We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Nearby Hotels
New Place Hotel(Shirrell Heath)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B+B Wickham(Wickham)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Fareham Hotel(Fareham)(Great Value!)
US$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TravelRest Solent Gateway(Fareham)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,099)
Filter reviews
1,099 results
Traveller rating
289
400
238
102
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
400
238
102
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursejunior suitegolf breaktwo double bedsswimming poolpeppa pig worldleisure clubtennis courtssteam roommain restaurantchanging roomsround of golfpaultons parkdriving rangespa facilitiespublic areasplenty of parking
Filter
Updating list...
687 - 692 of 1,099 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked two rooms for a two night stay. The hotel itself is in an excellent location with great leisure facilities including 18 hole Golf Course, Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Steam and Sauna. There is also a fully equipped gymnasium, with good changing facilities.
The Reception staff are exceptional especially Marika who went out of her way and upgraded us to two junior suites.
The hotel is clean and modern looking with ample parking, however the room came without air conditioning but this was compensated with two fans being provided. A decent size mini fridge with ice provided by calling down to room service. Good size bathroom with a decent powered shower, wardrobe with safe and again ample storage space. Two good size rooms in the suite bedroom and sitting area both with TV's, however, despite the hotel good at accommodating families with children the TV channels didn't have any children's channels although films can be ordered at £5 per day. Rooms were cleaned each day however, rubbish wasn't cleared and empty bottles, glasses either left in the room or outside the room for two days.
The hotel is equipped with two restaurants one main and one A La Carte, this is what let the hotel down. We ate at the A La Carte on the first day, the food was of good quality, choice and well presented with the staff very attentive, The second and third nights we ate at the Zest restaurant again the staff were very good and attentive and set up for accommodating children with toys and play mats provided, however, dishes for both restaurants were priced up differently depending on which restaurant, deserts on the special boards priced up more expensive than the same on the main menu, and a number of main meals advertised with salad, came with just a piece of lettuce, onion and tomato where you expected a side salad. Both night these were challenged with the staff and subsequently changed on the bill or a side salad provided.

Despite the minor issues around the restaurant this is a good hotel. A great location for Pepper Pig World.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Timkimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a detailed review of the hotel. We are very pleased that on the whole you had a good experience with us here at Meon Valley. The staff were overjoyed with your comments, thank you for taking the time to name Marika, she has received recognition through our program and was very happy with your comments. Your feedback regarding food has been passed on to our kitchen team with a view to improving the side salad. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Meon Valley in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last night after a fantastic day at Peppa pig world, staff were extremely friendly and so great with my 3 children. We were made to feel very welcome and that nothing was to much trouble especially for the children. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaffyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The staff were delighted with the comments regarding their service. We endeavour to look after all guests to the highest possible standards with personal service and I am glad to hear that you felt we lived up to this with your children. We hope to welcome you back to Meon Valley in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at Marriott Meon Valley for one night with two grandchildren the room was large enough for two adults and two children. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and room very clean.

The indoor pool was perfect and hours of use were very good. There is also a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. The facilities were excellent.

The restaurants and bar were very good. Only had a bar meal on evening but food was delicious. They also served a pitcher of Pimms which was excellent value for money.
The breakfast Buffett was very good and served a large selection of hot and cold food.

As this hotel is on a gold course the surround dings are picturesque and there are good practise facilities and golf range which the children enjoyed.

The location to Portsmouth was very good and it was ice to get away from hustle of gun quay wharf at end of day. Will definitely be returning as we all enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to overlook golf course. Ask for a family room if travelling with children.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Meon Valley and took the opportunity to enjoy all our facilities whilst you were here. The staff were particularly pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and also the chefs were happy and proud to hear you enjoyed your food. We hope to welcome you back to Meon Valley in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed with two young children and struggled a bit with dinner because of a golf function.
Breakfast was great and overall the accommodation was good. Recommend for golfers, not so much for family. We used it as a stopping off place to visit Peppa Pig's World

Room Tip: Be away from the Car park
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am disapointed and sorry that we were unable to live up to your expectations as a family for dinner, as you can see from some of the reviews we are a hotel of choice for many families visiting Peppa Pig world. We hope to welcome you back to Meon Valley in the future and hopefully exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was the second time our family has stayed at this hotel, in conjunction with a visit to Peppa Pig World (Paultons Park) in the New Forest. Two summers ago we only rated the hotel at 3 stars, because firstly the room did not meet our expectations of what Marriott offers, and secondly the food was really ordinary with little or no alternatives for the children.

But…I’m so glad we decided to revisit, as the hotel’s offer has definitely improved. First off, our room was a family double with plenty of room for the four of us, so no need to book a suite if you can’t stretch for the cost of the upgrade. Anyone visiting with small children should take note that the fourth and the fifth floors have the best proximity to the swimming pool and also the various restaurants, so don't end up on the lower floors.

Foodwise, the menu choices in Zest had definitely improved, with a bigger and much better range on offer. Breakfast, was also much tastier than we remembered last time and the children were well accommodated by the various staff that were on duty – plastic cutlery and tumblers, high chairs and the choice of being seated next to an adjacent play area which although it was stocked with slightly tired toys & books offered the little ones somewhere to escape in full view of our table.

The location cant be faulted – great access to the South Coast and the New Forest, quiet, rural, idyllic and a welcome contrast to Peppa Pig World! As per usual with our experiences of Marriott, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We encountered positive, helpful and courteous hotel employees in the spa, restaurant and also on reception – all showing us the 'can do' attitude that helped make our stay really easy, and really enjoyable.

The lack of air conditioning in bedrooms is a bit of a mystery, but it didn’t spoil our stay even though we visited the hotel during the steamingly hot recent July weather.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkey3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Here at Meon Valley we pride ourselves on our high levels of customer service and it delights me to hear that this was such a positive aspect of your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and as a team we are again delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The chefs were particularly pleased with your comments around our food offerings. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Meon Valley in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews