We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some things missing!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shedfield
Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Some things missing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I recently stayed here on a golf holiday with 18 other ladies for 3 days. The food was very good and the service very good. The rooms were spacious with 2 double beds in a twin-bedded room. There could have been 2 ordinary sized single beds which would then have meant that the bathroom could have been larger. The other problem was that there was only 1 bedside light and table which I have never come across before! The wine was an extortionate price unnecessarily so in my view and one of the lifts you had to manually close the doors by holding them together!!
The main Meon golf course was good, the Valley course had very narrow fairways and not as well maintained, poor signing from one green to the next tee and the buggy paths in some places were none-existant.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captain03Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review. We use feedback from out customers to help improve the products and services we offer. Please feel encouraged should you stay at a Marriott again to report any challenges or issues you may have to our teams so that we can aim to rectify them before you leave. We have done a full maintenance check on the lift following your comments to ensure the doors are fully functional. Whilst we do not have any single beds in our rooms, we appreicate your time taken to give us your feedback on the room and bed size. We hope to welcome you back to Meon Valley in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    343
    183
    81
    54
See reviews for
279
273
13
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Very good service and very willing too help staff on all aspects within the complex and out, all in all what a excellent place people and hotel plus there facilities such as the swimming really impressed that the children are welcome in the pool from 8am-8pm 7 days a week great...

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a positive review, we are delighted that you had sucha good time (and enjoyed the pool) with us and we hope to welcome you back to Meon Valley in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked two rooms for a two night stay. The hotel itself is in an excellent location with great leisure facilities including 18 hole Golf Course, Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Steam and Sauna. There is also a fully equipped gymnasium, with good changing facilities.
The Reception staff are exceptional especially Marika who went out of her way and upgraded us to two junior suites.
The hotel is clean and modern looking with ample parking, however the room came without air conditioning but this was compensated with two fans being provided. A decent size mini fridge with ice provided by calling down to room service. Good size bathroom with a decent powered shower, wardrobe with safe and again ample storage space. Two good size rooms in the suite bedroom and sitting area both with TV's, however, despite the hotel good at accommodating families with children the TV channels didn't have any children's channels although films can be ordered at £5 per day. Rooms were cleaned each day however, rubbish wasn't cleared and empty bottles, glasses either left in the room or outside the room for two days.
The hotel is equipped with two restaurants one main and one A La Carte, this is what let the hotel down. We ate at the A La Carte on the first day, the food was of good quality, choice and well presented with the staff very attentive, The second and third nights we ate at the Zest restaurant again the staff were very good and attentive and set up for accommodating children with toys and play mats provided, however, dishes for both restaurants were priced up differently depending on which restaurant, deserts on the special boards priced up more expensive than the same on the main menu, and a number of main meals advertised with salad, came with just a piece of lettuce, onion and tomato where you expected a side salad. Both night these were challenged with the staff and subsequently changed on the bill or a side salad provided.

Despite the minor issues around the restaurant this is a good hotel. A great location for Pepper Pig World.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timkimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a detailed review of the hotel. We are very pleased that on the whole you had a good experience with us here at Meon Valley. The staff were overjoyed with your comments, thank you for taking the time to name Marika, she has received recognition through our program and was very happy with your comments. Your feedback regarding food has been passed on to our kitchen team with a view to improving the side salad. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Meon Valley in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last night after a fantastic day at Peppa pig world, staff were extremely friendly and so great with my 3 children. We were made to feel very welcome and that nothing was to much trouble especially for the children. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The staff were delighted with the comments regarding their service. We endeavour to look after all guests to the highest possible standards with personal service and I am glad to hear that you felt we lived up to this with your children. We hope to welcome you back to Meon Valley in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langdon Hills, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at Marriott Meon Valley for one night with two grandchildren the room was large enough for two adults and two children. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and room very clean.

The indoor pool was perfect and hours of use were very good. There is also a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. The facilities were excellent.

The restaurants and bar were very good. Only had a bar meal on evening but food was delicious. They also served a pitcher of Pimms which was excellent value for money.
The breakfast Buffett was very good and served a large selection of hot and cold food.

As this hotel is on a gold course the surround dings are picturesque and there are good practise facilities and golf range which the children enjoyed.

The location to Portsmouth was very good and it was ice to get away from hustle of gun quay wharf at end of day. Will definitely be returning as we all enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to overlook golf course. Ask for a family room if travelling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Meon Valley and took the opportunity to enjoy all our facilities whilst you were here. The staff were particularly pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and also the chefs were happy and proud to hear you enjoyed your food. We hope to welcome you back to Meon Valley in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed with two young children and struggled a bit with dinner because of a golf function.
Breakfast was great and overall the accommodation was good. Recommend for golfers, not so much for family. We used it as a stopping off place to visit Peppa Pig's World

Room Tip: Be away from the Car park
See more room tips
Green Features: None noted from my side. The hotel is situated in the countryside on a golf course so I am sure there are environmental conservation measures in place.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am disapointed and sorry that we were unable to live up to your expectations as a family for dinner, as you can see from some of the reviews we are a hotel of choice for many families visiting Peppa Pig world. We hope to welcome you back to Meon Valley in the future and hopefully exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was the second time our family has stayed at this hotel, in conjunction with a visit to Peppa Pig World (Paultons Park) in the New Forest. Two summers ago we only rated the hotel at 3 stars, because firstly the room did not meet our expectations of what Marriott offers, and secondly the food was really ordinary with little or no alternatives for the children.

But…I’m so glad we decided to revisit, as the hotel’s offer has definitely improved. First off, our room was a family double with plenty of room for the four of us, so no need to book a suite if you can’t stretch for the cost of the upgrade. Anyone visiting with small children should take note that the fourth and the fifth floors have the best proximity to the swimming pool and also the various restaurants, so don't end up on the lower floors.

Foodwise, the menu choices in Zest had definitely improved, with a bigger and much better range on offer. Breakfast, was also much tastier than we remembered last time and the children were well accommodated by the various staff that were on duty – plastic cutlery and tumblers, high chairs and the choice of being seated next to an adjacent play area which although it was stocked with slightly tired toys & books offered the little ones somewhere to escape in full view of our table.

The location cant be faulted – great access to the South Coast and the New Forest, quiet, rural, idyllic and a welcome contrast to Peppa Pig World! As per usual with our experiences of Marriott, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We encountered positive, helpful and courteous hotel employees in the spa, restaurant and also on reception – all showing us the 'can do' attitude that helped make our stay really easy, and really enjoyable.

The lack of air conditioning in bedrooms is a bit of a mystery, but it didn’t spoil our stay even though we visited the hotel during the steamingly hot recent July weather.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monkey3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Here at Meon Valley we pride ourselves on our high levels of customer service and it delights me to hear that this was such a positive aspect of your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and as a team we are again delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The chefs were particularly pleased with your comments around our food offerings. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Meon Valley in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shedfield
8.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
3.1 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
4.8 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
9.0 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
0.7 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Sandy Lane | Near Southampton, Shedfield, Southampton SO32 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Shedfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shedfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the secluded Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, unparalleled luxury accommodations nestled on 225 acres of stunning Southampton rolling countryside. Experience true tranquility at The Retreat our hotel's deluxe spa or enjoy a day on our 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK and Odigeo so you can book your Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Southampton
Southampton Marriott
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club Shedfield, Hampshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing