We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf & Hotel Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shedfield
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I booked an accommodation and a round of golf for my husband for his birthday treat and was disappointed with the whole package. The room (very basic and a little tired) had no air conditioning, as it was pretty much the last of the summer temperatures were still in the high 20's and all we got was a small fan which was in the cupboard certainly not sufficient for the job. Internet access was not complimentary and VERY expensive. None the less we were not intending to spend too long in the room (luckily) so we managed to get by for time we were there. The restaurants were ok, the only redeeming factor was the breakfast and the wonderful staff, that being said it certainly was not worth the price we paid. The game of golf was another story, on the website the course looks great however when we checked in with a rather less than attentive young lady we found that they had paired us up with another couple and after explaining the fact that it was a birthday gift was given the brush off and told that there was no other option available in a very surly manner. And so our relaxing game of golf became less so as the couple we were paired up with had not played for very long and so we were not able to play to a pace that was acceptable. The course was to be fair in a reasonable state however the lack of course management meant delays especially on the back nine were at times we waited on the tee for 20 mins before getting away all for the cost of £45 each! We later found a local course in Botley and so cancelled our final round of the weekend at the Meon Valley and played there which was delightful. They also have a hotel and would recommend this as an alternative venue. I did bring this to the attention of the receptionist when we left but she seemed less than interested.

Room Tip: Upgrades are expensive but you don't get wireless nor air conditioned rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alec M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,049)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

938 - 944 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2011

We recently enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Meon Valley Golf Course and Hotel with 3 rounds of golf for 20 ladies. We had a wonderful time, the golf course was in very good condition and the hotel was excellent. The rooms were very comfortable, the food was delicious, and the service was everything we had hoped for. The staff in the Pro Shop were so helpful, and the shop had a lovely selection of ladies clothes! Very friendly staff in the hotel, and the spa and gym were of a very high standard. Couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Booked this as a stay over through Paultons Park (Peppa Pig Land) as a treat for our daughter. Must admit we were very surprised by the service and cleanliness. Breakfast was fantastic with plenty on offer. The facilities, pool etc all very clean and staff very helpful. Our only gripe was a lack of air conditioning in our room.

Room Tip: All seem to have good views of the golf course. We opted for one on the top floor rather than groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrNHNailsworthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I booked this hotel for a relaxing spa weekend. The room was very large, comfortable and clean. I had a massage and facial in the spa facilities which were wonderful. We also ate breakfast, lunch and dinner in the restaurant all of which were very nice. It was nice to sit outside with views over the golf course,

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnynzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Book to stay at the Marriot Meon Valley hotel and then read the reviews on here. I was starting to wonder if my lovely weekend break was gonna be a disaster. The hotel was lovely. Just like the pics on their website. My husband, daughter (2) and i stayed for 2 nights after visiting peppa pig world. They catered for my daughter wonderfully with high chairs, play area and the simple things like peppa pig cutlery and plates. The food was amazing. There was everything you could want for breakfast. We ate in the restaurant and the food was to die for, very impressed. I would definately stay and and recommend. I found all of the staff very helpful

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisaed381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

we stayed at the meon valley for two nights as part of our package trip to peppa pig world booked direct through the paulings leisure website.
this hotel exceeded our expectations vastly, our two year old grandchild was looked after superbly by the staff in all departments of the hotel.
the room was standard marriot accomodation, nice and clean, well equipped and very quiet.
the bistro served good quality food all day with very good childrens meals, the bar was busy with golfers but this didnt impact on our enjoyment at all!
the leisure centre and pool were great, the water warm, the changing rooms clean well stocked toiletries, big bath towels provided.
the best feature was the breakfast, wonderful choice, prepared well , presented well, our grandchild was delighted with her cooked breakfasts!
very very good!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vonessenfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The description on the Marriot web site is very misleading, the standard rooms are not luxurious, the first one we were allocated looked straight at a brick wall, the second looked straight into another room across a small courtyard. Both rooms were small, tired and in need of updating. Wifi is £6/hour, Breakfast £15/ head.
No air conditioning and room was hot even on a cool September evening
This is a corporate confrence centre not a country hotel. Very poor, avoid.

Room Tip: Do not accept a 'standard room'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Wildir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shedfield
3.1 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
9 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,802 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,068 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
8.8 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: Sandy Lane | Near Southampton, Shedfield, Southampton SO32 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Shedfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shedfield
Price Range: £57 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the secluded Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, unparalleled luxury accommodations nestled on 225 acres of stunning Southampton rolling countryside. Experience true tranquility at The Retreat our hotel's deluxe spa or enjoy a day on our 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Southampton
Southampton Marriott
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club Shedfield, Hampshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing