We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Nearby Hotels
New Place Hotel(Shirrell Heath)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B+B Wickham(Wickham)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Fareham Hotel(Fareham)(Great Value!)
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TravelRest Solent Gateway(Fareham)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,086)
Filter reviews
1,086 results
Traveller rating
285
397
233
101
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
397
233
101
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursejunior suitegolf breaktwo double bedsswimming poolpeppa pig worldleisure clubtennis courtssteam roommain restaurantchanging roomsround of golfpaultons parkdriving rangespa facilitiespublic areasplenty of parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
840 - 845 of 1,086 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Service very good but food could do with some improvement. Ate in the bar area and had avery salty and solid Angus steak burger.I mentioned this to the waitress who asked me how I was enjoying my meal. she immediately offerede to swapit so full marks there.Rooms/ bathrooms looking a bit tired. Location not very central anything

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank goostreygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you for completing this review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal; I have fed your comments back to our Chef. I am glad to see the team offered an alternative. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed here for one night and was a nice hotel. We called the hotel to book and got a good deal which included dinner,bed and breakfast. Rooms are slightly outdated and the bathrooms aren't great. We also had a room under a corridor and you can hear every step which can get annoy. Hotel has a pool,sauna,steam room and jacuzzi which are all nice, the gym is also very up to date and has a lot of equipment. Dinner and breakfast were both really nice with great service. The golf course is also in good condition and is a decent course. For the cost the hotel is good! Not amazing but you get what you pay for for. We recommend for a short break or stopover.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank bish777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to enter a review. Our team were delighted to hear you had great service as I share any feedback weekly with the teams. I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Meon Valley for five nights in early April -- we have stayed here several years in a row while visiting my husband's family in Southampton. I can only say that the level of service at the hotel gets better and better. First, the basics. Very comfortable beds. The rooms are clean. Not all rooms are in the best shape, some of the furnishings are a little tired, but not bad. Our room this stay was fine. Our first year, the breakfast buffet was phenomenal. Then it seemed to go down hill a bit. However on this trip, things seemed to be back to a higher level of quality. Many offerings, from fruits and cereals, to hot full English to cold meats and breads, pastries, etc. You would be hard pressed not to find something to enjoy.

This year however we needed service and a lot of it. And it always came with a smile, even during the busy school break week when the staff was really hopping and the hotel was fully booked. I had a billing problem (not a fault of the hotel), and the hotel staff went out of their way to clear it up for me. And it took a lot of their time. They were always cheerful and willing to go more than the extra mile. We had a very early morning check out and the front desk had everything ready for us. When we checked in, we had a complicated, multiple reservation booking and, again, the front desk sorted through it all with ease and courtesy. We were not the easiest patrons, but we are the most grateful.

The swimming pool and spa area is lovely. We do not golf, so we cannot comment on that. But the Meon Valley Hotel makes us feel truly welcome. We love them!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TFidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you for completing your review on Meon Valley. The team are delighted with your comments. We are very proud of our breakfast and do receive a lot of great comments from guests. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you all back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My friend and I booked a family room for ourselves and 2 young children as part of a peppa pig world break (2 days at peppa pig and 1 night at the hotel). We spent some time selecting a hotel with facilities that were suitable for our children, and the Marriott appeared to be ideal. We booked a month in advance and called 4 days beforehand to check some details and to reconfirm our booking. My friend and I were really looking forward to a mini break and the children were very excited about the peppa pig.

The hotel called us at 4pm on the day we were due to check in, while we were at the park, to say they had double booked. They offered us a room at another hotel in Portsmouth (which was much further away and not suitable), and a free meal. When we said this was not aceptable and asked to speak to the manager, we were told he would call us back. The manager did not call. We then spent the next hour frantically trying to find somewhere to stay nearby with 2 hungry children in tow. In the end we had to give up and drive all the way back home. Our break was completely ruined, and the children were very upset and disappointed. The hotel to date has not been willing to confim we will be fully refunded.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalind F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience here with us. I understand this was booked via a third party who are now looking into this for you.
Many thanks for taking the time to review and I do hope you return to Meon Valley in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Marriott Meon Valley while down in Hampshire visiting Paulton Park and some other local attractions. The hotel is set back off the A334, just a short drive off the M27, and is very easy to find. We were quickly checked in and despite only booking last minute all 3 of our rooms were right next to each other (we didn't ask for this) which was a bonus. We took the kids down to the pool which was very pleasant. It is only 12m but we were the only ones in it so it was plenty big enough for us. Despite being unattended the health club and changing rooms were all very clean and well equipped. We ordered a room service meal which was good and not over priced. We were staying in a junior suite which was a decent size and exactly as expected. The lounge area was spacious and the bed was comfortable. The rooms have wifi although this is an extra £15/day. Given that most coffee shops will give you free wifi, it seems archaic that a hotel still charges for wifi. Although the hotel is set in the middle of the golf course, the views from the rooms were a little disappointing. Our rooms had a choice of either the car park or a dreary courtyard looking onto other rooms. That being said the rooms are nice and quiet with no noise coming from either outside or from inside the hotel. The following morning we had breakfast in our room which was fine and well priced. Everything was exactly as we requested it. Check out was a bit slow as they just had one person on and it took a while just to print out the bill, but it was pain free and we could have done express checkout if we wanted to as the bill was posted under our door early in the morning. We will definitely come back if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Marriott has now moved to free wifi in all public areas so please do take full advantage of this for any future stays.

I look forward to welcoming you back should you have need in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews