quickly resolved at check out but yet again this should never have happened. Not surprisingly at check out we were not asked how our stay had been.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsW139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Spent one week at Meon valley with our two children. For the price paid, we were seriously disappointed. Some staff are barely polite at the restaurant when you order food. No change was allowed to the limited and basic chidren menu - very unhealthy when you eat there several days. Internet access is charged at 15 gbp per day, per person and per device - this means that if you access the internet from your ipad, then you will have to pay again to access from your PC or from your phone, etc - so for a couple this can amount to 30gbp per day! The room service menu was not up to date so every time we tried to order something they said it was not possible. Every day brought a new bad experience. The team kindly tried to make it up by placing a bunch of fruit in our room at the end of our stay. Kids wanted to eat them but we realised there were all roten. We will not stay there again and will spend our money somewhere else next time. A shame as the hotel is nicely located.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank m b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and were disappointed. The entire decor is not of a 4 star standard, more like 3 star. The hotel felt run down and tired and reminded me more of a rest home. The rooms were dark and the bathroom dated and not at all inviting to have a bath. The main restaurant was closed on the 2nd night so we had to eat again at 'Zest' which is mainly average bar food, and reminded me leisure centre bar, not a hotel.

Overall, very disappointing, overpriced. The swimming pool was also quite dated and manky. The only nice part were the swimming pool changing rooms and the location- beautiful gardens/golf course.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelloveSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed for one week and took the upgrade to a suite.
Our bed was uncomfortable and not up to marriott standard, it had a dip in the middle and was bouncy so when one turned over the other was disturbed.
Zest Restaurant was noisy and the food disapointing.
Broadstreet Restaurant was busy at breakfast and occasionally couldn't cope with the number of guests. Food had to be sent back because it was undercooked (blood in the fish). Chef's apology would have been nice.
Front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. Back office not so efficient in calculating credit for errors on bill.
Some areas of hotel need a refurb as decoration is looking tired, in hallways and stairs. Carpets in sames areas could do with a good clean or replacement.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oneworldmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews