We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Party and Golf Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shedfield
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We went for a family party. Venue very good. Rooms clean; decent buffet breakfast and what looked like a good, but busy, golf course. Didn't use the spa, which was a shame, as need to book early. Overall we were happy with.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank NinaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

I appreciate your feedback thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,027)
There are newer reviews for Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Had a 3 night golf break for 4. Golf course was OK, 5 temp greens because of the recent bad weather which is understandable. Ladies tees could do with a cut. Room was comfortable, maybe due for a refurb and noise from lorries as mentioned by another post in the mornings depending where your room was. Breakfast very good. Didn't use the gym but one of my friends did and said it was ok, pool a little small and a few young children running around but again ok. Staff friendly.
Biggest downside was the restaurants, ate in Zest the first night which was ok but nothing special. Ate at Broadlands the other two nights, again food ok but could be so much better, on Saturday waited an hour for the starter, food looks ok but not much of it and if you were on a package as we were, there were supplements for steak of £7. Also surprised that there were no ‘specials’ to enhance the menu. They also rip you off with their wine prices; I can’t believe that there is any justification for charging £23 for a fairly ordinary bottle of red/white wine

Room Tip: see if you can avoid the ones near the delivery area!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drivealot12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

I am sorry to hear we fell short of your expectation on the food and wine pricing. Overall we do receive good feedback. I have spoken to our chef to ensure we enhance the specials, without the need for supplements. Once again valuable comments, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Booking through Mariott central booking was an absolute nightmare and to be honest had the hotel struggled in anyway it would have put us off totally. Needless to day even after checking twice on the phone on arrival the booking was still wrong! But reception resolved this within minutes, the location and setting is fantastic, gym and pool in excellent condition and the whole place was spotless.
We ate in both restaurants which I will attempt to leave separate reviews for. Despite the immaculate hotel, for me it was the staff who made this place, friendly, professional and caring.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for such a nice review. I have shared this with the hotel team, all of which were delighted to see their efforts are noticed. I am sorry to hear of your booking challenges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Fantastic venue for a friends wedding. Beautiful grounds and even as non-golfers we could appreciate the stunning course.
Food was ok and service a little slow. Front desk staff were very efficient as were the Spa team.
A little bit too corporate in some aspects as bedrooms have no individuality but I guess this is difficult in such a big property.
Very clean and tidy though.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berylbaker001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

I appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel and I have given the timing feedback to our food and beverage manager to ensure we continue to improve what we deliver. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We decided to get away for a night and ended up in the Meon Valley Hotel. Fantastic service on check in and clear signage to the location of our room. Then we decided to visit the Leisure Facilities including the steam room, jacuzzi and pool (the sauna was unfortunately out of order), which were clean and in good condition. There was plenty of towels available and a spacious changing room. In the evening we visited the Zest restaurant where the host showed us to our table and we were served by one of the waitresses (HOW A RESTAURANT SHOULD BE RUN!). The service was fantastic and the portions VERY generous. All in all a great night away, thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryLanaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

The team were delighted with your review - thank you. I am sorry the sauna was out of action. All back in working order now I am pleased to say. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at Meon Valley for 2 nights after a day at Peppa Pig World. The staff are friendly, accommodation very clean and the breakfast is superb. Our children had a fabulous time in the swimming pool each morning and evening and were amused by the staff in their Halloween costumes! Only minor issues is the Zest restaurant is a little pricey for not great food and the spa is a bit tired. Children did not want to leave. We will return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenoirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

I appreciate your honest comments on the food and spa. I have spoken to our chef and past over your comments. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of our 5 day beak with Parry's Tours,Cheslyn Hay and true to form, with Parry's, it did not dissapoint. Everywhere in the hotel was extremely clean, both in the rooms and the public areas. The food was excellent and was served by professional staff, who even dressed up for Halloween (I assume this was for the benfit of the children, but us adults appreciated the effort that had gone into it!). i would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone, golfer or not, who is going to this part of our country.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susieq2WestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your review. The team do enjoy to engage with all guests had great fun with Halloween. I have shown your comments to the team who were delighted. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shedfield
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
4.8 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,142 reviews
9.0 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,848 reviews
8.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
939 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: Sandy Lane | Near Southampton, Shedfield, Southampton SO32 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Shedfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shedfield
Price Range: £64 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the secluded Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, unparalleled luxury accommodations nestled on 225 acres of stunning Southampton rolling countryside. Experience true tranquility at The Retreat our hotel's deluxe spa or enjoy a day on our 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Southampton
Southampton Marriott
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club Shedfield, Hampshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing