We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A summer evening of note”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shedfield
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A summer evening of note”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed with two young children and struggled a bit with dinner because of a golf function.
Breakfast was great and overall the accommodation was good. Recommend for golfers, not so much for family. We used it as a stopping off place to visit Peppa Pig's World

Room Tip: Be away from the Car park
See more room tips
Green Features: None noted from my side. The hotel is situated in the countryside on a golf course so I am sure there are environmental conservation measures in place.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am disapointed and sorry that we were unable to live up to your expectations as a family for dinner, as you can see from some of the reviews we are a hotel of choice for many families visiting Peppa Pig world. We hope to welcome you back to Meon Valley in the future and hopefully exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    350
    194
    88
    56
See reviews for
292
292
13
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was the second time our family has stayed at this hotel, in conjunction with a visit to Peppa Pig World (Paultons Park) in the New Forest. Two summers ago we only rated the hotel at 3 stars, because firstly the room did not meet our expectations of what Marriott offers, and secondly the food was really ordinary with little or no alternatives for the children.

But…I’m so glad we decided to revisit, as the hotel’s offer has definitely improved. First off, our room was a family double with plenty of room for the four of us, so no need to book a suite if you can’t stretch for the cost of the upgrade. Anyone visiting with small children should take note that the fourth and the fifth floors have the best proximity to the swimming pool and also the various restaurants, so don't end up on the lower floors.

Foodwise, the menu choices in Zest had definitely improved, with a bigger and much better range on offer. Breakfast, was also much tastier than we remembered last time and the children were well accommodated by the various staff that were on duty – plastic cutlery and tumblers, high chairs and the choice of being seated next to an adjacent play area which although it was stocked with slightly tired toys & books offered the little ones somewhere to escape in full view of our table.

The location cant be faulted – great access to the South Coast and the New Forest, quiet, rural, idyllic and a welcome contrast to Peppa Pig World! As per usual with our experiences of Marriott, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We encountered positive, helpful and courteous hotel employees in the spa, restaurant and also on reception – all showing us the 'can do' attitude that helped make our stay really easy, and really enjoyable.

The lack of air conditioning in bedrooms is a bit of a mystery, but it didn’t spoil our stay even though we visited the hotel during the steamingly hot recent July weather.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkey3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Here at Meon Valley we pride ourselves on our high levels of customer service and it delights me to hear that this was such a positive aspect of your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and as a team we are again delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The chefs were particularly pleased with your comments around our food offerings. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Meon Valley in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Great little trip to hotel with a hard golf course. All the staff where very friendly and always ready to help out.
Breakfast,lunch and main meal all at a very high standard and well presented.
Everywhere very clean and tidy from pro shop to bedrooms.
Keep it up.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jordon24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. The team were delighted with your comments, we hope to welcome you back to Meon Valley in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Overheated, poky, and chaotically laid out. £150 for a night, and an empty minibar, no free wifi, and no airconditioning. The fan provided in the room was so small it wouldn't have been effective on a desk, let alone for a whole room. When we made this point to reception the next day after a horribly sweaty night's sleep, we were told that it was "only hot in England for about 2 days a year so there's no point in installing air conditioning" (!) and that "some of the rooms have bigger fans but we didn't roll that out to all rooms yet". I've stayed in much nicer travelodges and premier inns over the years. As such, I'd honestly recommend avoiding this Marriott at all costs.

I should say that I visited for a wedding and that this opinion was shared by all the other wedding guests who we talked to who also stayed there - with one couple (who had a newborn) being given a room with dirty sheets and a mucky bath. I can't believe it has gotten positive ratings from previous guests, to be honest.

Room Tip: Ask for one with one of the fabled bigger fans, I guess? Or book somewhere else?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IsobelALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately during the hottest weeks of summer we do experience challenges due to the lack of aircon in the bedrooms. Aircon is available in all our public areas. It is disappointing to hear that this affected your stay so much so that you would avoid the hotel at all costs. We pride ourselves in having the highest standards of staff service which as I am sure you have read bring in some excellent reviews. I will ensure your feedback is addressed with the team in regards to how your challenges were addressed to ensure we uphold these high standards in the future. Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shedfield hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Really great venue for our recent girlie spa day. A huge warm welcome from the spa team. Carly on reception was very knowledgeable and extremely friendly and made the day really special. Our therapists were very experienced and gave very good quality treatments. I would highly recommend for that personal touch! everyone in our party had a great day and we have all said we will return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
It is a delight to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us on your Spa Day, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I will ensure it is passed on to all the team involved. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

booked through Paultons Park for the inevitable Peppa Pig trip
we booked at short notice and paid for a family room
we could upgrade to a suite on arrival for an extra charge

the hotel has a lovely setting and a busy golf club
check in was fine and we had upgraded to a suite which had the sofa bed made up ready for the children

we ate at the restuarant which although the menu was pretty limited - have to say the food was very good
kids menu available with good standard food and half price before a certain time
plastic cutlery and plates and high chairs should you need

the pool was well used by families and was clean and the water nice and warm

breakfast option in the peppa play area was good so as not to disturb non peppa fans! breakfast buffet was good and hot

pep pas play area was a little disappointing - a couple of boxes of toys - most batteries had run out - need to do better for sure

no welcome pack for the kids or peppa 'theme' on anything - ours weren't peppa mad so this was ok and i took a few treats to make sleeping in a different place a little easier

no door to the lounge area so we had to be pretty quiet, and ate early with the children. but this was fine for us

not a cheap stay but makes visiting peppa easier as can spread the stress over two days ( we did the peppa bit one day only and enjoyed the rest of the park the second day which was much better received - less queuing and tantrums all round)

a good hotel but a little imagination and it could be very nice indeed

Room Tip: suites are a little extra and although no room between living area (kids) and parents bed it does gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenmiles4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your positive comments and also creative ideas - these will be shared with the team. Also the battery checks on the toys have now become more frequent - so thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband I visited 6th July 2014 for my Birthday , having been recommended by colleagues.
On arrival we found the staff very helpful and the premises very clean and in good order.
Our intention was to have a relaxing Spa Day , unfortunately the layout of the Spa makes this somewhat difficult. We could not move between the pool/sauna , treatment area and restaurant , without changing between wet and dry clothes as in other spa facilities, it would seem the spa facility is almost an after thought to the main leisure facility which is the Golf course.
I chose a package for £25 , which included a Manicure. unfortunately I was somewhat disappointed with the manicure for the following reasons. I was expecting my hands to be soaked and cuticles dressed and nail quicks treated . Then a file and then a varnish . what I actually received was a quick file (my broken nails were not touched ) and then a coat of polish.
My Husband chose a massage package for £43 , which again was somewhat disappointing . Unfortunately there was no option given for a preferred oil or calming background music. He required a firm massage which did not hit the spot .
Overall we were not impressed with the treatments and layout and would think twice before returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carly R, Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to give some feedback regarding your recent Spa day experience. I am sorry on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. i will ensure this feedback is used to improve our service and indeed train the team. Should you wish to chat through this matter further please contact the hotel direct and I will be more than happy to discuss.
kind regards
Carly Robinson Director of Leisure and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shedfield
8.8 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
4.8 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
3.4 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.7 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Sandy Lane | Near Southampton, Shedfield, Southampton SO32 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Shedfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shedfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the secluded Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, unparalleled luxury accommodations nestled on 225 acres of stunning Southampton rolling countryside. Experience true tranquility at The Retreat our hotel's deluxe spa or enjoy a day on our 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Southampton
Southampton Marriott
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club Shedfield, Hampshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing