We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shedfield
Havant
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Went to a wedding here
The food was excellent don't know about rooms the staff were very helpful
The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside but is very nice inside
There is plenty of parking and the grounds are very spacious certainly worth a visit

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madjenjen1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your visit. I have passed your comments to our chefs who were delighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    343
    183
    81
    54
See reviews for
279
273
13
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St John-in-Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was a one night stay as we were delivering our Canadian friends to Southampton the next morning.
We were welcomed on arrival and checked in. Our room was on level 4 and was of a very good size and was well furnished. The bed was very comfortable. Lovely nice linen and pillows.
We were unable to use the restaurant as it was fully booked.
Staff were incredibly helpful throughout our stay, even offering to book us a table at a restaurant of our choosing.
Breakfast was £14.95 per person. We felt that this was not good value and chose to take a full breakfast in Southampton at John Lewis' for £6.50 instead.
This is our first Marriott experience - and it was a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnny-glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
It is a great delight to hear that you would return to Marriott again following your stay here at Meon Valley. Thank you for your feedback, your comments have been shared with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Difficult to express an honest review after just one night.
Overall I found the standard very good. Nice room, good quality furnishings, a good nights sleep.
It doesn't happen in this country very often, but the night we stayed I could have done with air conditioning, but it didn't seem available, and after that I noticed the public area's were quite warm?
Staff were excellent, even put up with my moaning about the prices in the bar. Do Marriott's really need to charge so much?
Yes, I would probably stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. Your balanced approach to feedback is greatly appreciated and the staff were delighted with your comments regarding service. we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel was used by a client for a special dinner, on arrival staff were really friendly, nothing was a problem. We had a few requirements and all were met with good humour and a real can do attitue, which has not been my experience in all hotels. Food ordered was nice. The appetizer goats cheese salad was really lovely and a good sized portion. The potato wedges were a bit cold and nothing to write home about but not a major problem. Guests seemed to appreciate the venue. The service was impeccable and they really worked with us to help create a great party for our clients.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolliewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
I have passed on your comments and the team who were delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

All staff are very good friendly and very helpfull. Stayed here as we were going to peppa pig world trip booked it as a deal. Food is average it just takes ages for the meal to come with tired children and adults its hard to wait for so long.
Rooms are clean but bathroom is a bit tired, and especially the shower is a slow coach after long day in peppa pig world.
Breakfast is just average nothing special. Would i stay here again maybe or maybe not.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rupsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I have discussed the food delays with my chef to ensure we improve on the delivery. We generally do get great feedback on breakfast, please do ask for anything specific when you next stay and we will be happy to accommodate. I appreciate you sending in the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Had an absolutely scrumptious lunch at Marriott's Zest today just as I did last week. Today, I had the steak sandwich with very tasty Stilton just as my husband did last week when I had an equally tasty Chicken Caesar salad. My pal today had a salad comprising of goat's cheese, walnuts - copious amounts - and beetroot. We had excellent service from Dora and Alison as ever and gave our compliments for the delicious food to Vitoria, our chef.
House wine was good and overall, we had a lovely, leisurely experience in comfortable surroundings attentively attended to by very helpful and professional staff.
Hats off particularly to Vitoria. Scrumptious lunch, well presented, creatively put together with contrasting flavours and beautifully cooked. Thank you Marriott. Back next week:-)
Rita

Room Tip: Didn't sleep at the Marriott on this occasion but have done many times in the past and would sco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reet594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
The team really appreciate your comments. We have awarded recognition to the named team members. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed for one night prior to our cruise. The staff, particularly the receptionists, were welcoming, efficient and friendly. They took care of our luggage so that we did not have to take it all to our room. Everything was fine with the room, the bed was comfortable and we had a good night's sleep.

Included in the rate was a half an hour treatment in the spa. I had a manicure and pedicure while my husband went for a swim, which he enjoyed (although the pool was busy with children having lessons) and the showers were working ok.

My treatments in the spa were good and the young lady who did them had only just started working there and was very pleasant and chatty.

We had dinner in 'Zest' restaurant. The food was good but service was a little slow although they did not appear to be particularly busy. The staff were serving a few family groups with several children who were quite noisy and not very well behaved,

Breakfast the following morning was excellent with a great choice and eggs cooked fresh. The taxi arrived on time and the whole process of getting to the port was smooth and a perfect start to our holiday.

I would recommend this hotel as a good place to stay and we will certainly look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilypond03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Great review many thanks. It was a pleasure to share this with the team. If we can support with a future stay please do contact the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shedfield
8.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
3.1 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
4.8 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.7 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
9.0 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Sandy Lane | Near Southampton, Shedfield, Southampton SO32 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Shedfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shedfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the secluded Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, unparalleled luxury accommodations nestled on 225 acres of stunning Southampton rolling countryside. Experience true tranquility at The Retreat our hotel's deluxe spa or enjoy a day on our 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Southampton
Southampton Marriott
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club Shedfield, Hampshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing