We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice grounds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shedfield
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

This Hotel is well presented, it has a leisure centre (pool, sauna, gym), golf course etc. Non-smoking and smoking rooms. Wi-fi at a cost. Nice restuarant and food, bar area. The rooms are spacious and well kept, beds comfortable and good hot shower, nice place to stay if you can afford it. Buffet Breakfast was lovely as well.

The only downside for me was not driving so it was a bit out of the way to try and get their.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    342
    183
    81
    54
See reviews for
279
272
13
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We've stayed at the Meon Valley on a number of occasions and eaten in Broadstreet once or twice. We've always enjoyed the food but the meal we had on our visit this weekend was superb. It was so difficult to make a choice from he table d'hote menu because everything sounded fab - nobody regretted the choice they made. The service was excellent, the amuse bouche a perfect start to the meal and for me the local cheeses made the perfect end, although I'm told the ice-cream was to die for!! It most certainly was "our compliments to the chef" feedback.
Throughout our stay we received really good service, our room was excellent and the standards that Marriott are known for were maintained.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HilsANewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bushbuck6
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The Hotel was quite dated ! Not worthy of 4 star at all. We booked the weekend dinner/bed/breakfast rate and was very disappointed with the breakfast spread , not quite like other 4 star hotels we are used to, at dinner we were left for over 1 1/4 hours before getting our mains , there was a function going on and they were far too interested in them than the customers in the main dinning room ! When my fish dish arrived that I ordered it was dry and shrivelled so I sent it back, the head waiter was very rude to me and we were so upset at her rudeness that we skipped the desert and left ! Our entire experience at this Hotel was awful , from start to finish and what a waste of money it turned out to be. I will never visit this Hotel again !

Room Tip: Clean but a bit dated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bushbuck6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shedfield hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We booked this break at short notice so we could have a quiet break and not to far from home. We opted for a 'junior suite' complete with en-suite and lounge and were not disappointed with the room at all. The level of furniture and decor were excellent and we were given the option when booking of type of pillow we wanted, and did we want extra pillows and towels. There were also robes and slippers in the room, and a TV in the bedroom and another in the lounge where we relaxed in between swims in the pool and visists to the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. (we skipped the large gym complex which stretched to 3 rooms). On arrival and throughout the stay the staff were excellent. In all honesty they were probably the most friendly and helpful staff I have ever come across in all my years of travelling. From Reception, to the golf shop, restaurants etc, they were all brilliant. We ate in 'Zest' on the first night which provided good food and service, only let down a little by the amount of noisy kids. I really put this down to parents lack of supervision and the age we live in. The couple behind us with their 3 kids all with DS's and no table manners at all were the worst, closely followed by the group with 3 kids who could not sit at the table for some reason. That said, we accepted that this hotel attracts families and enjoyed our meal. The second evening we ate in the Broadstreet Restuarant and should have done this both nights with hindsight. This was a real treat with excellent food and service. Kids were not encouraged but couples were. A much more pleasant environment to eat in and would eat there all nights if we stay again. During the trip I played 9 holes on the Valley Course which is ideal for the less accomplished golfer and at £12 it was very affordable. While I was playing golf my partner had a pedicure in the salon which was also good value. Our suite overlooking the 1st Tee was a little noisy at times but not a problem as the trade off was an excellent view across the grounds and golf courses. All in all, we much enjoyed our stay and would return again. We would most likely east in the Broadstreet Restaurant both nights and make sure we didnt stay during such a busy Bank Holiday. We would most certainly reccomend this hotel to families and couples as long as they are not wanting absolute peace and quiet but more of an active break.

Room Tip: Eat in the Broadstreet Restaurant if you are travelling without young children
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank opinionATEed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel in late August 2011, arrival at check in was so-so, one lad seemed to be doing most of the work whilst our greeting was from a lady who was sat on a stool and didn't was to get up - very rude!.

The room was rather tired, but was most disappointed by the staff attitude and service. In the restaurant the best service was in Broadstreet however in Zest it was terrible, the staff were rude and unhelpful and made you feel as if you were getting in the way of them having a good time and to be honest the place was not at all clean!. When we went to pay at the end of the meal we were informed that we had to settle by cash/card as we had no credit and had not been told about the need to have a card registered at reception by the woman who served us.

If you are planning a nice weekend get away....this is NOT the place to go and there are others in the area hopefully where the staff are not as rude!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimeTravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

After arranging an early check in with Marriott central reservations we arrived at the agreed check in time to be told that our room was not ready and to come back in an hour and a half. When we finally got into our junior suite we found that sofa bed had not been made up and that the bed for our two year old wasn't in the room. When the bed did arrive our little girl sat on it and went straight through as one of the wooden slats had snapped in two. I found her stuck in the bed shouting "Mummy help me". Poor thing was quite distraught and for the rest of our stay was very reluctant to use bed as she didn't want to get stuck again. Although the bed was promptly replaced it should never have been put in the room to start with as it was clearly broken, a toddler that weighs 27lb can't break a bed by just sitting on it. Thursday morning I went to take our daughter swimming at 10am before we checked out at 11am to be told that the pool was being used for a class until 11.30am so we couldn't use it until after that. The reason we booked the Marriott was because it had a pool for the children, so it's not very helpful if you can't actually use it when you want to. The junior suite package that we selected had free wifi included so imagine our surprise when the bill that arrived with our newspaper had a £75 charge for internet use over two days. This was quickly resolved at check out but yet again this should never have happened. Not surprisingly at check out we were not asked how our stay had been.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsW139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Spent one week at Meon valley with our two children. For the price paid, we were seriously disappointed. Some staff are barely polite at the restaurant when you order food. No change was allowed to the limited and basic chidren menu - very unhealthy when you eat there several days. Internet access is charged at 15 gbp per day, per person and per device - this means that if you access the internet from your ipad, then you will have to pay again to access from your PC or from your phone, etc - so for a couple this can amount to 30gbp per day! The room service menu was not up to date so every time we tried to order something they said it was not possible. Every day brought a new bad experience. The team kindly tried to make it up by placing a bunch of fruit in our room at the end of our stay. Kids wanted to eat them but we realised there were all roten. We will not stay there again and will spend our money somewhere else next time. A shame as the hotel is nicely located.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shedfield
8.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
3.1 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
4.8 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.7 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
9.0 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Sandy Lane | Near Southampton, Shedfield, Southampton SO32 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Shedfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shedfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the secluded Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, unparalleled luxury accommodations nestled on 225 acres of stunning Southampton rolling countryside. Experience true tranquility at The Retreat our hotel's deluxe spa or enjoy a day on our 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Southampton
Southampton Marriott
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club Shedfield, Hampshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing